The study of the Bulgarian case provides an original contribution to the scholarship on the confiscation of Jewish property in Europe during World War II. This ally of Nazi Germany passed anti-Semitic legislation in January 1941 and laid the framework for the expropriation of Jewish properties. In the “Old Kingdom” (pre-1941 borders) however, the economic deprivation of the Bulgarian Jews did not prefigure their deportation. By contrast, in Yugoslav and Greek territories under Bulgarian occupation, economic dispossession, deportation and extermination were inexorably linked. Could the issue of spoliation therefore provide a perspective shedding new light on this tragic bifurcation? How can one interpret the micro-social dynamics, which led some social actors to take part in the grabbing of Jewish property and at times to also publicly oppose the deportation of Bulgaria’s Jews? The publication of a pioneer piece of research by Bulgarian historian Roumen Avramov provides the opportunity to offer a review of the literature on the Holocaust and the expropriation of Jewish properties in Bulgaria. Building upon Avramov’s work, this article also suggests areas for further research on anti-Jewish policies in Bulgaria.

Eran Tzidkiyahu

This article wishes to discuss the phenomenon of strong religious-nationalism in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in a comparative approach, paving the road for further research to come. The term strong religion-nationalism occurs when a nation-state unites the nation, state and ethnicity with religion. This kind of cultural political phenomenon flourishes in areas of conflicts concerning contested central holy sites, in which politicians are likely to mobilize religious-nationalism. Societies and states containing significant strong religious-national elements are in greater risk of falling into radical nationalism, fascism and totalitarianism. The term “strong religious-nationalism” is a paraphrase on the title of the book by Almond, Appleby and Sivan: Strong Religion: The Rise of Fundamentalisms around the World (2003). This does not mean that strong religious-nationalists are necessarily fundamentalists as depicted by the authors. It does correspond with the author’s choice of the term Strong Religion, relating to the movements they examined as “[…] militant and highly focused antagonists of secularization. They call a halt on the centuries-long retreat of religious establishments before the secular power. They follow the rule of offense being better than defence, and they often include the extreme option of violence and death.” The authors “intend the notion of ‘strength’ to suggest that these are movements to reckon with seriously” (Almond, Appleby and Sivan 2003: 2) Strong religious-nationalists merge successfully within the framework of the nation-state, making politics a part of religion, politicizing religion, transforming the nation-state into a “vehicle of the divine” (Friedland 2002: 381).

Samuel B. H. Faure

This article focuses on the decision-making dilemma of arms procurement policy. Why does a State decide sometimes to cooperate internationally with other States and their defense industries, to buy military goods such as jet fighters, tanks and warships, and why does it decide sometimes to not cooperate and prefers autarky? To answer this Research Question, this article brings in the form of a literature review, all the contributions in political science (almost hundred references) that explain this decisional variation. The aim is to map all explanatory models of this dilemma by testing their theoretical and methodological proposals on the case of France, to identify their main contributions and their weakness.

Fred Eboko

This paper deals with the recurrences, which structure a relative standardization that concerns actors of the public policies in contemporary Africa. The proposed entrance is twofold. At first the author aims to highlight configurations of actors (international, national, public, private, associative, etc.), at the level of institutions, presented under forms “of agencies” (of normalization/standardization, regulation, execution, counterproposal, etc.). Secondly, a comparison within the health sector (AIDS, malaria, tuberculosis), then a comparative approach with two other sectors (the education and the biodiversity). This configuration of actors and institutions is based on a central hypothesis: the construction of “a matrix of the public action in Africa” among which the dynamics and the expected or prescribed results are different from one sector to the other. The main hypothesis, which tends to explain these differences, is articulated on the dynamic notion of “epistemic communities” developed by Peter Haas. The New Funding Model (NFM) of the Global Fund against AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria represents an ultimate model of this matrix.

Thomas Fouquet

Based on a long lasting fieldwork experience in the Dakar by night, this study questions the terms and issues of ethnographical implication, facing the double externality that characterizes the position of the researcher: being a white French man among Senegalese women, whilst many of them are looking for western male partners or “sponsors.” How to cope with the image of “prey” that broadly surrounds the ethnographer? How to articulate the critical analysis of the ethnographic situation, and that of social, political, economical and phantasmatic issues that emerge through “postcolonial encounter”? The problem is in particular not to reduce such an experience to the description of a “sexual fieldwork” thus designed as an ethnographic exceptional area. By showing that the real object of reflexivity always proves elusive, this rooted epistemology relies on a heuristic paradox: it is the progressive distancing of an “Ethnographer’s Self” that ultimately allows to come closer to the interlocutors. Incidentally, this paradoxical negotiation of the distance carries by itself some major anthropological informations.

