Menton campus

  • Menton campus by night ©Martin ArgyrogloMenton campus by night ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students during a lecture by Lamiss Azab ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents during a lecture by Lamiss Azab ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Teacher during a lecture ©Martin ArgyrogloTeacher during a lecture ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Campus library ©Martin ArgyrogloCampus library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • The inner garden ©Martin ArgyrogloThe inner garden ©Martin Argyroglo
  •  Student painting on the forecourt of the campus ©Martin Argyroglo Student painting on the forecourt of the campus ©Martin Argyroglo

Open Day 2017

Come and discover the Menton campus, Saturday, 18 November 2017See the programme (fr.)

The Menton campus is the Undergraduate College's Mediterranean campus, established in 2005.

A regional specialisation focused on the Middle East and Mediterranean

In conjunction with the multidisciplinary programme in the social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College, students have the opportunity to focus on the political, geopolitical and economic issues of the Mediterranean, Middle East and Gulf countries.

The programme is offered in both English and French and allows students to compare analytical perspectives and refine their reflection on this area of the world. Students are introduced to Arab-Islamic civilisation and religions in the Mediterranean area; study the history of the region's conflicts and the contemporary geopolitical challenges that shape it; and discover its future prospects, paying special attention to the development of Mediterranean Europe, the Arab world, Turkey, Israel and Iran.

In perfect complement to the programme, several of the region’s languages are taught, including Arabic, Turkish, Italian, Persian and Hebrew, as is French as a Foreign Language for students that do not have a B1-equivalent level in French.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Menton campus accommodates more than 300 students, over 70 percent of whom are from outside France. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year abroad studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities.

Campus life is also kept vibrant by the vast range of clubs and associations on offer and many events throughout the yeaar. Students are empowered by initiating and taking part in debates, conferences, sporting and cultural events, etc. They are also encouraged to get involved in initiatives focused on the local community and citizen engagement.

Thanks to the small class sizes, students on the campus enjoy very close attention from the faculty for both their studies and extra-curricular activities.

Menton, a seaside town on the French Riviera

Located on the French Riviera, bordering Italy and the Principality of Monaco, Menton is a seaside resort that enjoys a Mediterranean climate: lemons—the "golden fruit" that serves as the town symbol—and olives have been lovingly cultivated there for five centuries. The town's cultural life draws on various influences: painting and poetry took root there thanks to Jean Cocteau, to whom a museum (fr.) designed by Mediterranean architect Rudy Ricciottiis dedicated; and music is showcased there during the classical music festival, the oldest in France after the one in Aix en Provence. The starting point for hikes in the high country, Menton also offers students the possibility of a number of water and outdoor sports activities.

Set in the heart of the old town, in a historic nineteenth-century Italian-inspired building facing the Mediterranean, the Menton campus provides an exceptional setting for personal and intellectual fulfillment.

Campus de Menton

  • Façade du campus de Menton de nuit ©Martin ArgyrogloFaçade du campus de Menton de nuit ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants pendant un cours magistral de Lamiss Azab ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants pendant un cours magistral de Lamiss Azab ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Professeur enseignant pendant un cours magistral ©Martin ArgyrogloProfesseur enseignant pendant un cours magistral ©Martin Argyroglo
  • La bibliothèque du campus ©Martin ArgyrogloLa bibliothèque du campus ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la bibliothèque ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la bibliothèque ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Le jardin intérieur ©Martin ArgyrogloLe jardin intérieur ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiant peignant  sur le parvis du campus ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiant peignant sur le parvis du campus ©Martin Argyroglo

À noter

Journée portes ouvertes 2017

Venez découvrir le campus de Menton, le samedi 18 novembre voir le programme

Examens d'automne

Télécharger le calendrier des examens d'automne 2017-2018 (PDF, 115 Ko)

Créé en 2005, le campus de Menton est le campus méditerranéen du Collège universitaire de Sciences Po.

Une spécialisation géographique centrée sur le Moyen-Orient et la Méditerranée

Dans le cadre de la formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, les étudiants ont la possibilité d’approfondir l’étude des enjeux politiques, économiques et sociaux des pays du pourtour méditerranéen, du Moyen-Orient et du Golfe.

En suivant ce cursus, proposé au choix en français ou en anglais, les étudiants bénéficient de cours qui leur permettent de croiser les regards d’analyse et d’affiner la réflexion sur cette zone du monde : ils s’initient à la civilisation arabo-musulmane et aux religions dans l’espace méditerranéen ; ils étudient par ailleurs l’histoire des conflits de la région et les défis géopolitiques contemporains qui la structurent ; ils découvrent enfin ses perspectives d’avenir en s’intéressant plus particulièrement au développement de l’Europe méditerranéenne, du monde arabe, de la Turquie, d’Israël et de l’Iran.  

L’apprentissage des langues de la région telles que l’arabe, le turc, l’italien, le persan ou l’hébreu, vient compléter ce programme de formation, auquel s’ajoutent également des cours de français langue étrangère pour les étudiants ne disposant pas d’un niveau équivalent à B1.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus de Menton accueille plus de 300 étudiants sur site, dont 70% sont internationaux. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus ; celle-ci se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études à l’étranger dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po.

La vie sur le campus est également riche des divers engagements associatifs proposés et de nombreuses manifestations qui y sont organisées. Pleinement responsabilisés, les étudiants participent à l’animation de débats, de conférences, et de rencontres sportives et culturelles. Ils sont par ailleurs encouragés à s’impliquer dans des actions tournées vers la communauté locale et l’engagement citoyen.

Du fait de promotions de petite taille, le campus permet à ses étudiants de bénéficier d’un fort encadrement de la part de l’équipe pédagogique sur le plan des études et de la vie associative.

Menton, une ville balnéaire de la Riviera française

Située sur la Côte d’Azur, à la frontière italienne et aux portes de la Principauté de Monaco, Menton est une ville balnéaire qui bénéficie d’un climat méditerranéen : le citron - “fruit d’or” symbole de la cité - et l’olive y sont cultivés avec soin depuis cinq siècles. La vie culturelle s’y nourrit d’influences diverses : la peinture et la poésie y ont pris racine grâce à Jean Cocteau auquel est dédié un musée réalisé par l’architecte méditerranéen Rudy Ricciotti ; la musique y trouve son écrin le temps du Festival de musique classique, plus ancien festival de France après celui d’Aix en Provence. Point de départ de randonnées pour le haut-pays, Menton offre également aux étudiants la possibilité de pratiquer une série d’activités nautiques et sportives de plein air.

Installé au coeur de la vieille ville, dans un bâtiment historique du XIXe siècle d’inspiration italienne faisant face à la Méditerranée, le campus de Menton offre un cadre d’études exceptionnel, propice à l’épanouissement personnel et intellectuel.