PhD Students

Since the creation of LIEPP, doctoral research has been a structuring part of the laboratory's activity in its training mission. The LIEPP offers doctoral students from Sciences Po and the University of Paris, whatever their disciplines and methods, a young research workshop. This workshop is a tool for interdisciplinary dialogue between doctoral students whose work has an impact on public action. The LIEPP has had the opportunity to finance the theses of many doctoral students and to welcome affiliated doctoral students who have nourished and advanced knowledge in the different research areas and, more broadly, in the evaluation of public policies. The young researchers and doctoral students affiliated to LIEPP have been rewarded for the quality of their work.

Thesis in progress

Doctoral fellow in economics, CY Cergy Paris Université / LIEPP affiliate

Julien Blasco is an INSEE administrator and a PhD Candidate in Economics at CY Cergy Paris Université under the supervision of Clément Carbonnier. His work focuses on monetary inequality, poverty and material deprivation in France and abroad. He also evaluates the impact of socio-fiscal policies and redistribution on these subjects. He was an intern at LIEPP during the summer of 2017, then joined LIEPP as a Junior Policy Fellow in July 2018. His current projects relate to the  impact of consumption taxes on inequality around the world and to the dynamics of income inequality in France.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Sociology, OSC / LIEPP affiliate

Mathéa Boudinet gets her master's degree in sociology at Sciences Po in 2019. She signs a doctoral contract with the Observatoire Sociologique du Changement in 2019, and starts her PhD under the supervision of Anne Revillard. Her thesis focuses on the way employment policies are aimed for and mobilised by disabled women in France. Mathéa Boudinet studies the construction of theses policies by street-level bureaucrats and the way they are perceived by disabled women. She uses both qualitative and quantitative methods.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Sociology, OSC / LIEPP affiliate

After 8 months as a research assistant at the LIEPP during her gap year, Laudine resumes her Master 2 in Cognitive Sciences at ENS (PSL) in 2020-2021. The same year, she obtains a doctoral contract at the Observatoire Sociologique du Changement (Sciences Po). Since her undergraduate studies, she has been passionate about transdisciplinarity and is currently working on a thesis between Sociology and Cognitive Sciences under the supervision of Carlo Barone (OSC, Sciences Po) and Coralie Chevallier (LNCC, ENS). Her research focuses on inequalities in access to daycare centers, their link with public policies and their impact on the cognitive development of young children. She uses both qualitative and quantitative methods.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Economics, Sciences Po Departement of Economics / LIEPP affiliate

Edgard Dewitte is a PhD candidate in Economics at SciencesPo, working on a thesis entitled "Essays on the Economics of Democracy" under the supervision of Julia Cagé. His research explores issues at the crossroad of Political Economy and Economic History, with insights from Behavioral and Environmental Economics. He holds a master's degree in Anthropology & Development from the London School of Economics, and BAs in Business Engineering (Solvay), Philosophy and Anthropology from Université Libre de Bruxelles 

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Sociology, OSC / LIEPP affiliate

After graduating from the Master in Sociology and Social Research at the University of Trento, Marta began her PhD in sociology at the OSC and LIEPP laboratories under the supervision of Carlo Barone. Her study focuses on the relationship between economic instability and early skills development. Using the longitudinal study ELFE, first, she will assess the descriptive patterns of this relation and how they differ by parental social position. Second, she will investigate the mechanisms that account for this link, in order to facilitate the design of future public policies.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in sociology, LIEPP/OSC

Graduated from the Master in Economic and Social Sciences at Bocconi University in 2016, Federico joined the LIEPP and the Observatoire Sociologique du Changement (OSC) in September 2017, where he is pursuing his PhD in Sociology under the supervision of Emanuele Ferragina. In his dissertation, Federico explores the relations between labour market outsiderness and informal care regimes in Europe.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Economics at KU Leuven / LIEPP affiliate

 

Hélène is a PhD in Economics candidate at KU Leuven. She is mainly interested in the interconnection between firms' structural organisation and productivity with a particular focus on the importance of management diversity for innovation and growth. Her thesis is jointly supervised by Prof. Jan de Loecker (KU Leuven) and Prof. Philippe Aghion (LSE, Collège de France). 

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Sociology, OSC / LIEPP affiliate

After studies in social sciences at the ENSAE and the ENS Cachan, Olivier Monso joined the National Institute of Statistics and Economic Studies, then in 2011 the Education Ministerial Statistical Department. He is expert in the analysis of educational inequalities. He is involved in several studies on the comparison between public and private sector, social segregation and territorial inequalities in education. He also works on building methodological tools for studying and managing the educational system.  

