Dual Master's Degree in Global and Comparative Urban Planning and Governance

Paris ©Walkerssk / PixabayThe Urban School of Sciences Po (Paris) and the Urban Planning Department at UCLA (Los Angeles) --  two of the most highly rated programs in urbanism, policies, governance and urban planning in the world --  are launching a new dual master’s degree program, to begin September 2021.  This is a cutting-edge program that builds on the core strengths of both programs and offers the specialized training offered by each.

The Urban School of Sciences Po is renowned for its comparative approach to metropolitan governance around the world.  Its interdisciplinary social science approach to urbanism draws on political economy, the political sociology of urban policies and their implementation, emphasizing political protest and participation, planning and the social/ ethnic transformations of cities. At the forefront of the program are the climate crisis, urban policies, digital cities, and citizen participation.

Los Angeles ©Alexis Balinoff / UnsplashThe Urban Planning Department at UCLA offers rigorous training in a wide array of areas of concentration, including community development, housing, transportation, urban design and development, regional and international development and environmental analysis and policy. A hallmark of UCLA’s program is its deep commitment to social, environmental and racial justice, democratized planning, inclusivity, and the integration of practice and research.

Objectives

This is the only program that grants a dual degree in urban planning in the USA and Europe, in the time normally required to achieve just one degree. It offers the extraordinary opportunity to be trained in two of the world’s most dynamic metropolitan areas.  Both Greater Paris and metropolitan Southern California are vast living laboratories for urbanism, urban policies and politics, sharing many of the key challenges of metropolitan areas today. But since Greater Paris and Los Angeles have radically different spatial forms, geographies and histories, they offer a comparative setting  for acquiring skills in global comparative urbanism, governance and urban planning, and understanding how to practice planning and shape urban collective action and policies in different political and institutional contexts.

Students spend:

Los Angeles ©12019 / Pixabay During their internship and their “capstone” projects, students will be given individual and shared opportunities to engage with real professional situations in fields including urban planning, urban services, mobility, real estate, housing, the ecological transition, local and community development, and smart cities, among others.

Provided that all course requirements are met, students will graduate after two years with two master’s degrees, one granted by UCLA and the other by Sciences Po. The year at UCLA will also be accredited professionally in the United States.

Careers

The UCLA – Sciences Po Dual Degree provides access to stimulating career paths in the US and France but also, thanks to a strong comparative and critical approach, in America, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Middle East. Graduates will be prepared to take on jobs in the public sector, nonprofits and NGOs, research organizations, and private planning, consulting, and development firms.

Validation and degree

Paris ©timms / PixabayStudents are registered for two full years at both universities and have access to the student services of both Sciences Po and UCLA. Students must validate their course work under the requirements of the university at which they are studying.

  • 48 US credits (= 96 ECTS) during the year at UCLA
  • 60 ECTS credits during the year at Sciences Po

To earn the dual degree, students must successfully complete and have validated both of the two years of study in both universities.

Admissions

Candidates apply directly on the UCLA website.

The deadline is 31 January, 2021.

Applicants are selected on the strength of their applications only. The final admissions decision is made by a jury with members from both universities.

Find out more about the Sciences Po admissions.

Tuition and Fees

Students pay their fees:

Les étudiants doivent s'acquitter du paiement des droits de scolarité en vigueur :

Back to top

Double Master Global and Comparative Urban Planning and Governance

Paris ©Walkerssk / PixabayL’École urbaine de Sciences Po (Paris) et l’Urban Planning Department de UCLA (Los Angeles) - deux des programmes les mieux évalués au monde en matière d’urbanisme, de politique et de gouvernance - lancent un nouveau programme de double master, qui débutera en septembre 2021. Il s’agit d’un programme de pointe qui s’appuie sur les points forts des deux programmes et offre une formation spécialisée dans chacun des établissements.

