Khieu Samphân

Date: 
3 February, 2008
Auteur: 
Chandler David

The son of a local magistrate in Svay Rieng province, where he was born in 1931, Khieu Samphân attended the same junior high school as Pol Pot, who was in the class above him. A precocious and exceptionally gifted student, he won a scholarship to France in 1953, where he joined the PCF and succeeded Ieng Sary as head of the Cercle Marxiste. His fellows considered him as particularly clever and ambitious (Chandler, 1993: 41). He first studied in Montpellier, then in where he completed in 1959 a doctoral thesis on Cambodia’s economic development, in which he argued for economic autarky and the reduction to an absolute minimum of “unproductive activities”, among which he included commerce and government bureaucracy (L’économie du Cambodge et ses problèmes d’industrialisation). His ideas influenced the debate among Cambodian progressives in the 1950s and ’60s, and helped to frame the policies which the Khmers Rouges would enforce when they came to power (Sher, 2004).

On his return to Cambodia in 1959, Samphân founded a progressive weekly journal, l’Observateur, while supporting himself by teaching, first history, geography and French in a lycee, then law at university. He was co-opted by Sihanouk as a member of parliament and briefly became a junior minister as part of the Prince’s efforts to maintain a political balance between leftists and conservatives. During these years he was renowned among Cambodians for his honesty and incorruptibility, becoming one of the most popular and respected politicians in the country. He also showed considerable personal courage in refusing to be cowed by Sihanouk’s secret police – most notably in 1960 when plain-clothes thugs stripped him naked in the street outside the Observateur’s offices in an unsuccessful attempt to intimidate him. He was also imprisoned in August and September of the same year. Throughout this period, he acted on the instructions of the clandestine Phnom Penh committee of the CPK (Debré, 1976). In 1967, accused to have stirred up the unrest of Samlaut and threatened with trial by Sihanouk’s military court, he fled with Hou Yuon to the jungle, where he spent the following three years under the protection of Mok.They were soon joined by the third progressive minister of Hu Nim and were designated as the “three ghosts” by the press: the rumor of their murder set ablaze the leftist circles. After the 1970 coup, Samphân re-emerged as the most prominent public face of the Khmers Rouges. He served as deputy prime minister, minister of Defense, and commander-in-chief of military forces during the GRUNK. But he never rose to the topmost circle of CPK leadership, the Standing Committee. This later allowed him to claim that he had had no part in the atrocities of the regime. An alternate member of the CPK Central Committee from 1971, Samphân, alias “Hem”, became a full member in 1976 and succeeded soon afterwards Sihanouk as Khmer Rouge Head of State. This mainly ceremonial role made him appear abroad as the honorable regime representative. He was however not only a stooge. Samphân played an important role in the CPK secretariat and, though he denies it today, he may have been promoted to chairman of ‘Office 870’ which operated as a form of cabinet for the CPK Central Committee. He was not in a decision-making post, but had the duty to “keep track of the implementation of the Standing Committee policy decisions”. Samphân also made many public statements supporting the DK underlying policies and inciting to the struggle against “traitors” and “enemies” (Heder and Tittemore, Seven Candidates, 2004: 92-100). Pol Pot trusted him implicitly, and at the end of his life viewed him as a potential successor. Samphân is described as having in his prime a nimble, even mischievous mind – but at the same time was meticulous, doctrinaire, slavishly obedient to his party superiors and extremely rigid in his thinking. He did exactly what Pol Pot asked, no more and no less (Short, 2005).

 After the Vietnamese invasion, Samphân fled with Pol Pot to the Thai border. From 1979 to 1982, he led the exile DK government. Then he officially succeeded Pol Pot as leader of the Khmers Rouges and served in this position until Pol Pot’s death. He played an increasingly public role, heading the Khmer Rouge delegation at international conferences and at the peace negotiations in 1991 that led to Sihanouk’s return. In the last years of Pol Pot’s life, he hesitated to build a new political force, allied to Sihanouk’s son, Prince Ranarridh, which would compete for power legally. But the moment had long since passed. He remained faithful to the Khmers Rouges until December 1998, when he and Nuon Chea  defected to the government. He lived in Pailin on the Thai border with his family until November 2007, when he was arrested to await trial before a mixed Cambodian international tribunal. In 2004, Samphân published his memoirs, Cambodia’s Recent History and My Successive Standpoints.

 

CHANDLER, David, 1993, Pol Pot : Frère Numéro Un, : Plon.

DEBRE, François, 1976, Cambodge, la révolution de la forêt, : Flammarion.

HEDER, Steve, TITTEMORE, Brian D., 2004, Seven Candidates for Prosecution. Accountability for the Crimes of the Khmer Rouge, Phnom Penh: Documentation Center of Cambodia.

KANE, Solomon, 2007, Dictionnaire des Khmers rouges, IRASEC, Aux Lieux d’être.

SÂMPHAN, Khieu, 2004, L'histoire récente du Cambodge et mes prises de position, : L'Harmattan.

 SHER, Sacha, 2004, Le Kampuchéa des "Khmers rouges" : essai de compréhension d'une tentative de révolution, : L'Harmattan.

SHORT, Philip, 2004, Pol Pot. Anatomy of a Nightmare, New York: Henry Holt.

