Nancy campus

  • Nancy campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloNancy campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the Berlin amphitheater ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the Berlin amphitheater ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students with their teacher ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents with their teacher ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Richard Descoings Library ©Martin ArgyrogloRichard Descoings Library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students during a sports class ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents during a sports class ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in front of the Nancy campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in front of the Nancy campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo

The Nancy campus was established in 2001 and features a strong European dimension.

A European specialisation with a focus on Franco-German relations

In conjunction with the multidisciplinary programme in the social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College, students are able to study the political, economic and social aspects of the European Union from a comparative perspective between France and Germany—the engines of European integration and community building.

The programme is taught mainly in French with some courses in English and German. It covers major European issues such as the creation of a European political area and an integrated economic market with the Euro currency, while deepening students’ knowledge of the French and German-speaking area, particularly through the seminar run through the Alfred Grosser Chair.

Students can also learn the languages of the region such as German, English and Italian, and also Spanish, Russian, Swedish.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Nancy campus accommodates more than 300 students, over half of whom are from outside France. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year outside France studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities.

Campus life is also kept vibrant by the vast range of clubs and associations on offer and many events throughout the year. Students are able to initiate and take part in debates, conferences, study trips, sports and cultural events, giving them a strong sense of empowerment. They are also encouraged to get involved in initiatives focused on the local community and citizen engagement.

Thanks to the small class sizes, students on the Nancy campus enjoy very close attention from the faculty for both their studies and extra-curricular activities.

Nancy, a city of art in the heart of Europe

Close to Germany and Luxembourg, and an hour and a half by high-speed train from Paris, Nancy is a city with a strong European flavour and international perspective. Visitors to Nancy discover a rich historical legacy, featuring the renowned architectural ensemble around the Place Stanislas—a Unesco World Heritage site—and the École de Nancy, spearhead of Art Nouveau in France. The campus itself is located in a prestigious eighteenth-century building, the Hôtel des Missions Royales.

Nancy is a university town much loved by its 50,000 students. The vast range of cultural and sports facilities, combined with particularly supportive public policies for young people, make Nancy a pleasant and privileged environment to study in. The cultural calendar is rich and varied throughout the year. Students can go to the National Opera of Lorraine (fr.), the National Ballet of Lorraine, La Manufacture National Theatre, and L'Autre Canal, Nancy's new contemporary music venue. There's also a whole range of sports activities available in Nancy, from basketball and football to horse riding or swimming, with many facilities and nearly 240 clubs and associations.

Campus de Nancy

  • Façade du campus de Nancy ©Martin ArgyrogloFaçade du campus de Nancy ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants en cours dans l'amphithéâtre Berlin ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants en cours dans l'amphithéâtre Berlin ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants en cours avec leur professeure ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants en cours avec leur professeure ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Bibliothèque Richard Descoings ©Martin ArgyrogloBibliothèque Richard Descoings ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants pendant un cours de sport ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants pendant un cours de sport ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants devant la façade du campus ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants devant la façade du campus ©Martin Argyroglo

Journée portes ouvertes 2017

Venez découvrir le campus de Nancy, le jeudi 26 octobre Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant

Créé en 2000, le campus de Nancy se caractérise par sa dimension européenne.

Une spécialisation européenne avec un focus sur les relations franco-allemandes

Dans le cadre de la formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, les étudiants ont la possibilité d’approfondir les enjeux politiques, économiques et sociaux de l’Union européenne dans une perspective comparée entre la France et l’Allemagne, en tant que moteurs de l’intégration et de la construction communautaire.

En suivant ce cursus francophone qui inclut certains enseignements en anglais et en allemand, les étudiants étudient les grandes questions européennes telles que la constitution d’un espace politique européen ou d’un marché économique intégré avec la monnaie unique Euro, tout en approfondissant leurs connaissances sur l’espace franco-germanophone, notamment grâce au séminaire de la Chaire Alfred Grosser.

Les étudiants peuvent également apprendre les langues de la zone géographique telles que l’allemand, l’anglais, l’italien, mais aussi l’espagnol, le russe, le suédois.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus de Nancy accueille environ 300 étudiants sur site, dont plus de la moitié sont européens et internationaux. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus, qui se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études hors de France dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po.

La vie sur le campus est également riche des divers engagements associatifs proposés et de nombreuses manifestations qui y sont organisées. Pleinement responsabilisés, les étudiants participent à l’animation de débats, de conférences, de rencontres sportives et culturelles, etc. Les étudiants sont par ailleurs encouragés à s’engager dans des actions tournées vers la communauté locale et l’engagement citoyen.

Du fait de ses promotions restreintes, les étudiants du campus bénéficient d’un fort encadrement de la part de l’équipe pédagogique sur le plan des études et de la vie associative.

Nancy, une ville d’art au coeur de l’Europe

Située à proximité de l'Allemagne et du Luxembourg, à 1h30 en TGV de Paris, Nancy est une ville ouverte sur l'Europe et l'international. Connue pour son ensemble architectural autour de la place Stanislas, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité par l’Unesco, et pour l'École de Nancy, fer de lance de l'Art nouveau en France, Nancy est une ville où l'on découvre et l'on vit la richesse du legs historique. Le campus est d’ailleurs situé dans un cadre prestigieux du XVIIIe siècle, l’Hôtel des Missions Royales.

Ville universitaire, Nancy est très appréciée des 50 000 étudiants qui la composent. Et La diversité des équipements culturels et sportifs, accompagnées d'une politique publique particulièrement dynamique en direction des Jeunes, font de la ville de Nancy un cadre agréable et privilégié pour faire ses études. La programmation culturelle est variée tout au long de l’année. Les étudiants peuvent se rendre à l'Opéra national de Lorraine, au Ballet national de Lorraine, au Centre dramatique national - Théâtre de la Manufacture, à l'Autre Canal, nouvelle scène nancéienne des musiques actuelles, etc. Par ailleurs, avec de nombreux équipements et près de 240 clubs et associations, c'est toute une gamme d'activités sportives, du basket au football, en passant par l'équitation ou la natation, que l'on peut pratiquer à Nancy.