Les cahiers du CERIPremière collection de Working Papers du CERI (1992-1998), accessible en ligne dans son intégralité.

 

 

 

 

 

 

20
 - 1998
Culturalisation des différences, différenciation des cultures dans la politique belge

Marco Martiniello

The text deals with the issue of the uses of images of cultural difference and specificity in the so-called "communitarian conflict" in Belgium. More generally, it adresses the issue of the complex relation between political identities and culture as well as the meaning of these two notions in the processes of political construction of ethnicity and of the nation. Five points are developed. Firstly, the long history of the "communitarian conflict" is reminded. Secondly, it is shown that images of cultural and identity specificity have always been politically exploited in this conflict. Thirdly, the hypothesis according to wich the federalisation process of the State has revealed a deep change in the shape of the "communitarian conflict" is presented. Fourthly , it is shown that the identity and cultural items politically used in the conflict are not the same whether groups are engaged in ethnicity politics or nationalist politics. Provisional conclusions about the future of Belgium are drawn in fifth point
19
 - 1998
Démocratie et représentation politique en Bulgarie
The January 1997 popular protest in Bulgaria revealed how fragile representative democracy's legitimacy is likely to be in post-communist regimes. An often underlooked item in the transitologists' studies on Eastern Europe, political representation thus provides a vantage point for monitoring the process of democratic consolidation. By adopting political linkage as the conceptual focus of our investigation, we way attempt to elucidate the ways in wich the relationship between the rulers and the ruled develops and consequently unveils factors conducive to the routinisation of a democratic political relationship. The approach adopted her entails an emphasis on the social imaginaries of representation with a view to to identifying citizens' expectations about their appointees as well as the symbolic and material bases interactions between voters and representatives build upon. In a country where the differentiation of economic interests and their channeling by political parties where hampered by the slow pace of structural reforms, political linkages are not primarily grounded upon the voters' rational assessment of their preferences. Rather they tend to be rooted in social representations of politics. While being relegated into a distant sphere of corrupted and particularistic otherness, politics is nonetheless supposed to meet essentially clientelistic expectations. In a context where deputies enjoy a poor institutional legitimacy, any failure to guarantee social and ecnomic redistribution threatens the representational linkage with distruption.
18
 - 1997
L'"affaire Rushdie". Protestation mondiale et communauté d'interprétation,

Emilie René

The concept of "world community" is nowadays very commonly employed by researchers dealing with the social aspects of globalization. At the same time, the words "islam" and "umma" -be they used by medias, politicians or scholars- have sometimes assumed the existence of such a community which is supposed to link all Muslims wherever they live. This kind of approach was strongly revived during the "Rushdie affair": the transnational dimension of the protest against the writer and the very content of ayatollah Khomeini's fatwa furthered it.The starting point of this paper is to take the "world community" postulate at its word. What are we talking about ? Who speaks about it ? Under what circumstances and from which places ? How the limits of this concept can be established, or rather how can it be constructed by the observer to become useful ? These questions are addressed by examining the early stage of the anti-Rushdie protest in its worldwide dimension. It is suggested that an analysis of the understandings and strategies of the mobilized groups, of their symbolic and concrete transnational interactions, as well as a comparison between the social and political national contexts, help to identify the "interpretive community" which was formed at this juncture.
17
 - 1997
Cultures populaires, identités et politique

Bennetta Jules-Rosette et Denis-Constant Martin

Popular culture is a terrain on which social identity and collective representations are forged. Recently, scholars in the areas of anthropology, cultural studies, political science, and literature have approached the social and political implications of popular culture from contrasting perspectives. These approaches have opened up a number of important questions and debates. Is popular culture a product of resistance or a source of escape? Are the mixtures, fusions, and combinations that characterize popular culture today emblems of identity, signs of an inevitable process of globalization, or by-products of complex processes drawing upon the dialectics of universalization and discourses of contestation ? This paper addresses these questions by examining theories of the production, reception, and consumption of popular culture in comparative perspective. It explores the structures of signification that arise in the transmission of popular culture and the complexities and ambivalences involved in the cycle of communication. Popular culture is analyzed as a permeable system of significations based on memory, and providing material for the construction and expression of collective identity, and contrasting attitudes towards power. An overview of recent theoretical and methodological developments is followed by a comparative analysis of data drawn from popular art and music in Africa, the Antilles, Europe, India, Latin America, and the Unites States. In conclusion, new theoretical directions are suggested in order to reassess the implications of empirical studies in the field.
16
 - 1996
Groupes de solidarité au Moyen-Orient

