Dijon campus

  • Dijon campus entrance ©Martin ArgyrogloDijon campus entrance ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Course in the Danube amphitheater ©Martin ArgyrogloCourse in the Danube amphitheater ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Photography workshop hosted by Mr. Barra ©Martin ArgyrogloPhotography workshop hosted by Mr. Barra ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Students in the Copernic Library ©Martin ArgyrogloStudents in the Copernic Library ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Student in the "BDE" Room ©Martin ArgyrogloStudent in the "BDE" Room ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Fitness room ©Martin ArgyrogloFitness room ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Campus garden ©Martin ArgyrogloCampus garden ©Martin Argyroglo

Open Day 2017

Come and discover the Dijon campus, Saturday, 18 November 2017See the programme (fr.)

Established in 2001, the Dijon campus features a strong European dimension.

A European specialisation with a focus on Central and Eastern Europe

In conjunction with the multidisciplinary programme in the social sciences common to the entire Undergraduate College, students are able to gain a more advanced understanding of European integration and the issues it involves: the challenges of past and future enlargements, governance of a continental-scale European Union, and the question of the EU's borders.

Through this French-language programme, students learn about the history and functioning of the European Union; Central and Eastern Europe countries' communist past, post-communist transitions and processes of Europeanisation; recent developments and issues involved in the Western Balkan states’ European prospects; the revolution in Ukraine; and the history of Russia and the post-Soviet states.

The Dijon campus has a high proportion of students from the countries of Central and Eastern Europe, and is an ideal place to explore the divisions within the EU over the migration crisis, the emergence of "illiberal democracy", relations with Russia, energy issues, Turkey's candidacy and the debate on the EU's future after Brexit.

Students can also study the languages of the region, such as Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Russian or Czech.

A unique experience in an international environment

The Dijon campus accommodates around 160 students. More than half of these are from outside France, mostly from Central and Eastern European, Baltic and Balkan countries, and some from the Caucasus and Central Asia. This cultural diversity makes the first two years on campus an international experience in itself, which is capped off with the third year outside France studying at one of Sciences Po's 470 partner universities.

Campus life is also kept vibrant by the vast range of clubs and associations on offer and many events held throughout the year. Students are able to initiate and take part in debates, conferences, study trips, and sports and cultural events, giving them a strong sense of empowerment. They are also encouraged to get involved in initiatives focused on the local community and citizen engagement. The campus’s many partnerships with local organisations offer students very attractive opportunities for their projects and internships.

Thanks to the small class sizes, students on the Dijon campus enjoy very close attention from the faculty for both their studies and extra-curricular activities.

Dijon, a university town rich in history

The Dijon campus, a beautiful building dating from 1900 and surrounded by gardens, is a five-minute walk from the TGV train station and the city centre, in a quiet residential area with good public transport.

The former capital of the Dukes of Burgundy, Dijon (fr.) has a rich historical and artistic heritage, with one of the largest protected areas in France, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Dijon and its region—Burgundy-Franche-Comté (fr.)—is an internationally renowned tourist destination, known for its wines, gastronomy and general good living. Dijon is a dynamic city of 250,000 inhabitants that has managed to preserve its heritage and remarkable quality of life. With about fifteen higher education institutions established there, it is also a major university city.

Dijon's cultural life (fr.) is both very rich and accessible, thanks to pro-active council policies. Students benefit from significant discounts for cultural events and free access to municipal museums. Dijon also has a number of quality sports facilities (an Olympic swimming pool including a diving area, a skating rink, a 37-hectare artificial lake with a water sports centre, etc.).

Campus de Dijon

  • Entrée du campus de Dijon ©Martin ArgyrogloEntrée du campus de Dijon ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Cours dans l'amphithéâtre Danube ©Martin ArgyrogloCours dans l'amphithéâtre Danube ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Atelier de photographie animé par M. Barra ©Martin ArgyrogloAtelier de photographie animé par M. Barra ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque Copernic ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque Copernic ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans la salle de repos du BDE ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans la salle de repos du BDE ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Salle de sport, préparation des Collegiades ©Martin ArgyrogloSalle de sport, préparation des Collegiades ©Martin Argyroglo
  • Étudiants dans le jardin du campus ©Martin ArgyrogloÉtudiants dans le jardin du campus ©Martin Argyroglo

Créé en 2001, le campus de Dijon se caractérise par sa dimension européenne.

