Paris campus

  • Paris campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloParis campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the E. Boutmy amphitheater ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the E. Boutmy amphitheater ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in a classroom, seen from the garden ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in a classroom, seen from the garden ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Rene Remond Library ©Martin ArgyrogloRene Remond Library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the library ©Manuel BraunStudents in the library ©Manuel Braun
  • Paris campus garden ©Martin ArgyrogloParis campus garden ©Martin Argyroglo

The Paris campus is Sciences Po's original campus. As well as Undergraduate College students, it accommodates all Master's and doctoral students at the seven Sciences Po graduate schools.

A general multidisciplinary programme

Students on the Paris campus follow the multidisciplinary curriculum in the humanities and social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College without a regional specialization, which is called the "general programme".

The programme is taught in French with some courses in English and gives students a solid grounding in law, economics, history, political humanities, political science and sociology.

The Paris campus is also home to students on the dual degree programmes with Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (social sciences and applied mathematics), Université Paris Sorbonne, Paris IV (social sciences and humanities with a choice between literature, philosophy or history) and Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris VI (science and social sciences).

Students can study one of the fifteen languages taught on campus, while also taking English courses for students who do not have B2-level English.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Paris campus has about 3,000 undergraduate students, over a third of whom are international students on a semester or year of exchange at Sciences Po. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year abroad studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities.

Campus life is also kept vibrant by the vast range of clubs and associations on offer and many events throughout the year. With the choice of more than 80 artistic, union, political, cultural and humanitarian clubs and associations, students are encouraged to participate in activities that develop their sense of community and responsibility.

Paris, a world city

The Paris campus is located in the Saint-Germain-des-Prés district, a historic intellectual and artistic centre ten minutes from the Louvre Museum and the Latin Quarter, but also close to the major institutions of the French Republic (National Assembly, Senate, etc.). Its central location makes the campus easy to reach by public transport, by bicycle or on foot.

A cosmopolitan metropolis featuring its characteristic Haussmannian architecture, Paris has a great variety of neighborhoods to explore: Le Marais, Montparnasse, Montmartre, Les Batignolles, Bastille, etc. It is also the most wooded city in Europe with more than 400 parks and gardens.

Campus de Paris

  • Facade du campus de Paris ©Martin ArgyrogloFacade du campus de Paris ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans l'amphithéâtre E. Boutmy ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans l'amphithéâtre E. Boutmy ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants en cours, vus depuis le jardin ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants en cours, vus depuis le jardin ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Bibliothèque Rene Remond ©Martin ArgyrogloBibliothèque Rene Remond ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la bibliothèque ©Manuel BraunÉtudiants dans la bibliothèque ©Manuel Braun
  • Jardin du campus de Paris ©Martin ArgyrogloJardin du campus de Paris ©Martin Argyroglo

Le campus de Paris est le campus historique de Sciences Po. Il accueille les étudiants du Collège universitaire, ceux de master et de doctorat au sein des 7 Écoles de Sciences Po.

Un  parcours pluridisciplinaire et généraliste

Les étudiants du campus de Paris suivent une formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, appelée “programme général”, sans spécialisation géographique.

En suivant ce cursus francophone, qui inclut certains enseignements en anglais, les étudiants s’initient aux fondamentaux du droit, de l’économie, de l’histoire, des humanités politiques, de la science politique et de la sociologie.

Le campus de Paris accueille également les étudiants en double diplôme avec l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (sciences sociales et mathématiques appliquées), l’Université Paris-Sorbonne, Paris IV (sciences sociales et humanités littéraires avec un choix entre lettres, philosophie ou histoire), et l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie (sciences sociales et sciences).

Les étudiants peuvent étudier l’une des quinze langues enseignées sur le campus, tout en suivant des cours d’anglais pour les étudiants ne disposant pas d’un niveau B2 validé.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus de Paris accueille environ 3 000 étudiants du Collège universitaire sur site, dont plus d’un tier sont des étudiants internationaux qui viennent accomplir un semestre ou une année d’échange à Sciences Po. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus, qui se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études à l’étranger dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po.

La vie sur le campus est également riche des divers engagements associatifs proposés et de nombreuses manifestations qui y sont organisées. Avec le choix parmi plus de 80 associations artistiques, syndicales, politiques, culturelles et humanitaires, les étudiants sont encouragés à participer à des activités qui développent leur sens du collectif et des responsabilités.

Paris, ville-Monde  

Le campus de Paris est situé dans le quartier de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, berceau intellectuel et artistique, à dix minutes du Musée du Louvre et du Quartier Latin, mais également à proximité des grandes institutions de la République (Assemblée nationale, Sénat, etc.). Sa position centrale permet une desserte optimale en transports en commun, mais favorise également les déplacements à pied ou à vélos.

Métropole cosmopolite, à l’architecture haussmannienne si caractéristique, Paris compte une diversité de quartiers : Le Marais, Montparnasse, Montmartre, Les Batignolles, Bastille, etc. Elle est également la ville la plus boisée d’Europe avec plus de 400 parcs et jardins.