Olivier Roy

One of the causes of the weakness of the State in the Middle East is that prime allegiance goes to the "solidarity group" (açabiyya), a social network which is always founded on family and personal relationships. These solidarity groups either are committed to a national strategy in order to control the State or, on the contrary, become delocalised and internationalised within diasporas which create their own transnational networks. Solidarity groups are not the expression of the permanence of a traditional society within a modern State, but rather a recomposition of allegiance networks within a political space definitively modified by the existence of a State. This recomposition can take three main forms. Firstly territorial establishment and the development of a community within sub-ethnic groups competing for power: the Kulabis in Tajikistan for example. Secondly the delocalisation of power networks which fade away once their objective, the obtaining of State power, is achieved (the Samarkand faction in Uzbekistan). Finally it can be achieved by the linking to an international network, for example that of humanitarian aid. These different types of recomposition do not weaken the State as such, which remains the framework of any possible inscription in the political space. But they do hinder the transition towards an ethnic State which can function only when it is built from above: thus Uzbekistan exists - not Baluchistan.
15
 - 1996
L'historicité de l'Etat importé
The state in Africa and in Asia is often conceived of as a "purely imported product" to use the accepted expression of Bertrand Badie and Pierre Birnbaum. However rather than limit ourselves to accounts of some kind of "failed universalisation", questions should rather be raised concerning state creation as a historical process, one which is conflictual, unintentional, generally unconscious and, as a result, often paradoxical. Indeed the argument that the state is fundamentally extraneous cannot be maintained in the light of recent historical and anthropological research. From this research it would seem that institutions of European origin have acquired their own social roots and have become culturally appropriated. They thus must be examined within the "long term" time framework suggested by Braudel, on condition that certain methodological precautions are taken into account.Three ways can be envisaged for reconstituting the historical trajectories of the state in Africa and Asia: as a continuous civilisational process, as expressions of social inequality or cultural configurations of politics. However while an understanding of cultural historicity is a precondition for understanding political historicity it should not, with all due respect to intellectual trendmakers, lead to culturalist explanations. Foucault's concept of gouvernementalité provides a more promising problematic, one which places the creation of the state in relationship to the process of ascribing it with a subjective quality as well as the imaginary dimension of politics. Both of these have to be grasped within their connection to the material.
14
 - 1996
Le temps mondial. Enchaînements, disjonctions édiations

Zaki Laïdi

World time represents a special moment in history when human societies experience the common feeling that they are renegociating at an accelerated pace their relationship with both time and space. The overriding impression is encapsulated in the idea that a new global dynamic exists consisting of intertwined events and unprecedented situations which prompts us to believe and to think collectively that nothing will remain as before. This situation can be conceptualized as the interaction of, on the one hand, the geopolitical and cultural consequences of the post Cold War environment and, on the other, the speeding up of globalization processes at the economic, social and cultural levels. In the post Cold War context the collective imagination is impinged upon by the loss of communal points of references, of the alignments, dogmas and tne diplomatic/strategic conflicts enscribed within a State-centred framework. Secondly, the imagined world of globalization involves a broadening of the referential space for individuals, companies and social actors generally. Finally world time both links and merges two fundamental dimensions, namely globalization and the end of the Cold War dichotomy, thus producing an articulation between a borderless world and a world without clearly defined reference points.

Les cahiers du CERIPremière collection de Working Papers du CERI (1992-1998), accessible en ligne dans son intégralité.

 

 

 

 

 

 

20
 - 1998
Culturalisation des différences, différenciation des cultures dans la politique belge

