Slide
Meeting 1er mai 2012 Front National Crédits : Blandine Le Cain
Sciences Po research delves into the elections
22 March 2017
Renewable energy and network structuring in Europe.
11 September 2017

When the Internet sheds light on the transformation of messages

We know that the transmission of messages between individuals is often imperfect and/or incomplete. The transformation of a single word or group of words can change the initially intended meaning. A number of researchers are working to deconstruct the dynamics and effects of this phenomenon.
This is the subject that Sciences Po professor and medialab researcher Camille Roth and Sébastien Lerique, a junior researcher at the École des hautes études en sciences sociales, explored in research they share in “The Semantic Drift of Quotations in Blogspace: A Case Study in Short-Term Cultural Evolution”, which will be published in Cognitive Science.

A new research area: the blogosphere

The study’s originality lies in its use of real situations – an in vivo approach – in its examination of the transmission of messages in the blogosphere. This type of research usually takes place in a laboratory. Thus, instead of studying “fictional” situations where the information is simply passed from one participant to the next during an experiment organized in vitro, the researchers seized an unprecedented opportunity to tackle this issue by processing an immense volume of digital traces.

Little Red Riding Hood. From Childhood's Favorites and Fairy Stories, by Various. Domaine public

When diversity converges: the importance of cultural attraction

The idea guiding Camille Roth and Sébastien Lerique was to test the validity of Cultural Attraction Theory (CAT)*, which posits that cultural attractors and preferential reformulation phenomena explain the convergence of content at the collective level despite the more or less faithful reformulation of statements from one individual to the next.

The adventures of Little Red Riding Hood 

A simple example illustrates this theory: there is no one version of Little Red Riding Hood. This (quasi)-universal fairytale underwent reformulations during its “travels”. The reformulations varied according to the environment: in a given place, one element of the story might have better survived, while another element became secondary or disappeared; in other places these elements were arranged differently. Notwithstanding the different versions of Little Red Riding Hood, a key element remains: to elicit fear. This element is the cultural attractor, because fascination with fear is shared by all of humanity. 

Identifying the transformation of messages on the blogosphere:  methods and results

To study this phenomenon, Camille Roth and Sébastien Lerique chose to explore the transformation of words that are part of quotes reposted by blogs. This choice was primarily made because quotation marks make it easy to identify this type of context via data processing “scripts”. Furthermore, these alterations are necessarily due to human reformulation rather than cut-and-paste.
In order to describe the change in phrases when they are reused, the authors first developed a series of models enabling a reconstitution of the most likely relationships between the different quotes.
Thus, they were able to describe the substitutions and identify the factors influencing them by drawing on standard linguistic variables, such as the age of acquisition of a word, its frequency, its length and the gap between the significance of the original term and that of the substitute term.

Capture écran de résultats sur un moteur de recherche. Public Domaine

Capture results screen on a search engine. Public Domain

From “foolish” to “crazy”
An illustrative example of this process is the transformation of the quotation of a verse by a Burmese poet (Saw Wai). The original poem’s verse is: “Senior general Than Shwe is foolish with power”, but several blogs quote “Senior general Than Shwe is crazy with power”. This case allowed them to make several observations:

  • The authors of this transformation were inspired by the original formulation and did not reproduce reformulations made by others: thus, there was an individual dimension.  
  • The word “crazy” is used six times more often than “foolish” when the verse is quoted: this is convergence
  • “crazy” and “foolish” have more or less the same meaning; “crazy” is shorter; it is generally learned earlier that foolish (at age 5-6 rather than age 8-9). Cultural attractors can therefore be identified: the replacement of the original word by words with very similar meanings, the preference for shorter words and the dominance of words that are acquired earlier.

This experiment confirmed all aspects of the theory of cultural attractors.

The contribution of data science to the study of transformations


data sciences. Crédits : http://www.kiwidatascience.com/

Data sciences. Copyrights : kiwidatascience

On the basis of the encouraging results from this first experiment, Camille Roth and Sébastien Lerique are currently developing a series of experiments to explore more complicated transformations like that of entire segments of a phrase or reformulations of syntax, their mechanisms and their incidence.

More broadly, through this study the researchers demonstrated the feasibility and relevance of data science “experiments” that use web data. They also showed that it was possible to study phenomena as complex as the relationship between microscopic and macroscopic content development processes; and finally, that is possible to establish a link between psycholinguistics, the study of new media and the field of cultural evolution.

* The theory of cultural attractors was developed by Dan Sperber, an anthropologist, linguist and cognitive science researcher, in his book “Explaining Culture: A Naturalistic Approach”, Wiley-Blackwell, Sept. 1996

Slide
Meeting 1er mai 2012 Front National Crédits : Blandine Le Cain
Radiographie des élections par la recherche de Sciences Po
28 février 2017
Handicap Stairs?, Josh Hallett, Flickr - CC BY 2.0
Handicap : de l’action publique aux expériences de vie
11 septembre 2017

Quand le web éclaire la transformation des messages

Little Red Riding Hood. From Childhood's Favorites and Fairy Stories, by Various. Domaine public

On sait que la transmission de messages entre individus est souvent imparfaite et/ou partielle. Il peut suffire qu’un mot ou un ensemble de mots soient transformés pour en altérer le sens véhiculé initialement. Nombreux sont les chercheurs qui s’attèlent à décortiquer la marche et les effets de ce phénomène.
C’est cet objectif que Camille Roth, professeur à Sciences Po et chercheur au médialab, et Sébastien Lerique, jeune chercheur à l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales, ont poursuivi dans des travaux qu’ils exposent dans  “The Semantic Drift of Quotations in Blogspace: A Case Study in Short-Term Cultural Evolution”, paru dans Cognitive Science.