Une spécialisation européenne avec un focus sur l’Europe centrale et orientale

Dans le cadre de la formation pluridisciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales commune à l’ensemble du Collège universitaire, les étudiants ont la possibilité d’approfondir l’étude des enjeux de la construction européenne : les défis des élargissements passés et à venir, la gouvernance d'une Union européenne de taille continentale, ou encore la question de ses frontières.

En suivant ce cursus francophone, les étudiants découvrent l’histoire et le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne, le passé communiste, les transitions post-communistes et les dynamiques d’européanisation des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale, les évolutions récentes et les enjeux de la perspective européenne pour les pays des Balkans occidentaux, la révolution en Ukraine ou encore l’histoire de la Russie et de l’espace post-soviétique.

« Concentré d’Europe » avec une très forte représentation des étudiants issus de l’ensemble des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale, le campus de Dijon est un lieu idéal pour comprendre les divisions qui s’expriment au sein de l’Union européenne sur les crises migratoires, l’émergence d’un modèle de « démocratie illibérale », les relations avec la Russie, les enjeux énergétiques, la candidature de la Turquie ou encore le débat sur l’avenir de l’UE après le Brexit.

Les étudiants peuvent également étudier les langues de la région telles que le hongrois, le polonais, le roumain, le russe ou le tchèque.

Une expérience unique dans un environnement international

Le campus de Dijon accueille environ 160 étudiants sur site, dont plus de la moitié sont internationaux, majoritairement originaires d’Europe centrale, baltique, balkanique et orientale, voire des pays du Caucase et d’Asie centrale. Cette diversité culturelle participe de l’expérience internationale proposée pendant les deux premières années sur le campus, qui se poursuit en troisième année par un séjour d’études à l’étranger dans l’une des 470 universités partenaires de Sciences Po.

La vie sur le campus est également riche des divers engagements associatifs proposés et des nombreuses manifestations qui y sont organisées. Pleinement responsabilisés, les étudiants participent à l’animation de débats, de conférences, de voyages d’études, de rencontres sportives et culturelles, et sont encouragés à s’engager dans des actions tournées vers la communauté locale et l’expérience citoyenne. Les nombreux partenariats que le campus développe avec les acteurs locaux, offrent aux étudiants des opportunités très attractives pour leurs projets et stages.

Du fait de promotions restreintes, les étudiants du campus bénéficient d’un fort encadrement de la part de l’équipe pédagogique sur le plan des études et de la vie associative.

Dijon, une ville universitaire riche de son histoire

Le campus de Dijon, situé à 5 min à pied de la gare TGV et du centre-ville, se trouve au sein d'un bâtiment construit en 1900, entouré d'un jardin, au coeur d'un quartier résidentiel calme et bien desservi.

Ancienne capitale des Ducs de Bourgogne, Dijon est l’héritière d’un riche patrimoine historique et artistique, avec l’un des plus vastes secteurs sauvegardés de France, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. Réputée pour ses vins, sa gastronomie et plus généralement son savoir-vivre, Dijon et sa région – Bourgogne-Franche-Comté – est une destination touristique de renommée internationale. En tant que métropole de 250 000 habitants, Dijon est un pôle dynamique qui a su préserver son patrimoine et une qualité de vie remarquable. Avec une quinzaine d’établissements supérieurs implantés sur son territoire, c’est également une grande ville universitaire.

La vie culturelle est à la fois très variée et accessible, grâce à une politique de la ville volontariste. Les étudiants bénéficient ainsi de réductions importantes pour les sorties culturelles et d’un accès gratuit aux musées municipaux. Dijon offre également de nombreuses infrastructures sportives de grande qualité (une piscine olympique incluant un espace de plongée, une patinoire ou encore un lac artificiel de 37 ha accueillant une base nautique et de loisirs, etc.).