180614 - ECPR SGEU: Euroscepticism and the Future of European Integration

Thu, 2018-06-14 18:00 - 20:00


JEPP Keynote Lecture with Professor Catherine de Vries "Euroscepticism and the Future of European Integration"

Thursday 14th, June 2018, 6.15 pm – 8.00 pm, Amphitheater Boutmy, Sciences Po, 27 rue Saint-Guillaume, 75007 Paris

To attend the Keynote Lecture, please register her

More information

To print the poster (pdf)

The lecture will be introduced by Berthold Rittberger, co-editor of the Journal of European Public Policy.

The European Union is facing turbulent times. It is plagued by deep divisions over how to shape its future. Over half a century of integration has created a profound interconnectedness between the political, economic, and social fates of member states. At the same time, however, the fortunes of member states have started to diverge dramatically.
As a result, the political fault lines are widening. Today, they crosscut the continent from North to South on the economy and austerity, and from East to West on migration and human rights. What are the effects of these development on public opinion? By presenting a wealth of empirical evidence, this lecture provides an overview of the contours of public opinion. Moreover, it discusses how it matters for behaviour in elections and how it shapes possible reform of the European Union in the future.


Catherine de Vries is a Professor of Politics in the Department of Government at the University of Essex where she also serves as the Director of the Essex Centre for Experimental Social Sciences, and a Professor and Chair of Political Behaviour at the Free University Amsterdam. She is also an associate member of Nuffield College at the University of Oxford. Over the years, she has published extensively on the most important societal and political problems facing Europe today, such as the ramifications of the Eurozone crisis, the success of extremist parties or political corruption. Her recent monograph Euroscepticism and the Future of European Integration with Oxford University Press provides a systematic account of public opinion towards Europe.

The Journal of European Public Policy (JEPP) was founded 25 years ago by Jeremy Richardson, and has become one of the most authoritative sources on scholarship on public policy, European politics and the European Union. It consistently ranks among the top political science journals (9/165, Journal Citation Report 2016; 6th, Google Scholar 2016). The journal is currently co-edited by Jeremy Richardson and Berthold Rittberger.

180614 - ECPR SGEU Conference of the TEPSA Network: The Future of Europe – A View from the Capitals

Thu, 2018-06-14 13:00 - 14:15


ECPR SGEU Conference of the TEPSA Network: The Future of Europe – A View from the Capitals

Wednesday 14th, June 2018, 1.00 pm – 2.15 pm, Amphitheater Sorel, Sciences Po, 27 rue Saint-Guillaume, 75007 Paris


More information

To print the poster (pdf)


A book project of the Trans European Policy Studies Association (TEPSA)
An initiative by the Austrian Society for European Politics

Representatives of the civil society and academia contribute to increase the pressure on national politics to more actively engage in the debate on the future of Europe. Authors from each of the (still) 28 Member States plus selected other European countries will assess in short, concise and easy to read opinion pieces – each one around 6.000 characters – how their respective country could get more involved.

Distribution of the book
The book will be promoted by the TEPSA network (http://www.tepsa.eu/members/), to which most of the authors belong. Its presentation will take place at the TEPSA Pre-Presidency Conference on June 7, 2018, in Vienna.
A few days afterwards the book will be launched and discussed in Brussels and at the SGEU Conference in Paris. Subsequently, public discussions will be organized in the member states with the authors and national policy makers – potentially supported by the respective delegations of the European Commission and by the Europe for Citizens programme of the European Union.

The various country contributions shall also be published as op-eds in newspapers in the respective countries.

Foreword by Antonio Tajani
Comparative analysis and Introduction
Contributions from 28 EU countries as well as Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey
List of authors:
Austria, Austrian Society for European Politics / Webster University, Paul Schmidt / Johannes Pollak
Belgium, CEVIPOL (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Amandine Crespy / Nathalie Brack
Bulgaria ,Centre for Liberal Strategies, Daniel Smilov
Croatia, Institute for Development and International Relations, Jakša Puljiz
Cyprus, Cyprus Center of European and International Affairs, Giorgos Kentas
Czech Republic, Institute of International Relations, Petr Kratochvíl / Vit Benes
Denmark, University of Copenhagen – Centre for European Politics, Marlene Wind
Estonia, Estonian Foreign Policy Institute, Viljar Veebel
Finland, The Finnish Institute of International Affairs, Juha Jokela
France, Centre d’Etudes Européennes – Sciences Po, Xavier Ragot / Olivier Rozenberg
Germany, UIBK / SWP, Andreas Maurer
Greece, Greek Center of European Studies & Research, European Public Law Org., Xenophon Yataganas / Antonis Papagiannidis
Hungary, Central European University, Péter Balázs
Ireland, Institute of International and European Affairs, Cian Mc Carthy
Italy, LUISS, Sergio Fabbrini
Latvia, Latvian Institute for International Affairs, Kārlis Bukovskis & Aldis Austers
Lithuania, Institute of International Relations and Political Sciences, Ramūnas Vilpišauskas
Luxembourg, Institute of Political Science, University of Luxembourg, Anna-Lena Högenauer
Malta, Institute for European Studies, University of Malta, Mark Harwood
Netherlands, Clingendael – Netherlands Institute of International Relations, Adriaan Schout
Poland, Centre for European Studies, Uniwersytetu Jagiellońskiego, Zdislaw Mach
Portugal, Institute of Contemporary History – NOVA University, Alice Cunha
Romania, Romanian Center for European Policies (CRPE), Bianca Toma
Slovakia, Slovak Foreign Policy Association, Oľga Gyárfášová / Lucia Mokrá
Slovenia, Centre of International Relations, University of Ljubljana, Maja Bučar
Spain, Real Instituto Elcano, Ignacio Molina
Sweden, Swedish Institute for European Policy Studies, Göran von Sydow
UK, Federal Trust for Education and Research, Brendan Donnelly
Norway, NUPI, Ulf Sverdrup
Switzerland, ETH Zürich, Frank Schimmelfennig
Turkey, METU, Başak Alpan
Iceland, Iceland – Institute of International Affairs and the Centre for Small State Studies, Baldur Thorhallsson

Palgrave Macmillan