Christophe Wasinski

We hereafter make the case that a certain technostrategic knowledge regime exists that builds a good reputation to military interventions. This contributes to normalizing the latter within the apparels responsible for the execution of foreign policies, since the end of the cold war. Supported by a contemporary military and security discourse analysis, this work analyses how this regime of knowledge was elaborated, how it circumscribes a field of possibles for intervention and how it attributes great credibility to this very field of possibles.

Due to the growing importance of religion in post-Soviet Russia and the prevalent place of the Orthodox Church in Russian politics, certain analysts have argued that Russia is undergoing a process of desecularization today. While this phenomenon is also occurring in other parts of the world, Russia is different from these cases—notably because of its sociopolitical history and its particular religious context. Instead of opposing this trend toward desecularization to the earlier trend toward secularization at the time of the Soviet Union, the emphasis is put on the continuity of governemental practices. Religion today has become an essential part of a mode of governing that was made possible through a form of identity-building reinvented by the elites. This mode of governing reflects to a certain extent the continuity of the Soviet mode of governing characterized by a non pluralist ideology.

Pakistan was created in 1947 by leaders of the Muslim minority of the British Raj in order to give them a separate
state. Islam was defined by its founder, Jinnah, in the frame of his “two-nation theory,” as an identity marker
(cultural and territorial). His ideology, therefore, contributed to an original form of secularization, a form that is
not taken into account by Charles Taylor in his theory of secularization – that the present text intends to test and
supplement. This trajectory of secularization went on a par with a certain form of secularism which, this time,
complies with Taylor’s definition. As a result, the first two Constitutions of Pakistan did not define Islam as an
official religion and recognized important rights to the minorities. However, Jinnah’s approach was not shared
by the Ulema and the fundamentalist leaders, who were in favor of an islamization policy. The pressures they
exerted on the political system made an impact in the 1970s, when Z.A. Bhutto was instrumentalizing Islam. Zia’s
islamization policy made an even bigger impact on the education system, the judicial system and the fiscal system,
at the expense of the minority rights. But Zia pursued a strategy of statization of Islam that had been initiated
by Jinnah and Ayub Khan on behalf of different ideologies, which is one more illustration of the existence of an
additional form of secularization that has been neglected by Taylor.

Marc-Antoine Pérouse de Montclos

In Nigeria, the Islamic terrorism of Boko Haram raises a lot of questions about the political relationship between so-called "religious" violence and the state. At least three of them expose our confusions about islamization, conversion, radicalization and the politicization of religion, namely:
– Is it a religious uprising or a political contest for power?
– How does it express a social revolt?
– How indicative is it of a radicalization of the patterns of protest of the Muslims in Northern Nigeria?
A fieldwork study shows that Boko Haram is not so much political because it wants to reform the society, but mainly because it reveals the intrigues of a weak government and the fears of a nation in the making. Otherwise, the radicalization of Islam cannot be limited to terrorism and it is difficult to know if the movement is more extremist, fanatic and murderous than previous uprising like the one of Maitatsine in Kano in 1980. The capacity of Boko Haram to develop international connections and to challenge the state is not exceptional as such. Far from the clichés on a clash of civilizations between the North and the South, the specificity of the sect in Nigeria has more to do with its suicide attacks. Yet the terrorist evolution of Boko Haram was first and foremost caused by the brutality of the state repression, more than alleged contacts with an international jihadist movement.

Christian Olsson

In this study, we try to apply the genealogical methodology to the analysis of French, British and American military discourse on the « pacification of populations » from the xixth century until today. The objective is indeed to analyse and problematise the colonial continuities that the leitmotiv of the « hearts and minds » reveals. We do this by focusing on the « moments » that have framed and reframed the social uses and significations of this leitmotiv: firstly, the « moment » of colonial conquest ; then, the « moment » of the wars of decolonization ; finally, the « moment » of western interventionism in postcolonial states. While highlighting the colonial continuities of military practice, our main conclusion is that the meanings of the leitmotiv are extremely variable and always subjected to contradictory interpretations. The genealogy of the « hearts and minds » hence draws attention to its many discontinuities. It particularly shows how the postcolonial « moment » has subverted its colonial meanings.

