Private International Law as Global Governance (PILAGG)

Beyond the Schism, from Closet to Planet

PILAGG is a Research Program which aims to draw the attention about the role that private international law should play in current times in order to contribute to global governance.

Despite the contemporary turn to law within the global governance debate, private international law remains remarkably silent before the increasingly unequal distribution of wealth and power in the world. By leaving such matters to its public international counterpart, it leaves largely untended the private causes of crisis and injustice affecting such areas as financial markets, levels of environmental pollution, the status of sovereign debt, the confiscation of natural resources, the use and misuse of development aid, the plight of migrating populations, and many more. This incapacity to rise to the private challenges of economic globalisation is all the more curious that public international law itself, on the tide of managerialism and fragmentation, is now increasingly confronted with conflicts articulated as collisions of jurisdiction and applicable law, among which private or hybrid authorities and regimes now occupy a significant place.

The explanation seems to lie in the development, under the aegis of the liberal separation of law and politics and of the public and the private spheres, of an « epistemology of the closet », a refusal to see that to unleash powerful private interests in the name of individual autonomy and to allow them to accede to market authority was to construct the legal foundations of informal empire and establish gaping holes in global governance. It is now more than time to de-closet private international law and excavate the means with which, in its own right, it may impact on the balance of informal power in the global economy. Adopting a planetary perspective means reaching beyond the schism and connecting up with the politics of public international law, while contributing a specific savoir-faire acquired over many centuries in the recognition of alterity and the responsible management of pluralism.

Firstly presented at the 2011 IGLP Workshop (Harvard Law School), PILAGG organised many workshops and roundtables at Sciences po and abroad to enhance the research on private international law as global governance.

More about the project at http://blogs.sciences-po.fr/pilagg/

You might also be interested in the report of last event that PILAGG organised in 2011/2012 at Sciences Po, with the support of the Sciences Po Law School and LIEPP on the 11th of May: CR-PILAGG-Final-Meeting1.pdf

Private International Law as Global Governance (PILAGG)

Le droit privé international comme gouvernance mondiale, au delà du schisme

PILAGG est un programme de recherche qui vise à attirer l'attention sur le rôle que le droit privé international devrait jouer de nos jours pour contribuer à la gouvernance mondiale.

En dépit du tournant contemporain qu’a pris en faveur du droit le débat sur la gouvernance globale, le droit privé international reste remarquablement silencieux face aux inégalités croissantes de distribution des richesses et du pouvoir dans le monde. Ainsi laissé aux mains du droit international public, le traitement de ce type de problème néglige les causes privées de la crise et des injustices qui sévissent dans des domaines comme les marchés financiers, les niveaux de pollution environnementale, le statut de la dette souveraine, la confiscation des ressources naturelles, l’usage et le mésusage des aides au développement, les migrations de populations, et bien d’autres. Cette incapacité à relever les défis privés que pose la globalisation économique est d’autant plus étonnante que le droit international public lui-même, suivant en cela le courant du managerialisme et de la fragmentation, est aujourd’hui de plus en plus confronté à des conflits qui sont structurés comme des collisions entre juridiction et droit applicable, et dans lesquels des autorités privées ou hybrides occupent désormais une place significative.

L’explication semble résider dans le développement, sous l’égide de la séparation libérale du droit et de la politique et des sphères publique et privée, d’une « épistémologie du placard », un refus de voir que libérer des intérêts privés puissants au nom de l’autonomie individuelle et les autoriser à accéder à une position d’autorité sur le marché revenait à établir les fondements légaux d’un empire informel et créer des trous béants dans la gouvernance mondiale. Il est désormais largement temps de sortir de son placard le droit privé international et de mettre au jour les moyens avec lesquels il peut avoir un impact sur l’équilibre du pouvoir informel dans l’économie globale. Adopter une perspective planétaire signifie passer au-delà du schisme et rejoindre la politique du droit publique international, tout en apportant un savoir-faire spécifique acquis depuis plusieurs décennies dans la reconnaissance de l’altérité et le management responsable du pluralisme.

Présenté pour la première fois en 2011 au Workshop IGLP (Harvard Law School), le projet PILAGG a depuis organisé de nombreux ateliers et tables rondes en France comme à l'étranger pour animer la réflexion sur le rôle que devrait jouer le droit privé international dans la gouvernance mondiale.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le blog du projet: http://blogs.sciences-po.fr/pilagg/

Retrouvez également le compte-rendu du dernier événement organisé par PILAGG à Sciences Po en 2011/2012 avec l'aide de Sciences Po Law School et du LIEPP le 11 mai 2012: CR-PILAGG-Final-Meeting1.pdf