Advisory Board on Science Diplomacy

The European Science Diplomacy Initiative (ESDI) was launched in May 2019. It aims at developing teaching and research activities as well as raising awareness of the ever-increasing role of science diplomacy in international relations.

The Advisory Board will also aim at creating bridges between hard sciences, social sciences, and humanities, while promoting a European approach on the subject.


Chair: Carlos MOEDAS

Its full composition is as follow:

Sciences Po:

Arancha GONZALEZ LAYA, Dean of PSIA 
Stéphanie BALME, Dean, Undergraduate College ; Professor, CERI and PSIA

Scientific Advisors:

Elisabeth BARBIER, Executive Director, Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD), former Ambassador to Kenya (2006-2010) and South Africa (2013-2016)

Irina BOKOVA, former Director-General of UNESCO (2009-2017)

Jean-Pierre BOURGUIGNON, Professor, mathematician by training, former Director of Institut des hautes études scientifiques (IHES), President of the European Research Council since January 2014

Maria Chiara CARROZZA, Professor of Industrial Bioengineering, The Biorobotics Institute, Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, School of Advanced Studies ; former Italian Minister of higher education and research (2013-2014)

Raja CHATILA, IEEE Fellow, Professor and Director of the Institute of Intelligent Systems and Robotics (ISIR) at Pierre and Marie Curie University, Paris 

Vanessa EVERS, Professor, University of Twente in the Netherlands, Department of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS)  and Chair at the Human Media Interaction Lab (HMI)

Pierre LEMONDE, Professor in quantum physics, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) currently Scientific Counsellor at the French Embassy in China, Beijing

Christian LEQUESNE, Professor at Sciences Po, Chief Editor of European Review of International Studies (ERIS)

Yedidia LEVY-ZAUBERMAN, Chief of Cabinet and Diplomatic Advisor to the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and innovation

Bruno MAQUART, President of UNIVERSCIENCE, Palais de la découverte et de la Cité des sciences et de l’industrie

Carlos MOEDAS, Former European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation at European Commission

Helga NOWOTNY, Former President of the ERC, the European Research Council and Professor emerita of Science and Technology Studies, ETH Zurich

François RAVETTA, Professor of atmospheric sciences at Sorbonne Université

Justin VAÏSSE, Director General of the Paris Peace Forum, former Director of the Centre d'analyse, de prévision et de stratégie (CAPS) (2013-2018)

Back to top