Published in the context of Brexit, this research paper analyses the ‘double relationship’ between Britain and Europe: being ‘in’ by taking part in co-operation with other European states, and at the same time being ‘out’ by staying away from or even leaving multilateral programmes in Europe. This dilemma is worked on from the case of defence procurement policy. How does the British government decide to be both ‘in’ and ‘out’ of Europe by participating in the A400M military transport aircraft programme and withdrawing from the EuroMale UAV programme? Based on exclusive data, the decision in favour of the A400M (‘in’) is explained by the action of political, administrative and industrial actors who perceive the A400M as a ‘truck’ rather than a ‘race car’. As for the British State’s decision not to participate in the EuroMale programme (‘out’), it is conditioned by a weakening of the political will of political actors, and at the same time by a strengthening of conflicting relations between French and British administrations and industries. In doing so, this research contributes to the literature on the acquisition of armaments in strategic studies, and to the literature on differentiated integration in European studies.

The history of industrial capitalism and its modes of domination is intimately linked to that of violent entrepreneurs deploying their coercive resources at the service of workplace discipline, the extraction of surplus value and the securitization of the accumulation cycle. The relationship between capital and coercion is always fraught with tensions, though, and sustains new vulnerabilities among security-consuming elites. The manufacturing economy of Karachi is a particularly fertile ground for studying this endogenous production of insecurity by security devices. The relations between Karachi’s factory owners and their guards have generated their own economy of suspicion. Various attempts to conjure this shaky domination have generated new uncertainties, calling for new methods of control to keep the guards themselves under watch.

Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes de Sciences Po

Amérique latine - L’Année politique is a publication by CERI-Sciences Po’s Political Observatory of Latin America and the Caribbean (OPALC). The study extends the work presented on the Observatory’s website (www.sciencespo.fr/opalc) by offering tools for understanding a continent that is in the grip of deep transformations.

One of the most striking phenomena of China’s recent history is the singular life trajectory of the generation born in large metropolises between the end of the 1940s and the early 1950s. After having endured with full force their country’s upheavals and ruptures after 1949, the people of this generation occupy dominant positions in most sectors of social life today. Yet despite its importance, the history of this generation—who contributed to build what China is today—has not triggered much academic research. The seven life stories presented in this study provide information and a testimony that help understand how these people elaborate a discourse on their personal experience. Analysing this discourse makes it possible to grasp the connections between individual life paths and events as well as social determinations.

Business and politics in India have been closely connected since the colonial era, when entrepreneurs financed politicians who, in exchange, spared them some of the bureaucratic red tape. This proximity has endured after independence, even if Nehru’s official socialism subjected it to some constraints. Far from mitigating corruption, economic liberalization during the 1990s actually amplified it when large investors, attracted by the opening of the Indian market, paid huge bribes to political leaders, who often became businessmen themselves and forced public banks to lend to industrialists close to them, while businessmen were elected to Parliament, increasing insider trading. As it is observed in the modern era under Narendra Modi, be it at the national level and in his state of Gujarat, crony capitalism is well illustrated by Modi’s relationship to Gautam Adani, the rising star of Indian business. Crony capitalism has a financial cost (due to the under-taxation of companies and dubious debts on the banks’ balance sheets), a social cost (due to underpaid work and a reduction of the expenditure of education or health for lack of fiscal resources) and the environment (crony capitalists disregarding the most basic standards).

Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes de Sciences Po

Amérique latine - L’Année politique 2017 est une publication de l’Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (Opalc) du CERI-Sciences Po. Il prolonge la démarche du site www.sciencespo.fr/opalc en offrant des clés de compréhension d’un continent en proie à des transformations profondes.

Anne de Tinguy (dir.)

Looking into Eurasia : the year in politics provides some keys to understand the events and phenomena that have left their imprint on a region that has undergone major mutation since the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991: the post-soviet space. With a cross-cutting approach that is no way claims to be exhaustive, this study seeks to identify the key drivers, the regional dynamics and the underlying issues at stake

Kevin Parthenay

In Latin America, as elsewhere in the world, regional and subregional organizations have multiplied recently. Scholars tend to focus on the variety of regionalisms or their ever changing nature (post-liberal, post-hegemonic...). This study, through a political sociology of regionalism approach, examines Latin American regions and their actors and goes beyond the first set of questions. In this perspective, scrutinizing the regional General Secretaries of the sub-continent is particularly useful to understand how regional powers emerge. With a specific focus on the Southern Common Market (UNSUR), the Common Market of the South (MERCOSUR), the Andean Community of Nations (CAN) and the Central American Integration System (SICA), this research offers a more precise answer to the question of the configuration of power within Latin American regionalisms.

