Jean-Marc Siroën

The latest WTO Round launched in Doha in 2001 has once again stalled. Even if an agreement were reached it is not certain it would be ratified by the US Congress. The latest delay is due in part to the changing economic context in which the negotiations are taking place, some of which changes are due to decisions made during the course of the negotiations. Governments and public opinion are increasingly in favor of bilateral negotiations in which it is possible to include new subjects rejected in the Doha multilateral negotiations. These include rules on labor and environmental standards, competition policy, investment, and government procurement. The assertiveness of emerging economies has upset the co-leadership positions of the US and the EU and argues for a new, as yet-to-be determined, negotiating process. The latest economic crisis has raised question about the objectives of the agriculture negotiations and has revealed the difficulties faced by an organization that thinks long-term of adapting to changes in the short term. This paper’s recommendations are aimed at improving the ability of the WTO to operate under current conditions and advocates the inclusion of new negotiating topics. If the principle of decision by consensus is not revised the rush to bilateralism is likely to continue, which is dangerous because of its discriminatory character.

Adeline Braux

Hostile, sometimes even xenophobic discourse towards migrants remains generally the norm in Russia. However, the Russian Federation’s migration policy appears relatively flexible, particularly in regards to the member countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), whose nationals benefit from simplified procedures when it comes to entering Russian territory and obtaining a work permit. Russian authorities, reticent after the Western Europe experience, intend therefore to promote labor immigration and limit family immigration. At the same time, in order to encourage the cohesion of the Russian nation as a whole, the Russian Federation intends to undertake an ambitious policy to promote cultural diversity, including both the many different constituent groups among Russians and the immigrant communities in Russia. This multiculturalism “à la russe” recalls the “folklorization” during the Soviet period involving the cultures and traditions of the Soviet Union’s different populations. In the absence of a real political directive a the federal level, local authorities have been more active on the matter, notably in Moscow.

“Natural” risks and catastrophes appeared in the international arena in the early 1990s. A real « world » of “natural” catastrophes has emerged internationally and has become more and more institutionalized. This study raises questions such as: how has this space been built? How do actors legitimize its necessity? What does it tell us about the way the contemporary world manages fears globally? A diachronic approach of this double process of internationalization and institutionalization allows the author to situate the phenomenon in the historical and global context, and notably of a context of transformation of the notion of security. The sociological analysis of the main multilateral organizations that contribute to forming this space invites us to apprehend the various lines of tension that cross over, and to foresee its complexity. Despite the many attempts to make this space appear as a “community” of sense and practices, strong disparities characterize the actors’ approaches.

Burcu Gorak Giquel

Cross-border cooperation in the EU policy of regional development is crucial for three reasons: it reinforces partnerships between, on the one hand, central, regional and local agents, and on the other hand, public, private, and associative actors; it rests on the decentralized structure of states, assigning to each level of intervention a unique role in the development process. Finally, it supports local initiative. Cross-border cooperation becomes a vehicle for the “multi-level governance” that the EU intends to promote, by linking organization of regionalized action, cooperation between actors, and solid territorial establishment. For Turkey the task represents a challenge and an opportunity. A challenge, because regionalization directly affects the unitary structure of the state. An opportunity, because the EU does not impose any model of decentralization. On the contrary, the EU gives national actors the chance to create their own public structures in function of their historical path and the negotiation between the centre and the periphery. This is what this study ultimately attempts to show, stressing two aspects of Turkish transformations: decentralization is not a precondition for membership and that different forms of cooperation exist at the borders with Bulgaria and Syria, as a proof of the Europeanization of the Turkish public administrations.

Damien Krichewsky

The post-interventionist development adopted by Indian governments from the mid-1980s onwards has enabled companies to further participate in the economic growth. Still, growth benefits are very unevenly distributed while social and environmental externalities weigh more and more on Indian society. In such a context, while public regulation tends to reduce social and environmental judicial constraints in order to encourage rapid growth of investments, civil society groups are intensifying their regulatory actions on private companies, and advocate for a balance of public policies in favor of a better protection of the social groups most affected by economic activity, and for a better protection of the environment. As a response, big companies are revising their strategies and practices of corporate social responsibility (CSR), to preserve their social legitimacy and the conciliatory attitude of the State. This study explores the recomposition of relationships and balances of power between economic actors, the State and the civil society, in a context of national modernization. It provides a detailed analysis of stakes and dynamics within public and civil society regulation, as well as companies’ self-regulations.

The Darfur crisis has shed light on unresolved crises at its borders in Chad and the Central African Republic. What these various conflicts most have in common is probably the existence of transnational armed movements that endure and reorganize in the fringes created by state dynamics in the region as well as the aporias of the international community’s conflict-resolution policies doubled by the choices of certain major powers. An analysis of the situation in the Central African Republic and the history of certain armed movements active in this regional space argues in favor of a less conventional approach to crisis-solving strategies. It points up a zone centered on the Central African Republic and its borders with neighboring countries as the real site for the analysis of armed factionalism since the wave of independence and the specific trajectories of state-building.

