Apply for Mastercard Foundation Scholarships at the Summer School

Scholarships are awarded in collaboration with a network of partner institutions authorized to nominate candidates. These scholarships are reserved for Mastercard Foundation Scholars studying at another of the Foundation's partner universities (undergraduate or graduate level).

The scholarship is awarded for the duration of the Summer School's June session (one month).

The Summer School offers two programmes, one in social sciences and the other in French. Scholarship winners choose one of the two programmes and also get to take a specific 24-hour course focused on transformative leadership in the African context.

Application Stages

Partner Institutions

This list is updated regularly. Institutions wishing to become a programme partner should contact us by email.

  • African Institute for Mathematical Sciences
  • African Leadership Academy
  • American University of Beirut
  • Arizona State University
  • Ashesi University
  • BRAC
  • Carnegie Mellon University – Rwanda
  • Duke University
  • EARTH University
  • Equity Group Foundation
  • FAWE
  • KNUST (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology)
  • Makerere University
  • McGill University
  • Michigan State University
  • Stanford University
  • Université d’Abomey Calavi
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of California Berkeley
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Gondar
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Toronto
  • Wellesley College
Back to top