Campus 2022

Redesigning our urban campus
  • Cour Treuille de Beaulieu, architect's design © Sciences PoCour Treuille de Beaulieu, architect's design © Sciences Po

A new chapter in Sciences Po's history

In 2022, Sciences Po will celebrate its 150th anniversary and the opening of the new Artillerie site. In a history punctuated with creative innovations, this is a transformation as fundamental as the transition to five years of study, the establishment of six satellite campuses or the Equal Opportunity programme. The plan, named Campus 2022, is not only an architectural challenge; it is a complete renewal.

An open university in the heart of the city

With this new 14,000 m² site, Sciences Po will be able to cater optimally to more than 10,000 students and 200 faculty members in the middle of the capital and, in doing so, consolidate its historic grounding in the heart of Paris. Campus 2022 will be better organised and more coherent, streamlined over four sites around the historic buildings at 27, rue Saint-Guillaume and the new Artillerie site. It will be a campus fit for research that explores the world’s complexity, for a university that takes part in democratic debate and educates decision-makers with a concern for the common good.

A campus to attract talent from around the world

The Artillerie site offers Sciences Po an exceptional opportunity to drive the current educational revolution, thanks to new, open, innovative spaces designed to stimulate creativity, compare ideas and encourage experimentation. This world-class urban campus worthy of one of Europe’s leading research universities is destined to attract top faculty and students from around the world.

Sciences Po, a stakeholder in the education revolution

The current education revolution is driven by the confluence of two factors: desire and technology. The desire for self-directed learning can now harness the fantastic power of digital technology, which makes information available and facilitates the circulation, sharing and rapid development of knowledge. The role of the research university is changing: it’s about bringing together a learning community which puts that knowledge into perspective and makes its meaning shine through. It’s about breaking down barriers between the disciplines to understand an increasingly complex and dynamic world and to produce new perspectives. It is more than ever about learning to learn. Higher education must equip students with new skills suited to the jobs of the future: creativity, the ability to collaborate and to put one’s ideas into practice. Building on a tradition of pedagogical innovation and freedom, Sciences Po wants to contribute to this revolution by allowing innovative learning methods and practices to emerge. Thanks to its educational approach, Sciences Po has the opportunity to be at the forefront of several key aspects of the current revolution: breaking down barriers between disciplines and communities, a firm grounding in the professional world, learning through practice, and connection to learning resources. Such an ambition can only be realised by inventing a new decompartmentalised urban campus; a platform for multidisciplinary research and teaching, engaged with the wider community. This vision is perfectly in line with the Sciences Po 2022 strategic plan.

A redesigned campus district

The Artillerie is a chance to rethink all of Sciences Po’s sites in Paris, with different educational functions depending on students’ study path. The project is a unique opportunity to improve urban planning around the consolidated Sciences Po campus: pedestrian areas to better manage student flows, improved access for disabled students, effective signage and innovative street furniture. The academic soul of Saint-Germain-des-Prés will be brought to the fore in relation with the district’s other institutions.

Saint-Germain North: the buildings at 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 13, rue de l’Université and the Artillerie will be home to the graduate schools, research, the incubator and new learning spaces and formats in general...

Saint-Germain South: the buildings at 27, rue Saint-Guillaume, 56, rue des Saints-Pères, 30, rue Saint-Guillaume and 9, rue de la Chaise will accommodate the Undergraduate College, executive education and Sciences Po’s iconic lecture theatres.

Inner sight of the "émergence", Artillerie, architect's design © Sciences Po

Copyright: Sogelym Dixence / Wilmotte & Associés Architectes / Moreau Kusunoki Architectes / RSI Studio

Campus 2022

Penser le campus urbain de demain
  • Cour Treuille de Beaulieu, Artillerie, projet d'architecte © Sciences PoCour Treuille de Beaulieu, Artillerie, projet d'architecte © Sciences Po
  • Vue intérieure de l'émergence, Artillerie, projet d'architecte © Sciences PoVue intérieure de l'émergence, Artillerie, projet d'architecte © Sciences Po

Une nouvelle histoire débute pour Sciences Po

En 2022, Sciences Po fêtera ses 150 ans et l’ouverture du nouveau site de l’Artillerie. Dans une histoire jalonnée d’innovations créatrices, il s’agit d’une transformation aussi fondamentale que le furent le passage à cinq années d’études, la création de six campus en région ou le dispositif des Conventions Éducation Prioritaire (CEP). Baptisé “Campus 2022”, ce projet n’est pas seulement un défi architectural : c’est une refondation.