Marco Martiniello

Ce cahier aborde la question de l'utilisation d'images de la différence et de la spécificité culturelles dans le "conflit communautaire" en Belgique. Par ce biais, l'interrogation porte sur la relation complexe entre identité politique et culture ainsi que sur la place de ces deux notions dans les processus de construction politique de l'ethnicité et de la nation. L'argumentation est développée en cinq points. Premièrement, l'ancienneté du "conflit communautaire" est rappelée. Deuxièmement, on montre que des images de la spécificité culturelle et identitaire ont toujours été politiquement exploitées dans ce conflit. Troisièmement, l'hypothèse suivant laquelle le processus de fédéralisation de l'Etat a révélé un changement profond de l'aspect du "conflit communautaire" est développée. Quatrièmement, on montre que les marqueurs culturels et identitaires utilisés politiquement dans le conflit varient selon que l'on se situe dans une politique de l'ethnicité ou dans une politique des nationalismes. Cinquièmement, des conclusions provisoires sont tirées quant à l'avenir de la Belgique.
19
 - 1998
Démocratie et représentation politique en Bulgarie
La contestation populaire de janvier 1997 en Bulgarie a mis en évidence les difficultés que pouvait rencontrer la légitimation, en régime postcommuniste, d'une pratique représentative de la démocratie. Thème peu exploré dans les travaux de transitologie est-européenne, la représentation politique constitue pourtant un site d'observation privilégié des processus de consolidation démocratique. Interrogée à partir de la notion de lien représentatif, elle invite en effet à élucider les modalités de développement des interactions entre dirigeants et dirigés et corrélativement les conditions de routinisation d'une relation politique démocratique. L'approche adoptée ici suppose une attention particulière aux imaginaires sociaux de la représentation en vue d'identifier les attentes des citoyens ainsi que les supports, symboliques et matériels, des rapports qu'ils entretiennent avec leurs élus. Dans un pays où la lenteur des réformes de structure a retardé la différenciation d'intérêts économiques susceptibles d'une prise en charge partisane, le lien représentatif ne saurait pour l'heure être fondé sur un calcul de préférences rationnel. Il s'enracinerait plutôt dans des représentations sociales du politique qui, tout en le reléguant dans une sphère d'étrangeté corrompue et particulariste, l'érigent en point focal d'attentes clientélaires. Dans un contexte où la légitimité institutionnelle des députés demeure faible, tout échec à garantir la permanence de flux de redistribution économique et sociale fait alors peser la menace d'une rupture du lien représentatif.
18
 - 1997
L'"affaire Rushdie". Protestation mondiale et communauté d'interprétation,

Emilie René

Le concept de "communauté mondiale" est aujourd'hui le passage presque obligé de toute analyse des manifestations sociales de la mondialisation. Parallèlement et de façon privilégiée - dans un usage médiatique, politique ou savant -, l'emploi des mots "islam" ou "umma" tend à impliquer l'existence d'une telle communauté qui lierait les musulmans du monde entier. L' "affaire Rushdie" a été l'occasion d'un retour en force de ce type de lecture : le caractère transnational de la mobilisation contre l'écrivain et les termes mêmes de la fatwa de l'imam Khomeyni appelant à son exécution y ont contribué.Le point de départ de cet essai est de prendre la présomption de la "communauté musulmane mondiale" au mot. De quoi et d'où parle-t-on ? Comment cerner les contours de cet objet, ou plutôt comment le construire afin de le rendre opératoire ? Pour répondre, on examine ici les débuts de la mobilisation mondiale contre Rushdie. La grille de lecture proposée se concentre sur la reconstitution des imaginaires et des stratégies d'acteur, des interactions concrètes et symboliques ainsi que des contextes nationaux spécifiques qui permettent d'identifier la "communauté d'interprétation" qui s'est alors constituée.
17
 - 1997
Cultures populaires, identités et politique

Bennetta Jules-Rosette et Denis-Constant Martin

La culture populaire est un terrain sur lequel s'élaborent l'identité sociale et les représentations collectives. Diverses recherches récentes en anthropologie, études culturelles, science politique ou littérature se sont penchées sur ses implications sociales et politiques. Ces différentes approches posent des questions nouvelles et ouvrent un débat. La culture populaire est-elle résistance ou échappatoire ? Les mélanges, fusions et combinaisons qui la caractérisent sont-ils des emblèmes identaires, les marques de l'inéluctable mondialisation ou les sous-produits de processus complexes impliquant dialectique de l'universalisation et discours de contestation?Pour répondre, les auteurs examinent dans une perspective théorique comparative la production, la réception et la consommation de la culture populaire. Ils explorent les structures de signification que suscite sa transmission et les complexités et ambivalences du cycle de la communication. La culture populaire est analysée comme un système perméable de significations, fondé sur la mémoire, fournissant de quoi construire et exprimer l'identité collective et produisant des attitudes contrastées vis-à-vis du pouvoir.Après un survol des développements théoriques et méthodologiques récents, les auteurs procèdent à une analyse comparative à partir d'éléments pris dans les arts et la musique populaires d'Afrique, des Antilles, d'Europe, d'Inde, d'Amérique latine et des Etats-Unis. En conclusion, ils suggèrent des pistes théoriques en vue de réévaluer les implications des études empiriques.
16
 - 1996
Groupes de solidarité au Moyen-Orient

