MOOC

“Cities are back in town”: analysing the new urban forms of the contemporary world

"Urban sociology for a globalising urban world": with this online course in English, available for free on the Coursera platform, Patrick Le Galès offers a conceptual and comparative approach to understanding urban models, how they are changing and the social and political issues they raise.

Objectives

From Calcutta to Seoul to Cairo and throughout the world, globalisation goes hand in hand with the emergence of “super cities”. Researchers have responded to these new urban forms by developing new concepts: “post-metropolises”, “world cities”, “global urban regions”. How can we analyse cities that are becoming as vast as regions? Can differences be identified within this global phenomenon?

The course draws on the various urban models offered by the social sciences to analyse these new urban phenomena. In eight sessions, the classic questions of urban studies are addressed in combination with contemporary issues: globalisation, mobility, capitalism, sustainable development, “cyborg” cities, social control, urban culture, etc.

Target students

This course is designed for undergraduate students, but is also of interest to graduate students and all professionals who work on urban issues.

For more information

Cities are back in town : urban sociology for a globalizing urban world.

MOOC

"Cities are back in town" : analyser les nouvelles formes urbaines du monde contemporain

“Sociologie urbaine pour un monde globalisé” : avec ce cours en ligne, en anglais, et accessible gratuitement sur la plateforme Coursera, Patrick Le Galès propose une approche conceptuelle et comparative des modèles de villes, de leurs mutations et des enjeux sociaux et politiques qu’elles soulèvent.

Objectifs

De Calcutta au Caire, en passant par Séoul : partout dans le monde, la mondialisation va de pair avec l’émergence de “super mégalopoles”. Pour comprendre ces formes nouvelles, la recherche développe de nouveaux concepts : “post-métropoles”, “cités globales”, “régions urbaines globales”. Comment analyser des villes qui deviennent aussi vastes qu’une région ? Peut-on identifier des différences au sein de ce phénomène mondial ?

Ce cours s’appuiera sur les différents modèles de villes et de métropoles proposés par les sciences sociales pour analyser ces nouveaux phénomènes urbains. En huit séances, il aborde les grands classiques des questions urbaines tout en les combinant avec des problématiques contemporaines : tissu urbain, mobilité, développement durable, villes “cyborg”, contrôle social, culture urbaine, etc.

Public

Ce cours s’adresse à un public d’étudiants de premier cycle, mais il intéressera également des étudiants de niveau master, et tous les professionnels qui travaillent sur les problématiques urbaines.

En savoir plus

Cities are back in town : sociologie urbaine pour un monde globalisé