Master - Policy stream: Management and Public Affairs

General objective of the management and public affairs policy stream

This policy stream aims to equip students with the skills needed for understanding how to manage today’s transformation in public affairs. It focuses on providing future managers, who will work in both the private and public sectors, with the tools to respond to ongoing and future challenges faced by governments, companies and civil society organizations, in areas including change management, digital transformation, sustainability and communication. 

Students will receive training in areas like public decision making, public private partnerships, sustainability practices, public budgeting, and have the possibility to select electives dedicated to negotiation, crisis communication, management of information, regulation, digital democracy, and lobbying, among others.

Specific courses OF THE MANAGEMENT AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS POLICY STREAM

  • Managing Future Work Challenges and Design Thinking  
  • Organizational Change and Public Decision Making 
  • Sustainable Strategies and Practices 
  • Public Policy Organization and Management 
  • Global Economic Governance and International Taxation  
  • Public Procurement     

Career opportunities after the MANAGEMENT AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS POLICY STREAM

Typically, graduates from this policy stream pursue careers in public management or public sector consulting. Students can have careers in local, national or international administrations, in public affairs departments of private firms, in intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations or in transnational firms and, in consultanting companies and public-private sector partnerships.

course Programme OF THE MANAGEMENT AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS POLICY STREAM

Master in Public Policy - Management and Public Affairs policy stream:

Master in European Affairs - Management and Public Affairs policy stream:

Scientific Advisor of the management and public affairs policy stream

Henri Bergeron, PhD in sociology, Habilitation à Diriger les Recherches (HDR), is a CNRS Research Fellow at the Center for Sociology of Organizations, Sciences Po, co-director of the Health Department of Interdisciplinary Centre for the Evaluation of Public Policies (Centre of Excellence - LABEX), and Scientific coordinator of the Chair in Health Studies - Sciences Po.

He is also the director of the Master on « Organizational behavior and Human Resources » at Sciences Po, of the Chair in “Digital studies: organizations and public policies”and of the Executive Master “Management of public policies”, and the Scientific Director of the “Management and Public Policy” track at Sciences Po’s School of Public Affairs. He conducts research on public health and healthcare policy and changes in medical practice through the study of various subjects: illegal drugs, alcohol, obesity, cancer… He uses methods from the fields of sociology of public action and sociology of organizations to evaluate forces at work in the creation and changes in different policy fields.

Contact

Academic advisor: Laura Atran-Fresco

Academic assistant: Robin Picand

Back to top

Master - Spécialité Management et affaires publiques

À noter

La spécialité "Management et affaires publiques" est entièrement dispensée en anglais sous l'intitulé "Management and Public Affairs".

Description et objectifs de la spécialité Management et affaires publiques

Cette spécialité vise à doter les étudiants des compétences nécessaires pour comprendre comment gérer la transformation actuelle des affaires publiques. Il vise à fournir aux futurs gestionnaires, qui travailleront dans les secteurs privé et public, les outils pour répondre aux défis actuels et futurs auxquels sont confrontés les gouvernements, les entreprises et les organisations de la société civile, dans des domaines tels que la gestion du changement, la transformation numérique, la durabilité et la communication.

Les étudiants recevront une formation dans des domaines tels que la prise de décision publique, les partenariats public-privé, les pratiques de durabilité, la budgétisation publique et auront la possibilité de sélectionner des cours optionnels dédiés à la négociation, à la communication de crise, à la gestion de l'information, à la réglementation, à la démocratie numérique et au lobbying, entre autres.

Cours spécifiques liés à la spécialité Management et affaires publiques

  • Gérer les défis futurs du travail et le design thinking
  • Changement organisationnel et prise de décision publique
  • Stratégies et pratiques durables
  • Organisation et gestion des politiques publiques
  • Gouvernance économique mondiale et fiscalité internationale
  • Marchés publics

Débouchés professionnels après la spécialité Management et affaires publiques

En règle générale, les diplômés de cette spécialité poursuivent une carrière dans la gestion publique ou le conseil dans le secteur public. Les étudiants peuvent faire carrière dans des administrations locales, nationales ou internationales, dans les services des affaires publiques d'entreprises privées, dans des organisations intergouvernementales et non gouvernementales ou dans des entreprises transnationales et, dans des sociétés de conseil et des partenariats public-privé.

Maquettes pédagogiques de la spécialité Management et affaires publiques

Master politiques publiques - spécialité Management and Public Affairs :

Master affaires européennes - spécialité Management and Public Affairs :

Conseiller scientifique de la spécialité Management et affaires publiques

Henri Bergeron, docteur en sociologie, Habilité à Diriger des Recherches (HDR), est chercheur CNRS au Centre de Sociologie des Organisations, Sciences Po, co-directeur du Département Santé du Centre Interdisciplinaire d'Évaluation des Politiques Publiques (Centre d'excellence - LABEX), et coordinateur scientifique de la Chaire d'études en santé - Sciences Po.

Il est également directeur du Master Organisations et management des ressources humaines à Sciences Po et de l’Executive Master Management des politiques publiques. Il mène des recherches sur la santé publique et la politique de santé et les évolutions de la pratique médicale à travers l'étude de différents sujets : drogues illicites, alcool, obésité, cancer, etc. Il utilise des méthodes issues des domaines de la sociologie de l'action publique et de la sociologie des organisations pour évaluer les forces à l'œuvre dans la création et les changements dans différents domaines politiques.

contact

Responsable pédagogique : Laura Atran-Fresco

Assistant pédagogique : Robin Picand

Retour en haut de page