With over 8 million Filipinos living overseas, it could be argued that people have become the country’s largest export commodity. With their remittances making up 13% of GDP, they are as well crucially important economic actors. Has the Philippine state been instrumental in this exodus and in harvesting its fruits? Addressing such a proposition requires further refinement of three basic concepts – state, diaspora and transnationalism – through the use of three structuring templates. As a preliminary, the dichotomy of state strength and weakness is grounded in an analysis of a particular sector, namely emigration. By drawing on the typologies of Robin Cohen, Filipino overseas communities are portrayed as possessing, to some extent, the characteristics of much more readily accepted diasporas. However, a sketch of the varied experience of a heterogeneous Filipino diaspora underlines the differences between permanent migrants, contract workers, sea-based workers and irregular migrants. The diverse lived experiences of these groups – and their relations with their “home” nation – call into question the salience of notions of “transnationalism”. This questioning is reinforced by an examination of the Filipino state’s role in creating a “self-serving” diaspora through a review of the three phases in Filipino emigration policy since 1974. The characteristics that come to the fore are rather forms of “long-distance nationalism” and “rooted cosmopolitanism”. Taking cognizance of the multiple identities and loyalties in the case of the Filipino diaspora, a process of “binary nationalisms” is posited as a more fruitful avenue for future research.

Jean-Marc Siroën

Le nouveau cycle de négociations multilatérales (« Round ») ouvert à Doha en 2001 s’est enlisé et n’a pu aboutir à un accord final, dont la ratification par les Etats-Unis ne serait d’ailleurs pas acquise. Ce retard s’explique notamment par l’évolution du contexte, qui est parfois la conséquence des choix de Doha. L’adhésion des gouvernements et des opinions publiques s’est émoussée, avec une préférence de plus en plus affirmée pour des accords bilatéraux permettant, notamment, d’intégrer de nouveaux sujets bloqués à l’OMC (normes de travail, concurrence, investissement, marchés publics, environnement). L’affirmation des pays émergents a déséquilibré le co-leadership Etats-Unis-Union européenne et impliqué une modification du processus de négociation qui ne s’est pas stabilisé. La crise économique a remis en cause certains objectifs de la négociation agricole et révélé la difficulté d’une organisation qui raisonne dans le long terme à adapter sa doctrine aux conditions de court terme. Les quelques propositions formulées visent à réviser la doctrine pour mieux l’insérer dans une problématique moderne ; elles défendent l’inclusion de nouveaux sujets qui élargissent le champ des négociations. Si le principe du consensus n’est pas remis en cause, la réhabilitation des accords plurilatéraux pourrait désamorcer une orientation vers le bilatéralisme, dangereuse à terme par son caractère discriminatoire.

Adeline Braux

Les discours hostiles aux migrants, voire xénophobes, demeurent la plupart du temps la norme en Russie. Pour autant, la politique migratoire de la Fédération de Russie apparaît relativement souple, en particulier à l’égard des pays membres de la CEI, dont les ressortissants bénéficient de procédures simplifiées pour l’entrée sur le territoire russe et l’obtention d’un permis de travail. Les autorités russes, échaudées par l’expérience des pays d’Europe occidentale, entendent ainsi favoriser l’immigration de travail et limiter l’immigration familiale. Parallèlement, afin de favoriser la cohésion de la nation russe dans son ensemble, la Fédération de Russie entend mener une politique de promotion de la diversité culturelle ambitieuse, tant envers les différents peuples constitutifs de Russie qu’envers les communautés immigrées présentes sur son territoire. Ce « multiculturalisme à la russe » n’est d’ailleurs pas sans rappeler la folklorisation dont les cultures et traditions des différents peuples d’URSS étaient l’objet pendant la période soviétique. Toutefois, faute d’une véritable ligne directrice au niveau fédéral, les autorités locales ont été plus actives en la matière, notamment à Moscou.

Depuis le début des années 1990, la thématique des risques et des catastrophes « naturels » a émergé sur la scène internationale. Un véritable « monde » des catastrophes « naturelles » s'est constitué au niveau international et s’est peu à peu institutionnalisé. Comment ses acteurs en légitiment-ils la nécessité ? Que nous révèle-t-il de la façon dont le monde contemporain gère ses peurs au niveau global ? Une approche diachronique de ce processus d’internationalisation et d’institutionnalisation permet de resituer ce phénomène dans un contexte historique et mondial, notamment de transformation de la notion de sécurité. L’analyse sociologique des principales organisations intergouvernementales, qui jouent un rôle central dans cette dynamique, invite à saisir les différentes lignes de tension qui la traversent et à entrevoir sa complexité. En effet, malgré les tentatives visant à faire apparaître cet espace comme une « communauté » de sens et de pratiques, de fortes disparités caractérisent les approches des différents acteurs.

