Create
thematic maps
in 3 steps

Start

1. data

Import your files

2. visualizations

Explore your data through differents smart visualizations

3. export

Adjust final elements of your map and export it in svg or png format



Features





Automatic georeferencing

Country names, ISO codes or geographical coordinates associated to your data are automatically recognized.


Custom projections

Say goodbye to Mercator and change projection at any time. ...


Visualizations

Four visualizations types, fully customizable


Confidentiality

Your data belongs to you, everything stays in your web browser.



What you can create




Symbols
preview
Color gradient
preview
Symbols and gradient
preview
Categories of symbols
preview
Symbols (lat/long)
preview
Categories of surfaces
preview




Khartis project



Origin

Khartis was born from a finding: how to make a thematic map just in few clicks, keeping requirement and scientific rigor in data processing? The team behind Khartis has refined this idea in teaching situations, research or map production and hopes that beginners will use Khartis, whether they are students, teachers, journalists or simply curious.

Idex

Initiative d'excellence (Idex) led by investissements d'avenir (PIA) enabled Sciences Po to realize in 2016 their own free online mapping tool project. The goals are multiple: transmission of know-how, knowledge (with teaching support around Khartis) and easy access with no prerequisite installation, only an Internet connection.

Advantages

Khartis is not the first online mapping tool! However, it is one of the few to give to see the world from different perspectives. 3 steps accompanying map design to final visualization. Experience feedback will allow to integrate more advanced features.




Sciences Po - Atelier de cartographie


Created in 1995, the Atelier de cartographie de Sciences Po specializes in visualization of information and constantly looking for seeks innovation and diversification of media while putting into practice the fundamentals of graphic semiology. The team is made up of cartographers with complementary backgrounds and interests: Thomas Ansart, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano Anouk Pettès and Antoine Rio.

The Atelier de cartographie provides education and support to research within the institution from the first year to PhD and beyond. It also provides expert missions to international organizations (UNODC), participates in editorial projects (magazines, atlases, books) or is part of museum projects (Louvre, MHI).



FAQ


Yes! We launch Khartis with the world base map (with States in 2016) because the Atelier de cartographie has experience for years with global scale. Nevertheless, it allows create more regional focused maps thanks to the functions zoom and reframe before exporting the final map. We will gradually add other base maps so, please, let us know your proposal!
No, Of course Khartis is an online tool but the work remain local, on the browser. Only the data provided as examples are online.
No. Khartis was design to allow curious, not necessarily cartographer or scientist, explore a dataset to draw maps. Don't hesitate to advice us on haow improve the tool!
Khartis is young and propose, for now, 4 types of classic visualization: proportionnal symbols and colour ranges to show quantities, and variations of shapes/colours/size to distinguish categories, both on coordinates (points) or territories (areas). This combination of visualiztions offers, right now, a wide range of results. We are working on other visualizations... be carreful!
We deliberately restrained the choice to 3 methods: quantiles which take into account numbers of the dataset, whereas equal intervals or nested means are based on values of the concerned column. Of course we are thinking about two pathes for complementary functions: manual movement of limits of classes in the frequency diagram (named method of observed gaps) and also the enricment of other statistical methods (means/standard deviation or Jenks method, however it require a lot of resources), So, to be continued!
You can export your map as SVG (vector format) or as PNG (raster, with pixels beurk!). Both can be immediately opened into a browser or inserted into a report, a slideshow, a 3D printer a plane or any publication, printed or online. A raster editor such as Gimp (free) or Adobe Photoshop ($) allow to modify a PNG file. A vector editor such as Gravit (free and online) or Adobe Illustrator ($) enable to modify SVG file.

Khartis evolves


July 2016
One basemap: the world by state in 2016

October 2016
Add basemaps of France, improvment of frequency diagram, copy/past support at import

Want to contribute? Found a bug?
Khartis is an open source project.
Source code and documentation are available on GitHub.
You can also email us at carto[at]sciencespo.fr

What new feature(s) for Khartis?
Vote and suggest ideas


Design

Sciences Po - Atelier de cartographie

Funding

Université Sorbonne Paris Cité

Development

Apyx

Project management

Sciences Po - Médialab

Legal notice

Créer simplement
des cartes thématiques
en 3 étapes

Commencer

1. données

Importez vos tableaux
ou fichiers csv

2. visualisations

Explorez vos données à travers un choix de visualisations simples et éprouvées

3. export

Ajustez les derniers éléments de votre carte et exportez là en svg ou png



Fonctionnalités





Géoréférencement automatique

Les noms de pays, les codes ISO ou les coordonnées associés à vos données sont reconnus automatiquement.


Projections paramétrables

Dites adieu à Mercator et changez de projection à tous moments. Montrez le monde qui correspond à vos données.


Visualisations

Quatre formes de visualisations paramétrables et combinables à l'envi.


Confidentialité

Vos données vous appartiennent, tout se passe et reste dans votre navigateur.