Olivier Roy

Une des causes de la faiblesse de l'Etat au Moyen-Orient est que l'allégeance primordiale va au "groupe de solidarité" (açabiyya), un réseau fondé, quelle qu'en soit la base sociologique, sur des relations familiales et personnelles. Ces groupes de solidarité s'engagent soit dans une stratégie nationale de contrôle de l'Etat, soit au contraire se délocalisent et s'internationalisent dans le cadre des diasporas qui créent des réseaux transnationaux. Les groupes de solidarité ne sont pas l'expression de la permanence d'une société traditionnelle dans un Etat moderne, mais une recomposition de réseaux d'allégeances dans un espace politique et territorial définitivement modifié par le fait de l'Etat.La recomposition peut se marquer par la territorialisation et la communautarisation de groupes infra-ethniques en compétition pour le pouvoir (Koulabis du Tadjikistan) ou bien par la délocalisation de réseaux de pouvoir qui s'effacent en apparence derrière leur objet, le pouvoir d'Etat (la faction de Samarcande en Ouzbékistan) ou bien au contraire par le branchement du groupe de solidarité sur un réseau international (aide humanitaire). Ces formes de recomposition affaiblissent non pas l'Etat, cadre de toute inscription dans l'espace politique, mais le passage à l'Etat ethnique, qui ne fonctionne que lorsqu'il est construit par en haut : l'Ouzbékistan existe, pas le Baloutchistan
15
 - 1996
L'historicité de l'Etat importé

Jean-François Bayart

L'Etat en Afrique et en Asie est volontiers considéré comme un "pur produit d'importation", selon l'expression désormais classique de Bertrand Badie et Pierre Birnbaum. Mais plutôt que de nous en tenir au constat d'une "universalisation manquée", il convient de nous interroger sur la formation de l'Etat en tant que processus historique conflictuel, involontaire, largement inconscient et de ce fait souvent paradoxal. En effet la thèse de son extranéité radicale ne résiste pas aux acquis les plus récents de l'histoire et de l'anthropologie. Les institutions d'origine européenne disposent d'une base sociale propre et ont fait l'objet d'une appropriation culturelle. Elles doivent être comprises à la lumière de la "longue durée" chère à Braudel, moyennant certaines précautions méthodologiques. L'on peut envisager trois manières de restituer les trajectoires historiques de l'Etat en Afrique et en Asie : en tant que continuités civilisationelles, scénarios de l'inégalité sociale ou configurations culturelles du politique. Mais si la compréhension de l'historicité culturelle conditionne celle de l'historicité politique, elle ne peut pour autant consister en un retour à l'explication culturaliste, n'en déplaise aux faiseurs de modes intellectuelles. Le concept foucaldien de "gouvernementalité" offre une problématique comparative autrement plus fructueuse qui met la formation de l'Etat en relation avec le processus de subjectivation et la dimension de l'imaginaire politique, saisis dans leur rapport à la matérialité.
14
 - 1996
Le temps mondial. Enchaînements, disjonctions édiations

Zaki Laïdi

Le temps mondial constitue un moment privilégié où les sociétés humaines nourrissent le sentiment collectif de renégocier, sur le mode de l'accélération, leur rapport au temps et à l'espace. Ce qu'il dégage avant tout, c'est l'idée qu'il existe une nouvelle dynamique du monde faite d'enchaînements de faits et de situations inédites qui incitent à croire et à penser collectivement que rien ne sera plus comme avant. Il peut se définir comme l'interaction des conséquences géopolitiques et culturelles de l'après guerre froide avec l'accélération des processus de mondialisation économique, sociale et culturelle.L'imaginaire de la fin de la guerre froide est celui de la perte des repères collectifs, des alignements, des dogmes et des conflits diplomatico-stratégiques cerclés par des Etats. L'imaginaire de la mondialisation est celui de l'élargissement de l'espace de référence des individus, des entreprises et des acteurs sociaux en général. L'imaginaire du temps mondial est celui qui croise en les enchaînant ces deux dimensions, produisant ainsi une articulation entre un monde sans frontières (la mondialisation) et un monde sans repères (la fin de la guerre froide).