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in Economics, Sciences Po Departement of Economics / LIEPP affiliate

Pierre Villedieu is a PhD student in Economics at Sciences Po under the supervision of Pierre Cahuc. His research interests center mainly on labor economics and in particular on the study of discrimination in hiring. After joining the ENS of Cachan in the Economics and Management department in 2013, he continued his studies at the ENSAE, specializing in quantitative analysis methods. He holds an engineering degree from ENSAE as well as a master's degree in economics from the University of Paris-Saclay.

Read more...

Doctoral fellow in political science, LIEPP/CEE

Paulus Wagner’s research at LIEPP-Sciences Po focuses on connections between changes in welfare regimes and voting for radical and populist political parties amongst « advanced liberal democracies » during the 2010s. 

Read more...

Thesis completed

Deputy Head of Local Taxation and Endowments, Finance and Purchasing Department at the City of Paris

PhD in political science (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in January 2017)

Camille Allé is currently Deputy Head of Local Taxation and Endowments, Finance and Purchasing Department at the City of Paris

Read more...

Postdoctoral Fellow, APCLIMPTER project, Centre Emile Durkheim

PhD in sociology, LIEPP/CSO (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in September 2020)

 

Alexis Aulagnier has a PhD in sociology. He was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/CSO from 2015 to 2018 and he defended his thesis "Réduire sans contraindre. Le gouvernement des pratiques agricoles à l'épreuve des pesticides" under the supervision of Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier and Jean-Noël Jouzel in September 2020.

Read more...

PhD in Sociology, OSC / LIEPP affiliate

Célia completed a PhD in Sociology at the OSC and LIEPP laboratories, under the supervision of Anne Revillard and Philippe Coulangeon. Her research focuses on the measures and mechanisms of social inequalities, particularly those related to disability and gender. In her thesis, defended in January 2022, she combines an exploitation of the French Employment Survey and a campaign of semi-structured interviews to analyze the social positions allocated in France to various subpopulations with disabilities, in comparison with able-bodied people. From February 2022, she begins a one-year contract at the Mission pour la place des femmes at the CNRS as head of gender inequality surveys. 

Read more...

Research fellow at the National Institute of Demographic Studies (INED)

PhD in sociology (thesis finaned by LIEPP and defended in December 2019)

Louise Caron has a PhD in sociology. He was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/OSC from 2015 to 2018 and she defended her thesis "De l’immigration permanente aux migrations circulaires. L’expérience de la (re)migration dans les trajectoires individuelles en France" under the supervision of Mirna Safi in December 2019. 

Read more...

Assistant professor at University of Cergy-Pontoise

Ph. D. in economics, (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in February 2017)  

Guillaume Chapelle is an assistant professor at the University of Cergy-Pontoise. 

Read more...

Economist, Banque de France

PhD in economics, (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in October 2018)

Jean-Benoit Eyméoud is economist at Banque de France and fellow at LIEPP SciencesPo. He received his PhD in November 2018 from SciencesPo. He has a PhD in sociology. He was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/Département d'économie de Sciences from 2015 to 2018 and he defended his thesis "Housing and Discrimination in Economics: an Empirical Approach using Big Data and Natural Experiments" under the supervision of Etienne Wasmer in October 2018.

Read more...

Education Policy Analyst and Project Manager at OECD Directorate for Education and Skills

Doctor in Economics (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in 2017)

Pierre Gouëdard is currently an analyst at the OECD Directorate for Education and Skills.

Read more...

Postdoctoral fellow, ANR project Organizations in Crisis (CrisOrg) at CSO

PhD in sociology, LIEPP/CSO (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in March 2021)

 

Anne Moyal has a PhD in sociology. She was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/CSO from 2015 to 2018 and she defended her thesis "Une liberté sous contraintes ? Rationalisation des pratiques des professionnels libéraux de soins primaires en maisons de santé pluriprofessionnelles en France" under the supervision of Henri Bergeron in March 2021. 

Read more...

Economist at the Central Bank of Luxembourg

PhD in Economics (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in 2020)

Julien Pascal is currently economist at the Central Bank of Luxembourg. He has a PhD in sociology. He was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/Département d'économie de Sciences Po from 2016 to 2019 and he defended his thesis "The Dynamics of Wage Inequalities: a Search-And-Matching Approach" under the supervision of Jean-Marc Robin in June 2020.

Read more...