L’École urbaine de Sciences Po est reconnue pour son approche comparative de la gouvernance métropolitaine dans le monde. Son approche interdisciplinaire de l’urbanisme par les sciences sociales s’appuie sur l’économie politique, la sociologie des politiques urbaines et leur mise en œuvre, en mettant l’accent sur la protestation et la participation politiques, l’aménagement et les transformations sociales/ethniques des villes. La crise climatique, les politiques urbaines, les villes numériques et la participation des citoyens sont au cœur du programme.

Los Angeles ©Alexis Balinoff / UnsplashL’Urban Planning Department de UCLA offre une formation rigoureuse dans un large éventail de domaines de concentration, y compris le développement communautaire, le logement, le transport, la conception et le développement urbains, le développement régional et international ainsi que l’analyse et la politique environnementale. Le programme de UCLA se caractérise par son engagement profond envers la justice sociale, environnementale et raciale, l’aménagement démocratisé, l’inclusion et l’intégration de la pratique et de la recherche.

Objectifs

C’est le seul programme qui accorde un double diplôme en urbanisme aux États-Unis et en Europe, dans le temps normalement nécessaire pour obtenir un seul diplôme. Il offre l’opportunité extraordinaire d’être formé dans deux des zones métropolitaines les plus dynamiques du monde. Le Grand Paris et la Californie du Sud métropolitaine sont de vastes laboratoires vivants pour l’urbanisme, les politiques urbaines et la politique, partageant de nombreux défis clés des zones métropolitaines aujourd’hui. Mais le Grand Paris et Los Angeles ont des formes spatiales, des géographies et des histoires radicalement différentes, et offrent ainsi un cadre comparatif pour l’acquisition de compétences dans l’urbanisme comparatif mondial, la gouvernance et l’urbanisme, et comprendre comment appliquer l’urbanisme et mettre en place les actions et les politiques collectives urbaines dans différents contextes politiques et institutionnels.

Les étudiants effectuent :

Los Angeles ©12019 / Pixabay Au cours de leur stage et de leur projet « Capstone », les étudiants auront l’occasion, individuellement ou en groupe, de vivre des situations professionnelles réelles dans des domaines tels que l’urbanisme, les services urbains, la mobilité, l’immobilier, le logement, la transition écologique, le développement local et communautaire, et les smart cities, entre autres.

À l'issue des deux années d'études, les étudiants obtiennent, sous réserve de validation des obligations de scolarité, deux diplômes de masters, l’un délivré par UCLA et l’autre par Sciences Po. L’année à UCLA sera également reconnue professionnellement aux États-Unis.

Orientations

Le double diplôme UCLA-Sciences Po donne accès à des parcours de carrière stimulants aux États-Unis et en France mais aussi, grâce à une forte approche comparative et critique, en Amérique, en Europe, en Asie, en Afrique et au Moyen-Orient. Les diplômés seront prêts à occuper des emplois dans le secteur public, les organisations à but non lucratif et les ONG, les organismes de recherche et les entreprises privées d’urbanisme, d’audit et de développement.

Validation et diplôme

Paris ©timms / PixabayLes étudiants sont inscrits pour deux années complètes au sein des deux établissements, et accèdent aux services étudiants des deux institutions. L'étudiant valide ses enseignements en fonction des méthodes de l'établissement dans lequel il étudie :

  • 48 crédits US (= 96 ECTS) pendant l’année à UCL
  • 60 crédits ECTS pendant l'année à Sciences Po

L'obtention du double diplôme est conditionnée à la validation des deux années d'enseignement dans chacun des établissements.

Admissions

Les candidats doivent postuler directement sur le site des admissions de UCLA (EN).

La date limite est le 31 janvier 2021.

La sélection des candidats ne se fait que par dossier. Un jury composé de membres des deux établissements se réunit pour arrêter la liste des candidats admis.

En savoir plus sur les admissions à Sciences Po.

Droits de scolarité et aides

Les étudiants doivent s'acquitter du paiement des droits de scolarité en vigueur :

Pour les financements possibles, consulter les aides proposées par Sciences Po.

Retour en haut de page