Charlotte Thomas

Armed combatant and leader of the Hizbul Mujahideen Burhan Wani was killed by the Indian Army in July 2016. This killing triggered a new phase of insurgency in Kashmir. In the Valley, the local populace started mobilizing against the Indian State in the name of azadi, (freedom). In such volatile context, the production of the national sentiment of the Kashmiris is documented from a distanciated perspective. Frontiers of the national group are explored from New Delhi, as well as the logics of differentiation and otherification of the Kashmiri group towards the Indian one. Kashmiri nationalism therefore more clearly appears in a negative definition (what a Kashmiri is not) than in a positive definition (what a Kashmiri is). The slight and incremental slip of the meaning of azadi demands is at the heart of Kashmiri nationalism. From an original demand for greater autonomy within the Indian Republic, demands of azadi now refer to the independence of the Valley – yet there are nuances that will be studied. They also convey an utter rejection of “Indianess” whether national or citizen. In that respect, New Delhi’s negating the political aspect of the mobilizations that are taking place in the Kashmir Valley has dramatically fuelled the national sentiment of the Kashmiris. The current insurgency that started in July 2016 has sped up the pace of the process. Despite the escalating tensions in the Valley, New Delhi keeps refusing to consider the political dimension of the local social movements, be they violent or peaceful. That is the reason why, beyond Kashmir and Kashmiris themselves, studying the political demands of the Kashmiri population does shed a light on the functioning of the Indian nation and the Indian state.

Elections have been trivialized in Iran. They allow for the expression of diversity, in particular ethnical and denominational, of historical regional identities, and prove the growing professionalization of political life. Paradoxically, such professionalization withdraws the Republic away into the levels of family, parenthood, autochthony, and even neighborhoods or devotional sociability, which are all institutions that instill a feeling of proximity, solidarity, communion; close to the notion of asabiyat. As the saying goes, the Islamic Republic has become a « parentocracy » (tâyefehsâlâri). The country’s industrial development isn’t at odds with such ponderousness since it lies on a web of very small family businesses. The analysis of the 2016 legislative elections in four wards reveals how important the issue of property is in political life, indivisible as it is of the various particularistic consciences. The connections with notables are still there, revealing lines of continuity with the old regime as well as longstanding agrarian conflicts that have not been erased by the Revolution and that are being kept alive through contemporary elections.

Publiée dans le contexte du Brexit, cette étude analyse la politique d’armement du Royaume-Uni pour éclairer le « double rapport » du Royaume-Uni à l’Europe : être in en prenant part à des coopérations avec d’autres Etats européens, être out en restant éloigné, voire en quittant des programmes multilatéraux en Europe. A partir de données exclusives, elle montre que la participation britannique au programme d’avion de transport militaire A400M résulte d’une stratégie portée par un assemblage d’acteurs politiques, administratifs et industriels qui, percevant l’A400M comme un « camion » plutôt que comme une « voiture de course », utilisent le cadre de coopération européenne pour maintenir le rang de l’industrie de la défense britannique. Quant à la décision de ne pas participer au programme EuroMale, elle découle d’un affaiblissement de la volonté des acteurs politiques et, concomitamment, d’un renforcement des relations conflictuelles entre les administrations et les industries françaises et britanniques. Ce faisant, cette recherche contribue à la littérature sur l’acquisition d’armements par des partenariats internationaux en études stratégiques, et à celle sur l’intégration différenciée en études européennes.

L’histoire du capitalisme industriel et de ses modes de domination est intimement liée à celle d’entrepreneurs de violence déployant leurs ressources coercitives au service de la discipline usinière, de l’extraction de plus-value et de la sécurisation du cycle d’accumulation. Ces rapports capital-coercition débouchent rarement sur un phénomène d’osmose et tendent à susciter de nouvelles vulnérabilités parmi les élites consommatrices de sécurité. L’économie manufacturière de Karachi constitue un terreau particulièrement fertile pour étudier cette production endogène d’insécurité par les dispositifs sécuritaires. Les relations entre le patronat industriel de Karachi et ses gardiens relèvent en effet d’une domination inquiète, dont les tentatives de renforcement ont systématiquement engendré de nouvelles incertitudes, appelant de nouveaux modes de contrôle pour garder les gardiens eux-mêmes.

Anne de Tinguy (dir.)

Regards sur l’Eurasie. L’année politique est une publication annuelle du Centre de recherches internationales de Sciences Po (CERI) dirigée par Anne de Tinguy. Elle propose des clefs de compréhension des événements et des phénomènes qui marquent de leur empreinte les évolutions d’une région, l’espace postsoviétique, en profonde mutation depuis l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique en 1991. Forte d’une approche transversale qui ne prétend nullement à l’exhaustivité, elle vise à identifier les grands facteurs explicatifs, les dynamiques régionales et les enjeux sous-jacents.

Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes de Sciences Po

Amérique latine - L’Année politique 2018 est une publication de l’Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (Opalc) du CERI-Sciences Po. Elle prolonge la démarche du site www.sciencespo.fr/opalc en offrant des clés de compréhension d’un continent en proie à des transformations profondes.