Ce que vous pouvez créer




Symboles
Aperçu
Dégradé de couleurs
Aperçu
Symboles et dégradé
Aperçu
Catégories de symboles
Aperçu
Symboles (lat/long)
Aperçu
Catégories de surfaces
Aperçu




Le projet Khartis



Origine

Khartis est né d'un constat : comment faire une carte statistique simplement, en peu de clics, en conservant l'exigence et la rigueur scientifiques dans le traitement des données ? L'équipe à l'origine de Khartis a mûri cette idée dans des situations d'enseignement, de recherche ou encore de production et souhaite que des novices se l'approprient, qu'ils soient étudiants, enseignants, journalistes ou simplement curieux.

Idex

L'Initiative d'excellence (Idex) impulsée par les investissements d'avenir (PIA) a permis à Sciences Po de concrétiser en 2016 son projet d'outil de cartographie libre en ligne. L'objectif est multiple : diffusion de savoir-faire, de savoirs (avec un accompagnement pédagogique autour de l'outil) et aussi facilité de mise en oeuvre (aucune installation prérequise). Une connexion à Internet suffit.

Atouts

Khartis n'est pas le premier outil de cartographie en ligne ! Il est toutefois l'un des seuls à donner à voir le monde selon différents points de vue, parmi lesquels le cartographe fera son choix. 3 grandes étapes l'accompagnent de la conception de la carte jusqu'à l'image finale. Il est présenté dans cette v1.0 et proposera des fonctionnalités plus avancées dans une v1.1 sur la base des retours d'expériences.




Sciences Po - Atelier de cartographie


Créé en 1995, l’Atelier de cartographie de Sciences Po est spécialisé dans la visualisation de l’information et recherche constamment l’innovation et la diversification des supports tout en mettant en pratique des notions fondamentales de sémiologie graphique. L’équipe est constituée de cartographes aux origines et intérêts différents et complémentaires : Thomas Ansart, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Anouk Pettès et Antoine Rio.

L’Atelier de cartographie assure des missions d’enseignement et d’accompagnement à la recherche au sein de l’établissement, de la première année jusqu’au doctorat et après. Il assure également des missions d’expertise auprès d’organisations internationales (ONUDC), participe à des projets éditoriaux (revues, atlas, ouvrages) ou encore s’inscrit dans des projets muséographiques (Louvre, MHI).



FAQ


Oui ! Nous lançons Khartis avec le monde d'aujourd'hui (2016, par états) car l'Atelier de cartographie travaille depuis de nombreuses années à cette échelle. Cette échelle laisse toutefois la liberté de créer des cartes plus régionales grâce aux zoom et recadrage possibles avant l'exportation de l'image finale. Nous ajouterons d'autres fonds au fur et à mesure. Alors n’hésitez pas à nous faire des propositions !
Non. Certes Khartis est un outil en ligne mais le fonctionnement reste local, dans le navigateur. Seules les données fournies en exemple sont "en ligne".
Normalement Khartis est prévu pour permettre à un curieux, pas nécessairement cartographe ou scientifique, d'explorer un jeu de données pour en faire des cartes. N'hésitez pas à nous faire part d'améliorations à apporter à l'outil !
Khartis est tout jeune et propose, pour l'instant, 4 visualisations cartographiques de base : des points proportionnels et des classes de valeurs/couleurs pour représenter des quantités et des formes/couleurs/tailles différentes dans le cas de catégories à distinguer, sur des coordonnées précises (points) ou des territoires (surfaces). La combinaison des visualisations offertes dès à présent vous permet un large éventail de résultats. Nous travaillons sur d’autres visualisations...
Nous avons volontairement limité le choix actuel à 3 méthodes : les quantiles travaillent sur les effectifs de la série statistique alors que les intervalles réguliers ou les moyennes emboîtées tiennent compte des valeurs de la variable traitée. Oui, nous réfléchissons à deux pistes de développement qui ne s'excluent pas : d'une part le déplacement manuel des bornes des classes dans le diagramme de fréquences (méthode dite des seuils observés) et d'autre part l'enrichissement avec d'autres méthodes statistiques (moyenne/écrat-type ou Jenks, mais qui nécessite cependant beaucoup de ressources). A suivre donc !
Vous avez le choix d'exporter votre carte en SVG (format dit vectoriel) ou en PNG (format dit raster, avec des pixels). Ce sont les deux grandes familles de format graphique. Toutes les deux s'ouvrent directement dans un navigateur ou peuvent s'insérer directement dans un rapport, un diaporama ou toute publication, papier ou numérique. Un éditeur raster comme Gimp (libre) ou Adobe Photoshop (propriétaire) vous permettra de modifier le PNG. Un éditeur vecteur comme Gravit (libre et en ligne) ou Adobe Illustrator (propriétaire) permettent de modifier le SVG.

Khartis évolue


Juillet 2016
Un seul fond de carte : le monde en 2016 par pays

Octobre 2016
Ajout de fonds de carte nationaux (France), amélioration du diagramme de fréquence, support du copier/coller à l'import

Envie de contribuer ? Un problème ?
Khartis est un projet open source.
Code source et documentation disponible sur GitHub.
Vous pouvez aussi nous écrire à carto[at]sciencespo.fr

Quelle(s) nouvelle(s) fonctionnalité(s) pour Khartis ? Votez et proposez des idées


Conception

Sciences Po - Atelier de cartographie

Financement

Université Sorbonne Paris Cité

Développement

Apyx

Conduite de projet

Sciences Po - Médialab

Mentions légales