Cite this item

Chandler David, Khieu Samphân, Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence, [online], published on: 3 February, 2008, accessed 11/12/2019, http://bo-k2s.sciences-po.fr/mass-violence-war-massacre-resistance/en/document/khieu-samphan, ISSN 1961-9898
Back to top

Khieu Samphân

Date: 
10 Septembre, 2012
Auteur: 
OEMV

Fils d’un magistrat local de la province de Svay Rieng où il naît en 1931, Khieu Samphân fréquente le même lycée que Pol Pot (mais une classe en-dessous de lui). Brillant étudiant, il obtient une bourse pour étudier en France en 1953, où il adhère au PCF et succède à Ieng Sary à la tête du Cercle marxiste. Considéré comme intelligent et ambitieux par ses pairs (Chandler, 1993: 41), il commence à étudier à Montpellier puis à , où il soutient en 1959 une thèse de doctorat sur le développement économique du Cambodge. Il y défend l’autarcie économique et la réduction maximale des « activités improductives » comme le commerce ou la bureaucratie (L’économie du Cambodge et ses problèmes d’industrialisation). Ses idées influencent les débats des progressistes cambodgiens des années 50 et 60 et esquissent les futures politiques des Khmers Rouges. (Sher, 2004).

De retour au Cambodge en 1959, Samphan fonde un hebdomadaire progressiste, L’Observateur, tout en subvenant à ses besoins en enseignant l’histoire-géographie et le grançais au lycée, ainsi que le droit à l’université. Il est coopté par Sihanouk au Parlement et est brièvement Secrétaire D’Etat dans le cadre des efforts du Prince pour maintenir l’équilibre entre la gauche et les conservateurs. Son honnêteté et son incorruptibilité en font alors l’un des politiciens les plus populaires et les plus respectés du pays. Il montre également un grand courage personnel en ne se laissant pas intimider par la police secrète de Sihanouk (en 1960, il est ainsi agressé et déshabillé en pleine rue par des nervis en civil devant les locaux de L’Observateur). Il est aussi emprisonné en août et septembre de la même année. Tout au long de la période, il agit sur instructions du Comité clandestin du PCK (Debré, 1976). En 1967, accusé d’avoir attisé l’insurrection de Samlaut et menacé de procès militaire, il fuit vers la jungle avec Hou Yuon, vivant trois ans sous la protection de Mok. Rapidement rejoints par un troisième ministre progressiste, Hu Nim, ils sont désignés par la presse comme « les trois fantômes » : la rumeur de leur mort enflamme les cercles gauchistes. Après le coup d’Etat de 1970, Samphan re-émerge comme la plus éminente figure Khmer Rouge. Sous le GRUNK, il est Premier ministre-adjoint, Ministre de la Défense et commandant suprême de l’armée. Mais il ne parvient pas à s’élever au suprême Comité Permanent du PCK, ce qui lui permit plus tard de plaider sa non-responsabilité dans les atrocités du régime. Membre en alternance du Comité Central en 1971, il en devient membre permanent sous le nom de Hem en 1976 et succède peu après à Sihanouk à la tête de l’Etat. Cette fonction de prestige le propulse au rang d’honorable visage du régime. Mais loin d’inaugurer les chrysanthèmes, Samphan conserve son importance au sein du secrétariat du PCK et, bien qu’il le nie aujourd’hui, a pu être promu directeur du « Bureau 870 », sorte de cabinet du Comité Central du PCK. Samphan n’y prenait pas de grandes décisions, mais avait pour tâche de « contrôler et d’enregistrer l’application des décisions du Comité Permanent ». Il fait également des déclarations publiques en faveur des politiques sous-jacentes du Kampuchéa Démocratique et appelle à la lutte contre les « traîtres » et les « ennemis » (Heder and Tittemore, Seven Candidates, 2004: 92-100). Lui faisant une confiance absolue, Pol Pot l’envisagea d’ailleurs comme son successeur potentiel à la fin de sa vie. Samphan est décrit comme très vif d’esprit, parfois espiègle, mais aussi méticuleux, doctrinaire, d’une obéissance totale à ses supérieurs du Parti et très rigide dans sa façon de penser, ne faisant ni plus ni moins qu’appliquer les ordres de Pol Pot (Short 2005).

Après l’invasion vietnamienne, Samphân s’enfuit avec Pol Pot à la frontière thaïlandaise. De 1979 à 1982, il dirige le gouvernement en exil du Kampuchéa Démocratique. Il succéda ensuite officiellement à Pol Pot à la tête des Khmers Rouges, y restant jusqu’à la mort du Frère n° un. Signe de son importance croissante, il représente les Khmers Rouges dans les conférences internationales ainsi qu’aux négociations de 1991 qui mènent au retour de Sihanouk. Pendant les dernières années de Pol Pot, il songe à bâtir une nouvelle force politique qui briguerait le pouvoir légalement, alliée au Prince Ranarridh (fils de Sihanouk) mais finit par y renoncer. Il reste fidèle aux Khmers Rouges jusqu’en décembre 1998, date à laquelle il se rend au gouvernement cambodgien avec Nuon Chea. Résidant avec sa famille à Pailin sur la frontière thaïlandaise, il publie ses mémoires en 2004 (L'histoire récente du Cambodge et mes prises de position) avant d’être arrêté pour être jugé devant le tribunal international pour le Cambodge. Son procès s’est ouvert en juin 2011, en même temps que ceux de Nuon Chea, Ieng Sary et Ieng Thirith.

Citer cet article

OEMV , Khieu Samphân, Violence de masse et Résistance - Réseau de recherche, [en ligne], publié le : 10 Septembre, 2012, accéder le 11/12/2019, http://bo-k2s.sciences-po.fr/mass-violence-war-massacre-resistance/fr/document/khieu-samphan, ISSN 1961-9898
Retour en haut de page