Postdoctoral research fellow at Center for Social Conflict and Cohesion StudiesUniversity of Chili, Santiago.

Ph.D. in Sociology, (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in November 2019).

Quentin Ramond is a post-doctoral fellow at the Center for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies, University of Chile, Santiago. He was a doctoral fellow at LIEPP/OSC from 2014 to 2017 and he defended his thesis "Trajectoires résidentielles et choix scolaires des classes moyennes. Statut d’occupation du logement, ségrégation et action publique locale dans la métropole parisienne" under the supervision of Marco Oberti in November 2019.

Read more...

Policy/Political Advisor, European Parliament 

PhD in Economics, (thesis financed by LIEPP and defended in October 2019)

Max Viskanic is a political adviser at the European Parliament. He holds a PhD in economics.

Read more...

Back to top

Doctorants

Depuis la création du LIEPP, la recherche doctorale a constitué une partie structurante de l’activité du laboratoire dans sa mission de formation. Le LIEPP propose aux doctorants et doctorantes de Sciences Po et d’Université de Paris, quelles que soient leurs disciplines et leurs méthodes, un atelier jeune recherche. Cet atelier est un outil de dialogue interdisciplinaire entre les personnes dont les travaux ont une incidence pour l’action publique. Le LIEPP a ainsi eu la chance de financer de nombreuses thèses et d’accueillir des doctorants et doctorantes affilié.e.s ayant nourri et fait avancer la connaissance dans les différents axes de recherche et, plus largement, en matière d’évaluation des politiques publiques. La jeune recherche et la recherche doctorale au LIEPP ont été récompensées pour la qualité des travaux.

Thèses en cours

Doctorant en économie à CY Cergy Paris Université / affilié au LIEPP

Julien Blasco est administrateur de l’Insee et doctorant en économie à CY Cergy Paris Université sous la direction de Clément Carbonnier. Il étudie les inégalités de revenus et la pauvreté dans ses différentes dimensions en France et à l’international. Ses recherches portent en particulier sur l’impact des politiques socio-fiscales sur ces phénomènes. Après un stage de recherche effectué en 2017, il est affilié au LIEPP depuis la rentrée 2018. Ses projets actuels portent sur l’impact redistributif des taxes à la consommation ainsi que sur l’évolution des inégalités de revenus en France depuis 1970.

Lire la suite...

Doctorante en sociologie, OSC / affiliée au LIEPP

Mathéa Boudinet obtient son master de recherche en sociologie à Sciences Po en 2019. Elle obtient un contrat doctoral à l'Observatoire Sociologique du Changement cette même année, pour réaliser son doctorat sous la direction de Anne Revillard. Sa thèse porte sur l'articulation entre handicap et genre dans la mise en oeuvre et la réception des politiques publiques d'emploi françaises. Mathéa Boudinet étudie la manière dont sont mises en place ces politiques au sein du service public de l'emploi, et la manière dont l'action publique est perçue par les femmes handicapées. Elle utilise des méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives.

Lire la suite...

Doctorante en sociologie, OSC / affiliée au LIEPP

Après 8 mois en tant qu’assistante de recherche au LIEPP pendant son année de césure, Laudine reprend en 2020-2021 son Master 2 de Sciences Cognitives à l’ENS (PSL). La même année, elle obtient un contrat doctoral à l’Observatoire Sociologique du Changement (Sciences Po). Passionnée par la pratique de la transdisciplinarité depuis sa licence, elle réalise une thèse entre Sociologie et Sciences Cognitives sous la direction de Carlo Barone (OSC, Sciences Po) et Coralie Chevallier (LNCC, ENS). Ses recherches portent sur les inégalités d’accès aux crèches, leur lien avec les politiques publiques et leur impact sur le développement cognitif des jeunes enfants. Elle mobilise pour cela à la fois des méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives.

Lire la suite...

Doctorant en économie, Département d'économie de Sciences Po / affilié au LIEPP

Edgard Dewitte est doctorant en Economie à SciencesPo. Il travaille sur une thèse intitulée "Essays on the Economics of Democracy", sous la supervision de Julia Cagé. Ses intérêts de recherche se centrent principalement sur l'Economie Politique et Historique, avec des apports de l'Economie Comportementale et Environnementale. Il détient une maîtrise en Anthropologie et Développement de la London School of Economics, ainsi que des licences en Ingénieur de Gestion (Solvay), Philosophie et Anthropologie de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles.

Lire la suite...

