Second Edition of the Cross-Examination Moot (2022)

Second Edition of the Cross-Examination Moot (2022)

A true success of the entire arbitration community!
  • Cross-Examination Moot (2022)Cross-Examination Moot (2022)

The week of 28 November-2 December, the second edition of the Cross-Examination Moot took place virtually. This is the first standalone global platform to train students on the practice of cross-examination and quantum issues.

Over 300 students and coaches, from 60 teams, representing more than 15 nationalities, participated in over 100 hearings from all corners of the world. Throughout the week, the students cross-examined witnesses and real quantum experts, based on a mock case that concerned the intersections between the energy-intensive cryptocurrency mining industry, policies aimed at achieving net-zero emissions, and the fluctuating cryptocurrency markets in the context of an M&A transaction, as well as corruption allegations.

A true success of the entire arbitration community!

Congratulations to all the teams that proved to be up for the challenge!

  • Eight teams made it to the elimination rounds: (i) ASE Bucharest, (ii) King's College London, (iii) National Law School of India University, (iv) Queen Mary University of London, (v) University of Marburg, (vi) University of Oxford, (vii) University of Southampton, and (viii) University of Tehran.
  • The winning team was University of Southampton, and the runner up team, King’s College London. They were both awarded a set of arbitration books.
  • The best cross-examiner of the competition, Evan Chou Chong Jet (University of Oxford), was awarded an internship with Gaillard Banifatemi Shelbaya in Paris.
  • The best cross-examiner on quantum, Aleks Sekulic (University of Southampton) was awarded an internship with Compass Lexecon.
  • A special distinction was awarded to Darren Leow (University of Oxford) and Behnam Molavi (University of Tehran) for their outstanding performance.

This event was only possible thanks to:

  • The academic hosts of the Moot: Sciences PoNew York UniversityQueen Mary University of London, and the National University of Singapore. Special thanks are due to Bérangère Gavaudo, from Sciences Po Law School.
  • Our elite Board of Directors: (i) Diego P. Fernández Arroyo, (ii) Franco Ferrari, (iii) Loukas Mistelis, (iv) Sophie Nappert, (v) Gary Bell, (vi) Eleonora Coelho, (vii) Jean Kalicki, (viii) Samaa Haridi, (ix) Yas Banifatemi, and (x) Alexis Mourre.
  • The professionality of the Case Committee: Juan Pablo Argentato, Elina Zlatanska, Verena Waisberg (from the ICC International Court of Arbitration), Mark Mangan, Daniel Gaw (from Dechert LLP), Carla Chavich, Andres Barrera and Jack Ghaleb (from Compass Lexecon), and their respective teams.
  • The +300 practitioners and academics that served as arbitrators in different time zones.
  • The generosity of our sponsors: Compass LexeconDechert LLPICC International Court of Arbitration, and Gaillard Banifatemi Shelbaya.
  • Our team of coordinators: Mihaela Apostol, Danielle González and Rosario Galardi.
  • Our team of over 50 volunteers that acted as tribunal secretaries.
  • All the Friends of the Moot: PVYAP - Paris Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, AYAP - Argentina Young Arbitration Practitioners, DC Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, Argentina Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, YRAP - Young Romanian Arbitration Practitioners, Madrid Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, GTVYAP - Guatemala Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, London VYAP - London Very Young Arbitration Practitioners, Costa Rican Young Arbitrators, Asian Law Students' Association (ALSA), ECUVYAP, International Arbitration Juniors, Careers in Arbitration, ENERAP/Energy Related Arbitration Practitioners, Oil, Gas & Energy Law (OGEL) / Transnational Dispute Management (TDM), Arbitration Pledge, Young ICCA, Arbtech, CLA, ICC YAF, ICDR Young, Lima VYAP, Moot Alumni Association, MyArbitration, and Swiss VYAP.
  • The organizers of our side events: Pablo Jaroslavsky, Mihaela Apostol and Michael Fernández.
  • The Moot Executive Directors: Francisco Amallo, and Ezequiel H. Vetulli.

See you next year for the 2023 edition, in Paris!

Tags :
Retour en haut de page