Imbert, Louis

Imbert, Louis

A French-American national, is a doctoral candidate at Sciences Po Law School since September 2017. He is writing a doctoral dissertation entitled “The Foreigner Constructed By Constitutional Judges: A Comparative Analysis of Discourses”, under the supervision of professors Guillaume Tusseau and Serge Slama.

He holds a master’s degree in Human Rights Law from Paris Nanterre University (2017) and a master’s degree in Economic Law from Sciences Po Law School (2015). He wrote his master’s theses on the recognition of refugee status for sexual minorities and on the protection of foreigners’ fundamental rights in the context of an evolving contemporary border regime.

In parallel to his studies, he interned and volunteered at various human rights NGOs in France, South Africa, Spain and Chile, particularly in the field of migrants’ rights. Today, he remains active in French and European migrants’ rights NGOs.

At Sciences Po, he has also been a tutor of the Migration clinic since September 2016. He co-supervises the projects conducted in partnership with the French NGO Anafé, which defends the rights of foreigners detained at the border.

Publications : 
  • Karine PARROT et Louis IMBERT, « La ‘crise migratoire’ fantasmée ou l’échec programmé de la forteresse Europe », Revue des Juristes de Sciences Po, n° 12, décembre 2016, pp. 49-62
  • Brigitte ESPUCHE et Louis IMBERT, « De la crisis de los refugiados/as, a la crisis de Europa », Documentación Social, n° 180, 2016, pp. 23-48

 

Back to top

Imbert, Louis

Imbert, Louis

De nationalité franco-américaine, Louis Imbert prépare, sous la direction des Professeurs Guillaume Tusseau et Serge Slamaune, une thèse intitulée "The Foreigner Constructed By Constitutional Judges: A Comparative Analysis of Discourses".

Il est titulaire du master Droits de l’Homme de l’Université Paris Nanterre (2017) et du master droit économique de l’École de droit de Sciences Po (2015). Il a rédigé ses mémoires de recherche sur le droit d’asile pour les minorités sexuelles et sur la protection des droits fondamentaux des étrangers face aux mutations contemporaines de la frontière.

En parallèle de ses études, il a effectué divers stages et volontariats en France, en Afrique du Sud, en Espagne et au Chili au sein d’associations de défense des droits de l’homme, en particulier dans le domaine du droit des étrangers. Il est aujourd’hui actif au sein d’associations françaises et européennes de défense des droits des étrangers.

Il est également tuteur de la clinique Migrations de l’École de droit depuis septembre 2016. Il co-encadre les projets menés en partenariat avec l’Association nationale d’assistance aux frontières pour les étrangers (Anafé), qui défend les droits des étrangers enfermés à la frontière. 

Publications

  • Karine PARROT et Louis IMBERT, « La ‘crise migratoire’ fantasmée ou l’échec programmé de la forteresse Europe », Revue des Juristes de Sciences Po, n° 12, décembre 2016, pp. 49-62
  • Brigitte ESPUCHE et Louis IMBERT, « De la crisis de los refugiados/as, a la crisis de Europa », Documentación Social, n° 180, 2016, pp. 23-48