Doctorante en sociologie, OSC / affiliée au LIEPP

Après un master en Sociologie and recherche sociale à l’Université de Trento, Marta a rejoint l’OSC et le LIEPP pour une thèse de sociologie sous la direction de Carlo Barone. Son étude se focalise sur la relation entre l’instabilité économique et le développement des enfants.  En utilisant les données de l’enquête nationale longitudinale ELFE, elle analysera comment cette relation est liée aux indicateurs socioéconomiques et les mécanismes qui l’expliquent.

Lire la suite...

Doctorant en sociologie, LIEPP/OSC

Diplômé du Master in Economic and Social Sciences de l’Université Bocconi (Milan) en 2016, Federico a rejoint le LIEPP et l’Observatoire Sociologique du Changement (OSC) en Septembre 2017, où il a commencé sa thèse en sociologie sous la direction d'Emanuele Ferragina. Ses recherches étudient les relations entre le travail précaire et les soins informels en Europe.

Lire la suite...

Doctorante en économie à KU Leuven / affiliée au LIEPP

Hélène est une doctorante en économie à KU Leuven. Elle s'intéresse principalement aux liens entre l’organisation structurelle des entreprises et leur productivité, et en particulier à l’importance de la diversité du management pour l’innovation et la croissance. Sa thèse est co-supervisée par les professeurs Jan de Loecker (KU Leuven) et Philippe Aghion (LSE, Collège de France). 

Lire la suite...

Doctorant en sociologie, OSC / affilié au LIEPP

Après des études en sciences sociales à l’ENSAE et l’ENS Cachan, Olivier Monso a rejoint l’Insee, puis en 2011 la direction de l’évaluation, de la prospective et de la performance (Depp), service statistique du ministère en charge de l’éducation nationale. Il y occupe le poste d’expert sur l’analyse des inégalités scolaires. Il participe à plusieurs travaux d’études portant sur la comparaison entre enseignement public et privé, la mixité sociale ou encore les disparités territoriales en matière d’éducation. Il travaille également au développement d’outils méthodologiques à des fins d’études et de pilotage du système éducatif. 
Depuis la rentrée 2018, il prépare une thèse en sociologie à l'OSC sous la direction de Louis-André Vallet, sur le thème de la ségrégation entre les établissements scolaires et ses conséquences.

Lire la suite...

Doctorant en économie, Département d'économie de Sciences Po / affilié au LIEPP

Pierre Villedieu est doctorant en Economie à SciencesPo sous la supervision de Pierre Cahuc. Ses intérêts de recherche se centrent principalement sur l'économie du travail et notamment sur l'étude des discriminations à l'embauche. Après avoir intégré l'ENS de Cachan au département  Économie-Gestion en 2013, il a poursuivi ses études à l'ENSAE en se spécialisant dans les méthodes d'analyse quantitatives. Il détient un diplôme d'ingénieur de l'ENSAE ainsi qu'un master en économie de l'université Paris-Saclay.  

Lire la suite...

Doctorant en sciences politiques, LIEPP/CEE

La recherche de Paulus Wagner au LIEPP se concentre sur les attitudes citoyennes sur la politique sociale. Dans sa thèse, il s'interesse pour le "chauvinisme de l'état-providence" (welfare chauvinism), un phénomène lié à la politique populiste d'extrême droite. Dans le cadre d'un approche des méthodes mixtes, il a mené 150 entretiens biographiques avec des citoyens allemands et autrichiens, la moitié d'eux des ouvriers manuels par occupation, pour analyser la génèse de ces attitudes. En testant une théorie sur le rapport des attitudes populistes avec les problèmes expérimentés surtout par les classes populaires (modernization loser theory), sa thèse formule la théorie qu'au fait la génèse des attitudes "welfare chauvinistes" est souvent lié à l'expérience des problèmes au domaines de travail et  du contact avec l'état-providence. Ces situations problématiques, à leur part, sont produits par les dynamiques de des-intégration sociale surtout au niveau "meso", i.e. au sein des organisations et dans le contact des organisations avec des citoyens.

Lire la suite...

Thèses soutenues

Adjointe au chef de pôle fiscalité locale et dotations, direction des finances et des achats à la Ville de Paris

Docteure en sciences politiques (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en janvier 2017)

Camille Allé est actuellement adjointe au chef de pôle fiscalité locale et dotations, direction des finances et des achats à la Ville de Paris.

Lire la suite...

