Vivant, Michel

Full professor at Sciences Po 
Contact Michel Vivant

Prof. Vivant was a lecturer at the law school in Montpellier and a member of the bar there from 1972-1976. He earned the CAPA post-graduate legal qualification and subsequently received the Lauréat de l'Ordre. He passed the agrégation in 1980, holds a doctorate in law and was named laureate of the law school six times.

Prof. Vivant first taught in Pau and soon joined the Montpellier law school faculty. After directing the IRETIJ there (a pioneering institute focusing on technology and law), he chose to pursue an unusual, multi-disciplinary approach to intellectual property and founded the ERCIM (an intellectual property research group) and the post-graduate DEA and master's in intellectual property law.

Dean of the School of Law and Economics and vice-president of the Université Montpellier 1, he has held various academic positions and served on the science ethics and scientific research committees of the national research institution, the Centre national de la recherche scientifique. He is often called as an expert, including by the European Commission and Council of Europe. He served as the Council's science expert for the drafting of the Convention on Cybercrime. He was also a member of the French Ministry of Justice's committee on the law of evidence (1998-2000) and the Council of State's committee on the Internet and the law. He currently serves on the Conseil supérieur de la propriété industrielle.

He joined the Sciences Po faculty in 2007, where he directs the intellectual property specialization in the Droit économique program. Michel Vivant received an honorary doctorate from the University of Heidelberg at the age of 41. He has published on all aspects of intellectual property in more than 15 countries and has been a guest or associate professor at many universities around the world, such as the Vargas Foundation (Rio de Janeiro), Université Laval (Québec), Université de Louvain-la-Neuve and the University of Can Tho (Vietnam) among others. He is also a professor at the Centre d'Etudes Internationales de la Propriété intellectuelle in Strasbourg. To date, he has supervised 70 doctoral candidates in law, both French and international.

Prof. Vivant has also maintained a strong commitment to legal practice. He consults extensively with businesses, including law firms, in France and abroad and serves as an arbitrator, both nationally and internationally, in the area of new technologies. Last, he serves as an arbitrator with WIPO in matters of domain name disputes.

Spécialités / Fields of Expertise

  • Intellectual Property
  • E-commerce
  • Private International law

Vivant, Michel

Professeur des Universités à Sciences Po ;
Directeur scientifique de la spécialité «Propriété intellectuelle» du master Droit économique.
Contacter Michel Vivant

Assistant puis maître de conférences à la Faculté de Droit de Montpellier, inscrit au barreau de cette ville de 1972 à 1976 (major du CAPA puis lauréat de l'ordre), Michel Vivant a été agrégé en 1980. Il est docteur en droit et a été six fois lauréat de la faculté.

D'abord professeur à Pau, il a vite rejoint la Faculté de Montpellier où, après avoir dirigé l'IRETIJ (laboratoire pionnier en informatique juridique), optant pour une approche transversale atypique de la propriété intellectuelle il a fondé et dirigé l'ERCIM (Équipe de recherche Créations Immatérielles et Droit) ainsi que le DEA puis le Master de Droit des Créations immatérielles.

Doyen de la Faculté de Droit et des Sciences économiques, vice-président de l'Université Montpellier 1, il a occupé diverses responsabilités académiques et fut ainsi membre du Comité national de la Recherche scientifique ou du Comité d'éthique pour les Sciences du CNRS. Souvent appelé comme expert, il a par exemple été sollicité par la Commission européenne ou le Conseil de l'Europe qui en fit son «expert scientifique» lors de l'élaboration de la Convention sur la Criminalité dans le cyberespace. Il fut par ailleurs membre de la Commission sur le Droit de la Preuve installée auprès du Ministère de la Justice (1998 - 2000) et de la Commission du Conseil d'État sur l'Internet et le Droit. Il est aujourd'hui membre du Conseil supérieur de la propriété industrielle.

Il a été nommé à Sciences Po en 2007 où il a la responsabilité de la spécialité Propriété intellectuelle du master de «Droit économique». Docteur honoris causa de l'Université de Heidelberg à l'âge de 41 ans, Michel Vivant, qui a publié dans tout le champ des propriétés intellectuelles dans plus de quinze pays, a été professeur invité ou associé dans de nombreuses institutions universitaires, de la Fondation Vargas à Rio à l'Université Laval à Québec, en passant par l'Université de Louvain-la-Neuve ou celle de Can Tho au Vietnam. Il est également professeur au Centre d'Études Internationales de la Propriété intellectuelle de Strasbourg. Il a à ce jour dirigé les travaux de 70 docteurs en droit, français comme étrangers.

Mais le souci de Michel Vivant a toujours été de conserver aussi un fort ancrage pratique. C'est ainsi qu'il a une importante activité de conseil, en France et à l'étranger, auprès des entreprises comme des cabinets d'avocats, ainsi qu'une pratique de l'arbitrage, là encore nationale et internationale, spécialement dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies. Il est enfin «arbitre» OMPI pour les noms de domaine.

Spécialités / Fields of Expertise

  • Droit de la propriété intellectuelle et artistique
  • Droit des NTIC
  • Droit international et communautaire