A l’historiographie sur la spoliation des biens juifs en Europe, l’étude du cas bulgare fournit un apport original. La Bulgarie présente en effet une singularité de prime abord irréductible : dans ce pays allié de l’Allemagne nazie, une législation antisémite fut adoptée en janvier 1941, qui posait les cadres de l’aryanisation de l’économie. Pourtant, dans le « vieux Royaume », la dépossession économique des Juifs de citoyenneté bulgare ne préfigura pas leur déportation ; dans les territoires de Yougoslavie et de Grèce occupés, en revanche, spoliation, déportation et extermination furent inexorablement liées. La question de la spoliation pourrait-elle dès lors fournir un angle sous lequel aborder à nouveaux frais l’histoire de cette tragique bifurcation ? Comment interpréter, en particulier, les dynamiques microsociales qui ont sous-tendu la participation à l’accaparement de biens juifs et, parfois de la part des mêmes acteurs sociaux, la mobilisation contre les déportations ? La parution d’un ouvrage pionnier dû à l’historien bulgare, Roumen Avramov, fournit ici l’opportunité de dresser un état de la littérature sur la Shoah et la spoliation en Bulgarie, ainsi que de suggérer des pistes de recherche dans le prolongement de ses travaux.

Eran Tzidkiyahu

Cet article entend débattre du phénomène du strong religious-nationalism dans le conflit israélo-palestinien par le biais d’une approche comparative, préparant ainsi le terrain pour de futures recherches. Le terme strong religious-nationalism s’emploie lorsqu’un Etat-nation conjugue nation, Etat, ethnicité et religion. Ce phénomène politico-culturel prospère dans les zones de conflit où se trouvent de hauts lieux saints disputés,au nom desquels les politiciens ont tendance à mobiliser le nationalisme religieux. Les sociétés et les Etats empreints de strong religious nationalism présentent plus de risques de verser dans le nationalisme radical, le fascisme et le totalitarisme. Le terme strong religious-nationalism est une paraphrase du titre du livre de Almond, Appleby et Sivan : Strong Religion: The Rise of Fundamentalisms around the World (2003). Son usage ne signifie pas nécessairement que les strong religious-nationalists soient des fondamentalistes tels que décrits par les auteurs, mais renvoie plutôt au choix du terme strong religion : les mouvements qu’ils étudient se caractérisent comme étant « militants et opposés de manière ciblée à la sécularisation. Ils appellent à mettre un terme à l’effacement séculaire des institutions religieuses face au pouvoir laïque. Ils suivent le principe selon lequel la meilleure défense est l’attaque, et ne renâclent pas à faire usage de la violence et de la mort ». Les auteurs « utilisent la notion de “force” pour suggérer que ce sont des mouvements qui doivent être pris au sérieux » (Almond, Appleby and Sivan 2003: 2). Les strong religious-nationalists s’insèrent avec succès dans le cadre de l’Etat-nation, appréhendant la politique comme une composante de la religion, politisant la religion, et transformant l’Etat en un « vecteur du divin » (Friedland 2002: 381).

Samuel B. H. Faure

Cet article porte sur le dilemme décisionnel de la politique d’acquisition d’armements. Pourquoi un état décide-t-il parfois de coopérer à l’international avec d’autres états et leurs industries de défense, pour acheter des biens militaires tels que des avions de combat, des chars d’assaut ou des navires de guerre, et pourquoi décide-t-il parfois de ne pas coopérer en privilégiant l’autarcie ? Pour répondre à cette « question de recherche », cet article rassemble, sous la forme d’une revue de la littérature, l’ensemble des contributions en science politique (soit près de cent références) qui visent à expliquer cette variation décisionnelle. L’objectif est de cartographier l’ensemble des modèles explicatifs de ce dilemme en testant leurs propositions théorique et méthodologique sur le cas de la France, pour identifier leurs principaux apports ainsi que leurs limites.