Chercheur postdoctoral, projet APCLIMPTER au Centre Emile Durkheim

Docteur en sociologie, LIEPP/CSO (thèse fiancée par le LIEPP et soutenue en septembre 2020)

 

Alexis Aulagnier est docteur en sociologie. Il a été doctorant du LIEPP/CSO de 2015 à 2018 et a soutenu sa thèse "Réduire sans contraindre. Le gouvernement des pratiques agricoles à l'épreuve des pesticides" sous la direction de Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier et de Jean-Noël Jouzel en septembre 2020.

Lire la suite...

Docteure en sociologie, OSC / affiliée au LIEPP

Célia Bouchet a réalisé une thèse de sociologie à l’OSC et au LIEPP, sous la codirection d’Anne Revillard et de Philippe Coulangeon. Ses recherches portent sur les mesures et les mécanismes des inégalités sociales, notamment celles liées au handicap et au genre. Dans sa thèse, soutenue en janvier 2022, elle croise une exploitation de l’Enquête Emploi et une campagne d’entretiens semi-directifs pour analyser les positions sociales allouées en France à diverses sous-populations handicapées, par rapport aux personnes valides. À partir de février 2022, elle entame un contrat d’un an à la Mission pour la place des femmes au CNRS en tant que responsable des enquêtes inégalités femmes-hommes.

Lire la suite...

Chargée de recherche à l'Institut National d'Etudes Démographiques (INED)

Docteure en sociologie (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en décembre 2019)

Elle a été doctorante du LIEPP/OSC de 2015 à 2018 et a soutenu sa thèse "De l’immigration permanente aux migrations circulaires. L’expérience de la (re)migration dans les trajectoires individuelles en France", sous la direction de Mirna Safi, en décembre 2019.

Lire la suite...

Maître de conférence à l'Université de Cergy-Pontoise

Docteur en économie (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en février 2017)

Guillaume Chapelle est maître de conférence à l'Université de Cergy-Pontoise. 

Lire la suite...

Economiste, Banque de France

Docteur en économie, LIEPP (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en octobre 2018)

Jean-Benoît Eyméoud est économiste à la Banque de France et chercheur au LIEPP. Jean-Benoît Eyméoud a été doctorant du LIEPP/Département d'économie de Sciences Po de 2015 à 2018 et il a soutenu sa thèse "Housing and Discrimination in Economics: an Empirical Approach using Big Data and Natural Experiments", sous la direction d'Etienne Wasmer en octobre 2018. 

Lire la suite...

Analyste des politiques d'éducation et chef de projet à la Direction de l'éducation et des compétences de l'OCDE

Docteur en économie (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en 2017)

Pierre Gouëdard est actuellement analyste à la Direction de l'éducation et des compétences de l'OCDE.

Lire la suite...

Chercheure postdoctorale sur le projet ANR Organisations en crises (CrisOrg) au CSO

Docteure en sociologie, LIEPP/CSO (thèse fiancée par le LIEPP et soutenue en mars 2021)

Anne Moyal est docteure en sociologie. Elle a été doctorante du LIEPP/CSO de 2015 à 2018 et elle a soutenu sa thèse "Une liberté sous contraintes ? Rationalisation des pratiques des professionnels libéraux de soins primaires en maisons de santé pluriprofessionnelles en France", sous la direction d'Henri Bergeron, en mars 2021.

Lire la suite...

Economiste à la Banque centrale du Luxembourg

Docteur en économie (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en 2020) 

Julien Pascal est actuellement économiste à la Banque centrale du Luxembourg. Il a été doctorant du LIEPP/Département d'économie de Sciences Po de 2016 à 2019 et il a soutenu sa thèse "The Dynamics of Wage Inequalities: a Search-And-Matching Approach", sous la direction de Jean-Marc Robin, en juin 2020. 

Lire la suite...

Chercheur postdoctoral au Center for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies, Université du Chili, Santiago.

Docteur en sociologie (thèse financée par le LIEPP et soutenue en novembre 2019)

Quentin Ramond est post-doctorant au Center for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies, Université du Chili, Santiago. Il a été doctorant du LIEPP/OSC de 2014 à 2017 et a soutenu sa thèse "Trajectoires résidentielles et choix scolaires des classes moyennes. Statut d’occupation du logement, ségrégation et action publique locale dans la métropole parisienne" sous la direction de Marco Oberti en novembre 2019.

Lire la suite...

Conseiller politique au Parlement européen 

Docteur en économie, (thèse soutenue en octobre 2019)

Max Viskanic est conseiller politique au parlement européen, docteur en économie.

Lire la suite...

Retour en haut de page