Un des phénomènes les plus frappants de l’histoire récente de la Chine est la trajectoire singulière d’une génération, celle qui est née dans les grandes métropoles entre la fin des années 1940 et le milieu des années 1950. Ses membres ont subi de plein fouet, pour le meilleur et pour le pire, l’ensemble des convulsions et des ruptures qu’a connues le pays depuis 1949, et occupent aujourd’hui les positions dominantes dans la plupart des domaines de la vie sociale. Malgré son importance, l’histoire de cette génération qui a en partie construit la Chine actuelle a fait l’objet de peu de travaux. Les récits de vie de sept de ses représentants constituent une source d’information qui permet de recueillir le point de vue de ces acteurs et de comprendre comment ils élaborent aujourd’hui un discours autour de leur expérience personnelle. L’analyse de ce discours permet de cerner l’interaction des trajectoires individuelles avec les événements et les déterminations sociales.

La proximité entre affaires et politique en Inde date de l’époque coloniale, lorsque les entrepreneurs finançaient les hommes politiques qui, en échange, leur épargnaient certaines des lourdeurs de la bureaucratie. Elle est restée vivace après l’indépendance, même si le socialisme officiel de Nehru l’a soumise à quelques contraintes. La libéralisation économique des années 1990, loin d’atténuer la corruption, l’a amplifiée dès lors que de gros investisseurs, attirés par l’ouverture du marché indien, ont versé d’énormes pots-de-vin aux leaders politiques, qui sont devenus eux-mêmes des hommes d’affaires n’hésitant pas à forcer la main des banques publiques pour qu’elles prêtent à des industriels de leur entourage, tandis que des hommes d’affaires se sont fait élire au Parlement, multipliant les délits d’initiés. Le capitalisme de connivence qu’on observe à l’ère Modi – tant au niveau national que dans son Etat du Gujarat – est bien illustré par sa relation à l’étoile montante du business indien, Gautam Adani. Il a un coût financier (lié à la sous-imposition des entreprises et aux créances douteuses au bilan des banques), social (dû à la sous-rémunération du travail et à une réduction des dépenses d’éducation ou de santé faute de ressources fiscales) et environnemental (les crony capitalists s’affranchissant des normes les plus élémentaires).

Anne de Tinguy (dir.)

Regards sur l’Eurasie. L’année politique est une publication annuelle du Centre de recherches internationales de Sciences Po (Ceri) dirigée par Anne de Tinguy. Elle propose des clefs de compréhension des événements et des phénomènes qui marquent de leur empreinte les évolutions d’une région, l’espace postsoviétique, en profonde mutation depuis l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique en 1991. Forte d’une approche transversale qui ne prétend nullement à l’exhaustivité, elle vise à identifier les grands facteurs explicatifs, les dynamiques régionales et les enjeux sous-jacents.

Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes de Sciences Po

Amérique latine - L’Année politique 2017 est une publication de l’Observatoire politique de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (Opalc) du CERI-Sciences Po. Il prolonge la démarche du site www.sciencespo.fr/opalc en offrant des clés de compréhension d’un continent en proie à des transformations profondes.

Kevin Parthenay

En Amérique latine comme dans le reste du monde, les organisations régionales et sous-régionales se sont récemment multipliées. Les chercheurs s’intéressent principalement à la variété des régionalismes ou à leur nature changeante (post-libérale, post-hégémonique...). Pour aller au-delà de ces questionnements, il faut travailler sur les régions latino-américaines et leurs acteurs à la lumière d’une approche de sociologie politique du régionalisme. L’observation des secrétaires généraux régionaux du sous-continent est précieuse si l’on veut comprendre l’émergence de pouvoirs régionaux. Cette réflexion, qui s’intéresse particulièrement ici à l’Union des nations sud-américaines (Unasur), à la Communauté andine des nations (CAN), au Marché commun du Sud (Mercosur) et au Système d’intégration centraméricaine (Sica) permet d’apporter une réponse plus précise à la question de la configuration du pouvoir dans les régionalismes latino-américains.

Charlotte Thomas

La mort de Burhan Wani, combattant armé leader des Hizbul Mujahideen, a initié en juillet 2016 une nouvelle phase insurrectionnelle au Cachemire, où la population se mobilise contre l’Etat indien en réclamant l’azadi, la liberté. Le détour par New Delhi permet d’étudier le sentiment national des Cachemiris en s’intéressant aux frontières du groupe et aux dynamiques de différenciation par rapport aux Indiens. Le nationalisme cachemiri se définit davantage dans sa dimension négative (ce qu’il n’est pas) que positive (ce qu’il est). Le glissement progressif du contenu des prétentions à l’azadi est également l’un des enjeux du nationalisme cachemiri. D’abord demande de respect de l’autonomie politique du Jammu-et-Cachemire au sein de la République indienne, l’azadi signifie désormais l’indépendance du territoire cachemiri. Les revendications des Cachemiris traduisent de surcroît un fort rejet de l’affiliation nationale et citoyenne indienne, nourri par la négation de la dimension nationaliste de la lutte des Cachemiris opposée par New Delhi. L’insurrection en cours semble avoir encore accéléré ce processus, d’autant qu’aucune solution politique impliquant l’ensemble des parties prenantes au conflit n’est envisagée. Au-delà de la question du Cachemire, c’est le fonctionnement de la démocratie et de la nation indiennes qu’éclaire l’étude du nationalisme cachemiri.