Une université ouverte, au cœur de la cité

Réunir plus de 10 000 étudiants et 200 chercheurs au beau milieu d’une capitale européenne : avec ce nouvel espace, Sciences Po renforce son ancrage historique en plein cœur de la cité et participe à son rayonnement. Recentré sur quatre sites autour de deux cœurs - le siège historique du 27, rue Saint-Guillaume et le nouveau site de l’Artillerie - le campus de 2022 sera mieux organisé et plus cohérent. C’est le campus d’une recherche qui explore la complexité du monde, d’une université qui participe au débat démocratique et forme des décideurs conscients du bien commun.

Un campus attractif pour les talents du monde entier

Le site de l’Artillerie offre à Sciences Po l’opportunité exceptionnelle d’être un acteur de la révolution éducative en cours, grâce à de nouveaux lieux ouverts et innovants, conçus pour stimuler la créativité, confronter les idées et favoriser l’expérimentation. Un campus urbain d’envergure internationale pour l’une des premières universités de recherche en Europe, capable d’attirer les meilleurs enseignants et étudiants du monde entier.

Sciences Po, acteur de la révolution éducative en cours

La révolution à l’œuvre dans l’enseignement est née de la rencontre d’une envie et d’une technologie. Envie d’apprendre par soi-même en utilisant le pouvoir fantastique du numérique qui assure l’ubiquité de l’information, la circulation, le partage et l’évolution rapide des savoirs. Le rôle de l’université de recherche change : il s’agit de rassembler une communauté d’apprentissage pour mettre en perspective ces savoirs, en faire émerger le sens. Il s’agit de décloisonner les disciplines pour appréhender une réalité de plus en plus complexe et mouvante, et de produire de nouvelles perspectives. Il s’agit, plus que jamais, d’apprendre à apprendre. L’éducation supérieure doit doter les étudiants de nouvelles compétences adaptées aux métiers de demain : la créativité, la capacité à collaborer, l’aptitude à concrétiser ses idées. Fort de sa tradition d’innovation et de liberté dans la pédagogie, Sciences Po veut contribuer à cette révolution en faisant émerger des méthodes et des pratiques éducatives innovantes. Son projet éducatif lui donne la possibilité d’être aux avant-postes de plusieurs dimensions essentielles de la révolution en cours : le décloisonnement général des disciplines et des communautés, l’ancrage dans le monde professionnel, l’apprentissage par la pratique, la connexion aux ressources pédagogiques. Cette volonté passe par l’invention d’un nouveau modèle de campus décloisonné : une plateforme de recherche et d’enseignement multidisciplinaire ouverte sur la société. Une vision en continuité avec le projet stratégique de Sciences Po 2022.

Un quartier-campus repensé

L’Artillerie est aussi l’occasion de repenser l’ensemble des sites de Sciences Po à Paris. Avec des vocations pédagogiques différentes, en fonction du parcours de l’étudiant. Ce projet est une opportunité unique d’améliorer l’aménagement urbain autour du campus rencontré de Sciences Po : zones piétonnes pour mieux gérer les flux étudiants, parcours facilité pour nos étudiants en situation de handicap, signalétique efficace et mobilier urbain innovant. De quoi valoriser l’âme universitaire de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, en lien avec les établissements du quartier.

Nord Saint-Germain : les bâtiments du 28, rue des Saints-Pères ; du 13, rue de l’Université et de l'Artillerie accueilleront les écoles de niveau master, la recherche, l'incubateur et plus généralement les nouveaux espaces et formats d'enseignement.

Sud Saint-Germain : les bâtiments du 27, rue Saint-Guillaume ; du 56, rue des Saints-Pères ; du 30, rue Saint-Guillaume et du 9, rue de la Chaise accueilleront le Collège universitaire, l'executive education ainsi que les amphithéâtres historiques de Sciences Po.

Plan des campus parisiens à venir, nord Saint-Germain autour de l'Artillerie et du 13, rue de l'Université et sud Saint-Germain, autour de la rue Saint-Guillaume

Crédits images : Sogelym Dixence / Wilmotte & Associés Architectes / Moreau Kusunoki Architectes / RSI Studio