Le Havre campus

  • Le Havre campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloLe Havre campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Lecture course in amphitheater ©Martin ArgyrogloLecture course in amphitheater ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in a classroom ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in a classroom ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Campus lobby ©Martin ArgyrogloCampus lobby ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Table tennis match ©Martin ArgyrogloTable tennis match ©Martin Argyroglo
  •  Student playing piano in the lobby ©Martin Argyroglo Student playing piano in the lobby ©Martin Argyroglo

Open Day 2017

Come and discover the Le Havre campus, Saturday, 25 November 2017See the programme (fr.)

The Le Havre campus is Sciences Po's Europe-Asia campus, established in 2007.

A regional concentration on Asia and the Pacific

In conjunction with the multidisciplinary programme in the social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College, students are able to focus on the political, geopolitical and economic issues of the Asia-Pacific region, in a comparative perspective with Europe.

Through this English-language programme, students are introduced to the history, economies, societies and philosophical and artistic approaches of the various countries of Asia and the Pacific, from India to Japan and from China to Australia. The issues addressed (political violence, growth and sustainable development, influence of Confucianism, etc.) allow students to familiarise themselves with Asia—a continent with a multi-millennial history and the economic hub of the future—through the lens of the social sciences and humanities, and in comparison with Europe.

Students can study several of the region’s languages including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Indonesian, as well as taking French as a Foreign Language courses for students who do not have a B1-equivalent level.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Le Havre campus accommodates around 300 students, more than 65 percent of whom are from outside France. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year outside France studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities or with a dual degree.

Campus life is also kept vibrant by the vast range of clubs and associations on offer and many events throughout the year. Students are able to initiate and take part in debates, conferences, study trips, and sports and cultural events, giving them a strong sense of empowerment. They are also encouraged to get involved in initiatives focused on the local community and citizen engagement.

Thanks to the small class sizes, students on the Dijon campus enjoy very close attention from the faculty for both their studies and extra-curricular activities.

Le Havre, a maritime city with a global outlook

Located in Normandy, just two hours by train from Paris, Le Havre is France's biggest port. It is historically linked to Asia as the entry point for Asian products arriving in France.

As well as being the birthplace of Impressionism, Le Havre is a site of exceptional urban and architectural interest thanks to the reconstruction of the city centre by Auguste Perret after WWII. This heritage has been included on UNESCO's World Heritage List since 2005.

The city of Le Havre has a vibrant cultural and sports scene for its 11,000 students to enjoy. Le Volcan national theatre (fr.), the modern art museum (MuMa), the natural history musem (fr.), the Oscar Niemeyer library (fr.), concert venue Le Tétris (fr.), the Océane stadium and the seaside offer boundless opportunities for entertainment and cultural discovery.

Located at the entrance to the port, the Le Havre campus stands out for its all-glass architecture and the lightvessel moored directly opposite. The building's construction was made possible by support from the local authorities (Le Havre City Council, CODAH and Normandy Regional Council). All facilities (student residences, sports facilities, etc.) are nearby, offering students an ideal study environment.

Campus du Havre

  • Entrée du campus du Havre avec le bateau phare ©Martin ArgyrogloEntrée du campus du Havre avec le bateau phare ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants pendant un cours magistral en amphithéâtre ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants pendant un cours magistral en amphithéâtre ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans une salle de cours ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans une salle de cours ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Salle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin ArgyrogloSalle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans le hall d'accueil du campus ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans le hall d'accueil du campus ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Match de tennis de table dans le foyer ©Martin ArgyrogloMatch de tennis de table dans le foyer ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiante jouant du piano dans le hall ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiante jouant du piano dans le hall ©Martin Argyroglo

Créé en 2007, le campus du Havre est le campus euro-asiatique de Sciences Po.

Une spécialisation géographique centrée sur l’Asie et le Pacifique

Dans le cadre de la formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, les étudiants ont la possibilité d’approfondir les enjeux politiques, géopolitiques et économiques du continent asiatique, dans une perspective comparatiste avec l’Europe.

En suivant ce cursus anglophone, les étudiants bénéficient d'une introduction à l'histoire, aux économies, aux sociétés et aux approches philosophiques et artistiques des différents pays d'Asie et du Pacifique, de l'Inde au Japon, de la Chine à l'Australie. Les problématiques abordées (violence politique, croissance et développement durable, influence du confucianisme, entre autres) permettent aux étudiants de se familiariser avec un continent asiatique, riche d'une histoire pluri-millénaire et pôle économique de demain, par le prisme des sciences sociales et des humanités.

Les étudiants peuvent également étudier les langues de la zone géographique telles que le chinois, le japonais, le coréen, et l’indonésien, tout en suivant des cours de français langue étrangère pour les étudiants ne disposant pas d’un niveau équivalent à B1.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus du Havre accueille environ 300 étudiants sur site, dont plus de 65% sont internationaux. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus, qui se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études à l’étranger dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po ou par un double diplôme.

La vie sur le campus est également riche des divers engagements associatifs proposés et de nombreuses manifestations qui y sont organisées. Pleinement responsabilisés, les étudiants participent à l’animation de débats, de conférences, de rencontres sportives et culturelles, etc. Les étudiants sont par ailleurs encouragés à s’engager dans des actions tournées vers la communauté locale et l’engagement citoyen.

Du fait de promotions restreintes, les étudiants du campus bénéficient d’un fort encadrement de la part de l’équipe pédagogique, sur le plan des études et de la vie associative.

Le Havre, une métropole maritime ouverte sur le monde

Ville située en Normandie, à seulement 2h en train de Paris, Le Havre est le premier port français, historiquement lié à l’Asie comme point d’entrée des produits asiatiques en France.  

Lieu de naissance de l’impressionnisme, c’est aussi un site urbanistique et architectural exceptionnel grâce à la reconstruction du centre ville par Auguste Perret après la seconde guerre mondiale. Ce patrimoine est inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 2005.

Appréciée par les 11 000 étudiants de la ville, la cité havraise est dotée d'une scène culturelle et sportive. Le Volcan scène nationale, le Musée d'art moderne (MuMa), le Musée d'histoire naturelle, la Bibliothèque Oscar Niemeyer, mais aussi la salle de concert Le Tétris, le Stade océane, et le bord de mer, sont autant de lieux de découvertes.

Localisé à l’entrée du port, le campus du Havre se distingue par son architecture tout en verre et par la présence du bateau-feu amarré juste en face. La construction du bâtiment a été rendue possible grâce au soutien des collectivités locales (Ville du Havre, CODAH et Région Normandie). Les équipements (résidences étudiantes, équipements sportifs, etc.) se trouvent tous à proximité, pour offrir aux étudiants un cadre privilégié pour leurs études.