Poitiers campus

  • Poitiers campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloPoitiers campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the Simon Bolivar amphitheater ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the Simon Bolivar amphitheater ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in a classroom ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in a classroom ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the Pablo Neruda library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the Pablo Neruda library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the Pablo Neruda library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the Pablo Neruda library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the garden ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the garden ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Campus lobby, with the "péniche" ©Martin ArgyrogloCampus lobby, with the "péniche" ©Martin Argyroglo

Open Day 2017

Come and discover the Poitiers campus, Saturday, 25 November 2017See the programme (fr.)

The Poitiers campus was established in 2001 as the Undergraduate College's Europe-Latin America campus.

A regional specialisation on South America, Spain and Portugal

In conjunction with the multidisciplinary programme in the social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College, students have the opportunity to focus on the political, geopolitical and economic issues of Latin America, in a comparative perspective with the EU, particularly the Iberian peninsula.

The programme is taught mainly in French, with some courses in English and Spanish. Students explore Latin America's history and contemporary questions such as democratic issues, how economies are integrating into the globalised economy, urban development, and regional and continental integration.

Students can also study the two main languages of the geographic area: Spanish and Portuguese.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Nancy campus has about 200 students, over half of whom are international students, mainly from Latin America and Spain. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year abroad studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities.

There are many sporting and cultural events (fr.) (such as the Art and Politics Festival) to enrich campus life. Students are encouraged to organise and take part in debates, conferences, sporting and cultural events, etc. All student initiatives engage with the wider world, helping students gain a sense of responsibility and commitment to the local community.

Thanks to the small class sizes, students work in a pleasant environment and enjoy very close attention from the faculty for both their studies and extra-curricular activities.

Poitiers, a university town in a medieval setting

The campus is centrally located in a sixteenth-century mansion just a stone's throw from a masterpiece of Romanesque art, Notre-Dame-La-Grande church. It has a full range of facilities nearby (accommodation, cultural and sporting facilities) and an be reached on foot or by bicycle.

Just an hour and fifteen minutes from Paris by high-speed train, Poitiers is city with an exceptional Gallo-Roman heritage, reflected by a number of historical monuments (including the oldest baptistery in Europe). The city was home to Eleanor of Aquitaine and bears the memory of other illustrious figures, such as Clovis or Joan of Arc. Development of one of the oldest universities in Europe (founded in 1431) has made Poitiers an important university town in France (Pierre de Ronsard, René Descartes and Michel Foucault studied there), with a student population that makes up a quarter of the total population.

Poitiers has a national theatre (Théâtre Auditorium de Poitiers (fr.)) and hosts some major international cultural events (the Poitiers Film Festival, Filmer le travail, Festival A Corps and the Hispano-American Film Festival). A youth-friendly cultural policy facilitates students' access to arts and culture venues in the city.

Campus de Poitiers

  • Entrée du campus de Poitiers ©Martin ArgyrogloEntrée du campus de Poitiers ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans l'amphithéâtre Simon Bolivar ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans l'amphithéâtre Simon Bolivar ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants en cours avec un professeur ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants en cours avec un professeur ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la bibliothèque Pablo Neruda ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la bibliothèque Pablo Neruda ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la bibliothèque Pablo Neruda ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la bibliothèque Pablo Neruda ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Conversation entre étudiants dans le jardin ©Martin ArgyrogloConversation entre étudiants dans le jardin ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Hall d'entrée du campus avec la "péniche" ©Martin ArgyrogloHall d'entrée du campus avec la "péniche" ©Martin Argyroglo

Créé en 2001, le campus de Poitiers est le campus euro-latino-américain du Collège universitaire.

Une spécialisation géographique centrée sur l’Amérique du Sud, l’Espagne et le Portugal

Dans le cadre de la formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, les étudiants ont la possibilité d’approfondir les enjeux politiques, économiques et sociaux de l’Amérique latine, dans une perspective comparatiste avec l’Union européenne, et notamment la péninsule ibérique.

En suivant ce cursus francophone qui inclut certains enseignements en anglais et en espagnol, les étudiants explorent l’histoire de l’Amérique latine et ses problématiques contemporaines telles que les questions démocratiques, les modalités d’insertion des économies dans la mondialisation, le développement urbain, l’intégration régionale et continentale.

Les étudiants peuvent également étudier les langues de la zone géographique que sont l’espagnol et le portugais.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus de Poitiers accueille environ 200 étudiants sur site, dont plus de la moitié sont internationaux, issus principalement d’Amérique latine et d’Espagne. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus, qui se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études à l’étranger dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po.

De nombreuses manifestations culturelles (telles que le Festival “Art et Politique”) et sportives enrichissent la vie sur le campus. Pleinement responsabilisés, les étudiants participent à l’animation et à l’organisation de débats, de conférences, de rencontres sportives et culturelles, etc. L’intégralité des projets étudiants est tournée vers la cité, liant l’apprentissage de la responsabilité et l'engagement en faveur de la communauté locale.

Du fait de promotions restreintes, les étudiants évoluent dans un espace agréable et privilégié. Ils bénéficient d’un fort encadrement de la part de l’équipe pédagogique sur le plan des études et de la vie associative.

Poitiers, ville universitaire dans un environnement médiéval

Le campus, idéalement situé en plein centre-ville dans un hôtel particulier du XVIe siècle à deux pas d’un chef-d’oeuvre de l’art roman, l'Église Notre-Dame-La-Grande, dispose de tous les équipements de proximité (logements, équipements culturels et sportifs) et est accessible à pied ou en vélos.  

Située à 1h15 en TGV de Paris, Poitiers est une grande ville de l’époque gallo-romaine et possède à ce titre un patrimoine exceptionnel dont témoignent les divers monuments historiques (comme le plus ancien baptistère d’Europe). Lieu de résidence d’Aliénor d’Aquitaine, la ville garde la mémoire d’autres personnages illustres, à l’image de Clovis ou de Jeanne d’Arc. Le développement d’une des plus anciennes universités d’Europe (fondée en 1431) a fait de Poitiers une ville universitaire importante de France (Pierre de Ronsard, René Descartes et Michel Foucault y ont étudié), avec une population étudiante qui compose un quart de la population totale.

Disposant d’une scène nationale (Théâtre Auditorium de Poitiers), la ville accueille également de grands événements culturels internationaux (Poitiers Film Festival, Filmer le travail, Festival A Corps, Festival de cinéma hispano-américain). Une politique culturelle en faveur de la jeunesse facilite l’accès des étudiants aux lieux de création dans la ville.