10th Transatlantic Workshop on the Economics of Crime September 27&28th 2018

10th Transatlantic Workshop on the Economics of Crime September 27&28th 2018

Call for papers
  • ShutterstockShutterstock


10th Transatlantic Workshop on the Economics of Crime

Paris, France, September 27th  – 28th  2018

[language: English] 

This 10th workshop will continue the sequence of Economics of Crime workshops previously held in Paris (2009), Bonn (2010), Torino (2011), Rotterdam (2012), Frankfurt (2013), Milan (2014), London (2015), Stockholm (2016) and Philadelphia (2017).

This year’s edition will be organized in Sciences Po in Paris, France on September 27-28th  2018.

We aim to bring together researchers from both sides of the Atlantic to present and discuss their work, allowing for an in-depth interaction between those working on the empirical and theoretical analysis of crime and illegal behaviour.

The workshop will consist of two keynote lectures – to be given by Anna Aizer (Brown University) and Bruce Western (Harvard University) and 10 to 12 contributed papers.

Suggested topics covered include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Judicial decisions
  • Social prevention of crime and violence
  • Early childhood interventions 
  • Evaluation of police crime reduction strategies
  • Re-entry and rehabilitation interventions
  • Guns (and related policies) and crime
  • Social interactions, networks, and crime
  • Crime and labour markets
  • Economic crises, poverty, inequality and crime

The workshop is organized by the Laboratory for Interdisciplinary Evaluation of Public Policies (LIEPP) at Sciences Po. 

We invite researchers to submit a paper (in PDF) by sending an e-mail to TWECParis2018@gmail.com. The submission deadline is May 1st, 2018. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by June 17th 2018. We will provide hotel accommodation and meals for the presenters. Limited funding will be available to cover travel expenses for paper presenters. 

The 2017 Organizing Committee is:  Roberto Galbiati (Sciences Po Paris, CNRS); Olivier Marie (Erasmus University Rotterdam); Paolo Pinotti (Bocconi University); Giovanni Mastrobuoni (Collegio Carlo Alberto), Aurelie Ouss (University of Pennsylvania), David Abrams (University of Pennsylvania), Emily Owens (University of California, Irvine).


Back to top