Un nouveau terrain de recherche : la blogosphère

L’originalité de leur étude est qu’elle a été menée in vivo, en s’appuyant sur la transmission de messages dans la blogosphère, alors que ce type de recherches se déroule habituellement en laboratoire. Ainsi au lieu d’étudier des situations fictives où l’information est simplement véhiculée de participant en participant lors d’une expérience organisée in vitro, les chercheurs ont exploité l’opportunité inédite d’appréhender cette question en exploitant l’avalanche de traces numériques.

Little Red Riding Hood. From Childhood's Favorites and Fairy Stories, by Various. Domaine public

Little Red Riding Hood. Domaine public

Quand la diversité converge : le poids de l’attraction culturelle

L’idée directrice de Camille Roth et Sébastien Lerique était de tester sur pièces la validité de la théorie connue sous le nom de Cultural Attraction Theory (CAT) *, selon laquelle il existe des attracteurs culturels, des phénomènes de reformulation préférentielle qui expliqueraient que malgré reformulation plus ou moins fidèle des énoncés d’individu à individu, il y a convergence du contenu à l’échelle d’un collectif.

Les aventures du Petit Chaperon Rouge 
Un simple exemple permet d’illustrer ce propos : il n'existe pas de version unique du Petit Chaperon Rouge. Devenu (quasi) universel, ce conte a subi des reformulations lors de ses “voyages”, reformulations qui ont varié en fonction de ses milieux d’implantation :  ici tel élément de l'histoire a été favorisé,  a mieux survécu; tel autre a été mis au second plan, voire a disparu ; ailleurs, ces éléments ont subi un sort différent. Mais quelles que soient les différentes versions du Petit Chaperon rouge, il reste un élément essentiel : susciter la peur. C’est cet élément qui fait fonction d’attracteur culturel, tant la fascination pour la peur est  partagée par l’ensemble de l’humanité.

Identifier  la transformation des messages sur la blogosphère :  méthodes et résultats

Pour étudier ce phénomène, ils ont choisi de se pencher sur la transformation  de mots faisant partie de citations reprises sur les blogs. Un choix qui a été présidé par le fait que la présence de guillemets rend facile l’identification de ce type de contenu via des routines informatiques et que ces altérations sont nécessairement dues à une reformulation humaine et non un copier-coller.
Pour caractériser la modification des phrases au cours de leur réutilisation, les auteurs ont d’abord développé une série de modèles permettant de reconstituer les liens les plus probables entre différentes citations.
Ils ont ainsi pu décrire les substitutions et identifier les facteurs qui les influencent en s’appuyant sur des variables linguistiques standards, telles que l’âge d’acquisition d’un mot, sa fréquence et sa longueur ou encore la distance plus ou moins grande entre la signification du terme original et celle du terme de substitution.

De « foolish » à « crazy »

foolish_crazy

Capture écran de résultats sur un moteur de recherche. Domaine public

Pour illustrer la démarche, on peut prendre l’exemple de la transformation de la citation d’une strophe d’un poète birman (Saw Wai). Originellement la poésie dit  : « Senior general Than Shwe is foolish with power », mais sur plusieurs blogs il est écrit « Senior general Than Shwe is crazy with power ». Ce cas permet de faire plusieurs constats :

  • les auteurs de cette transformation se sont inspirés de la formulation originelle, ils ne reproduisent pas des reformulations faites par d’autres : il y a bien une dimension individuelle.
  • le mot « crazy » est six fois plus employé que « foolish » lors de la citation de cette strophe : il y a bien convergence
  • « crazy » et « foolish » ont peu ou prou la même signification ; « crazy » est plus court ; il est appris en moyenne plus tôt que foolish (vers 5-6 ans, au lieu de 8-9 ans) :  on peut donc identifier des attracteurs culturels :   le remplacement du mot original par des mots au sens très proches, la préférence pour des mots plus courts et la prédominance de mots acquis plus précocement.

Ainsi, à la lumière de cette expérience, la théorie des attracteurs culturels se trouve confirmée dans toutes ses dimensions.

L’apport des data sciences à l’étude des transformations

data sciences. Crédits : http://www.kiwidatascience.com/

Data sciences. Crédits : kiwidatascience.com

Forts des résultats encourageants de cette première expérience, Camille Roth  et Sébastien Lerique développent à présent une série de recherches visant à explorer des transformations plus complexes telles que le remplacement de pans entier d’une phrase ou des reformulations syntaxiques, leurs mécanismes et leurs incidences.

De façon plus large, par ce travail, nos chercheurs ont démontré la faisabilité et la pertinence d’expériences relevant des data sciences à savoir l’utilisation des corpus du web. Ils ont aussi montré qu’il est possible d’étudier des phénomènes aussi complexes que l’articulation entre processus microscopiques et macroscopiques d’évolution de contenus ; et enfin qu’il est possible d’établir un lien entre la psycholinguistique, l’étude des nouveaux médias et le champ de l’évolution culturelle.

* La théorie des attracteurs culturels a été développée par Dan Sperber, anthropologue, linguiste et chercheur en sciences cognitives dans son ouvrage “La contagion des idées” mieux connue dans sa version anglaise “Explaining Culture: A Naturalistic Approach”, Wiley-Blackwell, sept. 1996