Kennedy, Duncan

On December 7, 2011, Sciences Po granted the award doctorate honoris causa to Duncan Kennedy, professor at the Harvard Law School, whose application was supported by the Law School.

After earning a degree in economics at the University of Harvard, Duncan Kennedy pursued legal studies at Yale University and earned his diploma in 1970. The following year he became a law clerk at the Supreme Court, and in 1971 he joined the Harvard Law School, where in 1996 he obtained the prestigious post Carter Professor of General Jurisprudence.

Since the early 1970s and his first often polemic writings, Duncan Kennedy has exercised a profound influence on the evolution of American juridical thought and its teaching methods.

He was first recognized as a founder of the Critical Legal Studies movement, whose principle objective was to contest the claim of political neutrality and consistency of law.

After more than forty years of often passionate debates about his ideas, he is recognized as the author of texts now considered classics in world legal literature on the history of legal thought (with works on the crossed interests of both sides of the Atlantic), the economic analysis of law (but one analysis resolutely heterodox), the links between law and literary theory, gender studies (he was the first to publish works on queer law), legal reasoning, the protection of rights by judges, and finally legal globalization (he was first to propose the general theory).

A prolific and innovative writer, often inspired by French philosophers, Duncan Kennedy is also an educator who has influenced generations of students from around the world and an intellectual who has in recent years shaped public interventions and the foreign policy of the United States.

His laudation was delivered by Christophe Jamin, The Sciences Po Law School director.

For more information :

Publications

Among his notable works are :

  • Legal Education and the Reproduction of Hierachy (1973) ;
  • The Rise and Fall of Classical Legal Thought (1975) ;
  • Sexy Dressing etc. (1993) ;
  • A Critique of Adjudication (1997) ;
  • Legal Reasoning, Collected Essays (2008).

Kennedy, Duncan

Le 7 décembre 2011, Sciences Po a remis un diplome de docteur honoris causa à Monsieur Duncan Kennedy, Professeur à la faculté de droit de l'Université Harvard dont la candidature a été portée par l'École de droit.

Diplômé d'économie de l'université Harvard au milieu des années 1960, Duncan Kennedy poursuit des études de droit à l'université Yale dont il est diplômé en 1970. Nommé law clerk à la Cour suprême l'année suivante, il rejoint dès 1971 la faculté de droit de l'Université Harvard dont il obtient en 1996 la prestigieuse chaire Carter de general jurisprudence.

Dès le début des années 1970 et ses premiers écrits souvent polémiques, Duncan Kennedy a exercé une très profonde influence sur l'évolution de la pensée juridique américaine et son enseignement.

Il fut d'abord reconnu comme l'un des fondateurs du mouvement des Critical Legal Studies qui avait pour principal objectif de contester la prétention à la neutralité politique et à la cohérence du droit.

Après plus de quarante années de débats souvent passionnés autour de ses idées, il est aujourd'hui reconnu comme l'auteur de textes devenus des classiques de la littérature juridique mondiale sur l'histoire de la pensée juridique (avec des travaux portant sur les influences croisées entre les deux rives de l'Atlantique), l'analyse économique du droit (mais une analyse résolument hétérodoxe), les liens entre droit et théorie littéraire, les gender studies (il a publié les premiers travaux de queer law), le raisonnement juridique, la production du droit par les juges ou encore la globalisation juridique (dont il a proposé la première théorie générale).

Auteur d'une oeuvre foisonnante et novatrice, souvent inspirée par des philosophes français dont il est un excellent connaisseur, Duncan Kennedy est encore un immense pédagogue qui a marqué plusieurs générations d'étudiants en provenance du monde entier et un intellectuel qui a multiplié ces dernières années les interventions publiques, plus spécialement sur la politique internationale des États-Unis.

Sa laudatio a été prononcée par Christophe Jamin, Directeur de l'École de droit de Sciences Po.

Pour en savoir plus :

Publications

Parmi ses ouvrages, on retiendra en particulier :

  • Legal Education and the Reproduction of Hierachy (1973) ;
  • The Rise and Fall of Classical Legal Thought (1975) ;
  • Sexy Dressing etc. (1993) ;
  • A Critique of Adjudication (1997) ;
  • Legal Reasoning, Collected Essays (2008).