Burcu Gorak Giquel

Dans le cadre des politiques européennes de développement régional, les coopérations transfrontalières représentent un élément de toute première importance, pour trois raisons : elles renforcent les partenariats entre, d’une part, les acteurs centraux, régionaux et locaux, d’autre part, les acteurs publics privés et associatifs ; elles s’adossent à l’architecture décentralisée des Etats en assignant à chaque niveau d’intervention son propre rôle en matière de développement ; enfin, elles favorisent l’initiative locale. Elles deviennent ainsi les vecteurs de la « gouvernance à niveaux multiples » qu’entend promouvoir l’Union européenne (UE), en liant l’organisation de l’action publique, les coopérations entre acteurs et l’ancrage dans les territoires. Pour un Etat très centralisé comme la Turquie il s’agit d’un défi et d’une chance : défi, parce que la régionalisation concerne directement la structure unitaire de l’Etat. Chance, parce que l’UE n’oblige à aucune décentralisation forcée. Au contraire, elle laisse aux acteurs nationaux le soin d’aménager leur propre architecture territoriale en fonction de leur trajectoire historique et de la négociation entre centre et périphérie. Cette Etude le démontre en insistant sur deux aspects des transformations turques : la décentralisation n’est nullement un préalable à l’adhésion ; des coopérations différentiées existent aux frontières avec la Bulgarie et avec la Syrie, preuve de la dynamique d’européanisation des administrations turques.

Damien Krichewsky

La stratégie de développement post-interventionniste, adoptée dès le milieu des années 1980 par le gouvernement indien, a permis aux entreprises d’accroître considérablement leur participation à la croissance économique du pays. Cependant, les bénéfices de la croissance sont très inégalement répartis, alors même que les externalités sociales et environnementales des entreprises pèsent de plus en plus lourd sur la société indienne. Dans ces conditions, face à un régulateur public qui allège les contraintes juridiques sociales et environnementales susceptibles d’entraver une croissance rapide des investissements, de nombreuses organisations de la société civile renforcent et multiplient leurs actions de régulation civile des entreprises, tout en plaidant pour un rééquilibrage de l’action publique en faveur d’une plus grande protection des groupes sociaux affectés par les entreprises et une préservation plus effective de l’environnement. En réponse, les grandes entreprises indiennes révisent leurs stratégies et pratiques de RSE (responsabilité sociale d’entreprise), afin de protéger leur légitimité sociale et de préserver l’attitude conciliante des pouvoirs publics. A travers une analyse détaillée des enjeux et des dynamiques qui animent la régulation publique, la régulation civile et l’autorégulation des entreprises, la présente étude rend compte d’une recomposition des relations et des rapports de force entre les acteurs du marché, l’Etat et la société civile sur fond de modernisation du pays.

La crise du Darfour a permis de mettre en lumière des crises irrésolues sur ses frontières au Tchad et en République centrafricaine. Le point commun de ces différents conflits est sans doute l’existence de mouvements armés transnationaux qui survivent et se recomposent dans les marges qu’autorisent les dynamiques étatiques dans la région, ainsi que les apories des politiques de résolution des conflits de la communauté internationale – apories redoublées par les choix de certaines grandes puissances. Une analyse de la conjoncture en Centrafrique et de l’histoire de certains mouvements armés, inscrits dans cet espace régional, plaide pour une approche moins conventionnelle des politiques de sorties de crise. Elle met en exergue une zone centrée sur la Centrafrique et ses frontières avec les pays voisins comme véritable site d’analyse du factionnalisme armé depuis les indépendances, ainsi que des trajectoires spécifiques de construction étatique.

Avec plus de 8 millions d’expatriés, la population représente la principale exportation nationale des Philippines. Les transferts de fonds constituent 13?% du PIB et font des expatriés des acteurs économiques centraux. L’Etat philippin a-t-il instrumentalisé cet exode afin d’en récolter les fruits ? Répondre à cette question nécessite de distinguer trois concepts fondamentaux : l’Etat, la diaspora et le transnationalisme. Le texte suggère que l’utilisation de la dichotomie de la force et de la faiblesse d’un Etat doit se fonder sur une analyse du rôle de ce dernier dans l’émigration. Les typologies de Robin Cohen servent par ailleurs à démontrer que les communautés philippines d’outre-mer répondent à des caractéristiques propres à des communautés diasporiques plus généralement reconnues. Reste qu’il faut s’interroger sur les expériences de cette diaspora hétérogène pour mettre en avant la distinction entre émigrés permanents, saisonniers, travailleurs en mer et personnes en situation irrégulière. La vie de ces groupes et leurs relations avec leur "mère patrie" remet en question la prédominance de la notion de "transnationalisme". Cette analyse critique est renforcée par l’examen du rôle de l’Etat dans la création d’une diaspora instrumentalisée au cours de trois périodes de politiques d’immigration depuis 1974. Les caractéristiques qui ressortent de cette analyse sont des formes de "nationalisme longue distance" (Anderson, Schiller) et de "cosmopolitanisme enraciné" (Appiah). D’autres pistes de recherche plus fructueuses peuvent naître de l’exploration des multiples identités, des loyautés et dans le cas philippin des "nationalismes binaires".