Fred Eboko

Cet article vise à mettre en lumière les récurrences qui structurent une relative standardisation des acteurs de l’action publique en Afrique contemporaine. L’entrée proposée est double : par les configurations d’acteurs (internationaux, nationaux, publics, privés, associatifs, etc.), au niveau des institutions, présentées sous formes « d’agences » (de normalisation/standardisation, de régulation, d’exécution, de contre-proposition, etc.) et par une approche comparée au sein du secteur de la santé (sida, paludisme, tuberculose), puis avec deux autres secteurs (l’éducation et la biodiversité). Cette configuration d’acteurs et d’institutions fonde l’hypothèse centrale de cette présentation : l’édification d’« une matrice de l’action publique en Afrique » dont la dynamique et les résultats attendus ou prescrits sont différents d’un secteur à l’autre. L’hypothèse principale qui tend à expliquer ce différentiel s’articule autour de la notion dynamique de Peter Haas relative aux « communautés épistémiques ». Le nouveau modèle de financement du Fonds mondial contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme représente une forme achevée de cette matrice.

Thomas Fouquet

Issue d’une enquête de plusieurs années dans l’univers noctambule de Dakar, cette étude interroge les modalités et les enjeux de l’implication ethnographique face à la double extériorité qui caractérise la position du chercheur sur ce terrain : être un homme français, parmi des femmes sénégalaises qui, pour beaucoup d’entre elles, sont en quête de partenaires ou de « sponsors » masculins occidentaux. Aussi, comment faire avec cette image de « proie » ? Comment parvenir à une articulation aussi fine que possible entre l’analyse critique et réflexive de la situation ethnographique et celle des rapports sociaux, politiques, économiques mais aussi fantasmatiques complexes qui s’instaurent en situation postcoloniale ? L’enjeu est, notamment, de ne pas réduire l’analyse au décryptage d’un « terrain sexuel » conçu comme zone d’exception ethnographique. Par une écriture située, en s’appliquant à montrer que le véritable objet de la réflexivité se révèle toujours fuyant, cette épistémologie ancrée s’appuie sur un paradoxe heuristique : c’est la mise à distance progressive d’un « soi d’ethnographe » qui, in fine, permet de se tenir au plus près des individus et des pratiques étudiés. Incidemment, cette négociation de la distance à l’objet emporte par elle-même des effets d’interprétation anthropologique majeurs.

Christophe Wasinski

Nous faisons ici l’hypothèse qu’il existe un régime de savoir technostratégique qui confère aux interventions militaires une grande aura et contribue, par ce biais, à les normaliser au sein des appareils en charge de l’exécution des politiques étrangères depuis la fin de la guerre froide. À partir d’une étude des discours militaires et sécuritaires contemporains, nous cherchons à savoir comment ce régime a été élaboré, comment il délimite un champ de possibles en matière d’interventions et comment il attribue à ce même champ de possibles une grande crédibilité.

Au vu des évolutions de la Russie postsoviétique et de la place qu’occupe l’Église orthodoxe dans la vie politique russe, de nombreux chercheurs ont mis en évidence un processus de désécularisation en Russie. Observable dans d’autres parties du monde, ce processus en cours présente cependant certaines spécificités en Russie, s’inscrivant à la fois dans une histoire sociopolitique et dans un contexte confessionnel particuliers. Plutôt que d’opposer ce processus de désécularisation au processus de sécularisation à l’oeuvre pendant la période soviétique, cette étude avance l’idée d’une persistance de pratiques de gouvernement. Le religieux est aujourd’hui l’élément intrinsèque d’un certain mode de gouvernement, rendu possible par une reconstruction identitaire entamée par les élites. Paradoxalement, ce mode de gouvernement s’inscrit, dans une certaine mesure, dans la continuité du gouvernement soviétique, marqué par une idéologie unanimiste.

Le Pakistan est né en 1947 de la demande d’un État séparé par la minorité musulmane du Raj britannique. L’Islam
y était défini par son fondateur, Jinnah, dans le cadre de sa « théorie des deux nations », comme un fondement
identitaire, à la fois culturel et territorial. Cette idéologie était donc à l’origine d’une forme de sécularisation originale
qu’ignore la typologie ternaire de Charles Taylor – que ce texte s’attache à tester et à compléter. Par contre, elle
allait de pair avec un certain sécularisme au sens où l’entend Taylor : les deux premières Constitutions du Pakistan
n’érigeaient pas l’islam en religion officielle et garantissaient des droits importants aux minorités. Mais l’approche de
Jinnah ne faisait pas consensus. Les religieux et les fondamentalistes militaient, eux, en faveur d’une islamisation du
pays. Leurs pressions ont porté leurs fruits au début des années 1970, au moment où Z. A. Bhutto instrumentalisait
la religion. La politique d’islamisation de Zia transforma plus encore le droit, le système éducatif et le dispositif
fiscal. Si cette évolution s’est opérée aux dépens du sécularisme, les minorités se retrouvant dans une situation
particulièrement précaire, les années 1980 ont vu Zia poursuivre une politique d’étatisation de l’islam comparable
à celle de ses prédécesseurs – de Jinnah à Ayub Khan – qui l’avaient pourtant mise en oeuvre au nom d’idéologies
différentes. C’est là l’indice d’une forme spécifique de sécularisation qu’on pourrait dire du quatrième type.

Marc-Antoine Pérouse de Montclos

Au Nigeria, la dérive terroriste du mouvement islamiste Boko Haram interroge le rapport de la violence dite « religieuse » à l'État. Cette étude de terrain pose ainsi trois questions fondamentales qui tournent toutes autour de nos propres confusions sur les notions d'islamisation, de conversion, de radicalisation et de politisation du religieux, à savoir :
– S'agit-il d'une insurrection plus religieuse que politique ?
– En quoi exprime-t-elle une révolte sociale ?
– En quoi signale-t-elle une radicalisation des formes de protestation des musulmans du Nord Nigeria ?
À l'analyse, il s'avère en l'occurrence que le mouvement Boko Haram est un révélateur du politique : non parce qu'il est porteur d'un projet de société islamique, mais parce qu'il catalyse les angoisses d'une nation inachevée et dévoile les intrigues d'un pouvoir mal légitimé. Si l'on veut bien admettre que la radicalisation de l'Islam ne se limite pas à des attentats terroristes, il est en revanche difficile de savoir en quoi la secte serait plus extrémiste, plus fanatique et plus mortifère que d'autres révoltes comme le soulèvement Maitatsine à Kano en 1980. La capacité de Boko Haram à développer des ramifications internationales et à interférer dans les affaires gouvernementales n'est pas exceptionnelle en soi. Loin des clichés sur un prétendu choc des civilisations entre le Nord et le Sud, la singularité de la secte au Nigeria s'apprécie d'abord au regard de son recours à des attentats-suicides. Or la dérive terroriste de Boko Haram doit beaucoup à la brutalité de la répression des forces de l'ordre, et pas seulement à des contacts plus ou moins avérés et réguliers avec une mouvance jihadiste internationale.

Après avoir occupé une place modeste au sein des études est-européennes, les travaux consacrés à l’ethnopolitique (ethnopolitics) et aux politiques des minorités en Europe centrale et du sud-est se sont multipliés de manière spectaculaire depuis le début des années 1990. Qu’ils soient nourris par la « transitologie » ou par une abondante littérature consacrée aux « conflits ethniques », ils tendent à envisager, dans une démarche souvent normative, la diversité ethno-culturelle comme un obstacle au processus de démocratisation. Scrutés dans cette perspective, les partis « ethniques » font l’objet d’interprétations duales : si certaines analyses valorisent dans une optique multiculturaliste leurs rôles en tant que vecteurs de participation et d’intégration des groupes minoritaires dans les sociétés politiques, d’autres mettent en avant les effets délétères des processus de partisanisation de l’ethnicité sur la stabilité des Etats et de la démocratie. Informées par des représentations plutôt essentialistes des « groupes », ces lectures des identifications ethniques et de leur jeu en politique mobilisent la notion de « parti ethnique » qui se caractériserait par une extrême altérité, comparé aux organisations dites « généralistes ». A rebours de ces approches, la démarche qui guide la comparaison des trajectoires du Mouvement des droits et libertés en Bulgarie (MDL, défendant les intérêts des Turcs et des autres populations de confession musulmane) et de l’Union démocratique des Magyars de Roumanie (UDMR, organisation représentant les intérêts de la population hongroise) vise à revaloriser une sociologie de l’action collective qui n’occulte pas les historicités des sociétés particulières et restitue les imaginaires sociaux comme les stratégies des acteurs. Ce, afin de montrer les conditions dans lesquelles l’ethnicité devient un vecteur de mobilisation sociale, un instrument de production de loyautés et une ressource de légitimation. Les identités ne sont pas exogènes aux processus de politisation ; elles sont redéfinies, renégociées, réappropriées (notamment) à la faveur du passage au politique. Les « partis ethniques » appellent quant à eux un travail de désexotisation, car ils n’échappent pas aux dilemmes de la représentation politique (en particulier, l’enjeu de la réponse/responsabilité, responsiveness) auxquels sont confrontées les autres formations.